We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best buffet lunch in town”
Review of Lord Jim's

Lord Jim's
Ranked #78 of 12,644 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$89
Cuisines: Sushi, European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Silom
Description: Named after the seafaring hero created by novelist Joseph Conrad, Lord Jim's reputation for magnificent seafood is almost as well known as its namesake. Enjoying an uninterrupted view of the river, Lord Jim's serves one of the most popular buffet lunches in Bangkok with a wide selection of seafood and international dishes on offer. For dinner, diners can choose from an à la carte or set menu. Focusing on the freshest seafood available, Lord Jim's is particularly renowned for its sushi and sashimi dishes. A private dining room can accommodate 16 diners for lunch and 14 guests for dinner.
Reviewed 8 June 2017

I would love you to know that I sincerely appreciated the outstanding service of your staff, high quality of food and nice atmosphere over looking the Chao Phaya River.The manager with short hair was excellent.I definitely recommend Lord Jim's to our friends and family to have an exclusive experience as us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank APanny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear APanny10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I was truly delighted to read your kind words about your recent experience at Lord Jim's. We are constantly striving to deliver the best guest experience on a daily basis and your kind words will be shared with our team. Thank you!

It would be a true pleasure to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok soon again.

Kindest regards,
Benoit Boissarie
Assistant Director Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Came back again after 2 years. Buffet spread is still as great. Love the sashimi corner and the foie gras! Be sure to try the seafood selection, ranging from baby lobster to steam cod fish. Love the beef and lamb slices. Make room for the fried food selection and pasta. Cold cuts and desserts were yummy too. Had to squeeze in the green tea ice cream!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear ABeh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our vast array of dishes during the lunch buffet at Lord Jim's. It was a true pleasure to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok and we are looking forward to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Benoit Boissarie
Assistant Director Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

one of the best weekend buffets on the river, with fresh seafood and lots of local and international dishes to make this one greatest adventures

Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear peter w,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the Lunch buffet at Lord Jim's with our exceptional seafood. We are always striving to deliver the ebst guest experience on a daily basis.

It would be a true pleasure to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok soon again.

Kindest regards,
Benoit Boissarie
Assistant Director Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

for about 100usd per person , lunch was well worth the money. the buffet has everything that a good buffet is supposed to have, the dessert bar is amazing. the seafood was nice quality. i went when there was a celebrity chef visiting, so that's another plus. would visit again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zeezee175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear zeezee175,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

It gave me great pleasure to read that our lunch buffet at Lord Jim's delighted you in every way from service to food. We are striving to deliver the best guest experience on a daily basis and your kind words guarantee that we are succeeding at that.

It would be a true pleasure to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok soon again.

Kindest regards,
Benoit Boissarie
Assistant Director Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Few days ago, we went there for our anniversary dinner, we ordered the Restaurant's dinner set. Most of us chose tuna fish as our main course. Three of eight adults in our party had diarrhea. Our grandchildren were safe, however, as they ordered something else.

Though the symptom of diarrhea was not serious but it was a major disappointment as the food was their recommended dinner set. And this is Mandarin Oriental Hotel where this type of things is not expected.

However, the services there were still as good as we can expect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Athueck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Athueck A

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

First of all, I would like to thank you again for taking the time to share with us the details of your discomfort after your dinner at Lord Jim’s.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this unpleasant experience might have caused you. Rest assured that our Hygiene Manager is completing a thorough investigation on this matter with all relevant persons and departments concerned and conducting relevant tests. Please note that we have strict hygiene practices in place throughout the hotel with regards to food handling, and regular testing and audits by accredited outside companies take place in this respect.

Once again I am truly sorry that this unpleasant experience occurred at all, and that it might have marred your visit. We have contacted you via private message for further details and clarification of this case.

Please do let me know if you have any further questions and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Yours sincerely,
Thomas Kinsperger
Director Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Jim's also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Lord Jim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing