We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$19
View deal
Hotels.comUS$19
TravelocityUS$19
Orbitz.comUS$19
CheapTicketsUS$19
Trip.comUS$19
TripadvisorUS$19
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
32
189
149
47
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
189
149
47
43
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was my third visit to Bangkok & we decided that come what may we would stay in Pratunam - on a budget & hence started our self infliction of the pain that came to be know as the White Palace.

I wouldn't want to ramble on about how bad my experience was - Instead I'll conform & list it down as one pro & oh so many cons:

Pro:
- Great Location: Right bang in the center of the city & in close proximity to shopping centers.
They have an awesome inhouse Massage center where you can get a brilliant foot massage, however not listing this as a pro, cause there are dime a dozen of these all over the place at lower prices!

Cons:
- Terrible room: The wood/laminate on the furniture was peeling off, airconditioners refused to work most times, bed-bugs (had to change our room 3 times!), the sheets are old & soiled.
- Unprofessional staff: Uncooperative, rude, not helpful and disengaged staff
- Dark, dingy bathrooms
- Start your day off on a bad note with the breakfast being 1/2 served - by 1/2 i mean you only get half the items with empty trays lying all over the place.
- The hotel taxi driver tries his luck in conning you every single day (speaks volumes of the place!)
- The common areas are dirty & dusty & the housekeeping staff look like the Grim reapers.
- The cable TV doesn't work - So you lose your eyesight in the bargain of getting a horrible place to stay at.

My humble request - Don't ruin your stay in Bangkok by trying to save the extra buck & choosing this hell hole.

Room tip: Tips to choose a good room - Look at a few hotels other than White Palace :)
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I know photos don't always encapsulate the reality, especially when it comes to online hotel bookings, but this poor excuse, s*#t hole of a place could not prepare us for what we had just booked and paid for. My partner and I have travelled many parts of the world; with tour groups - we know sub-standard and hostel-style accommodation - but not even we were prepared for this 'hotel'. It was like sleeping in a backpackers, and if I wanted to sleep like an 18 year, I would of booked my accommodation accordingly. Save yourself the time wasted - we left after one night after I woke up attacked so badly by bed bugs, my left eye was swollen shut the entire next day. The one decent reception staff woman I dealt with did actually apologise and offer for me to see a doctor. Without sounding racist, this places' clientele consist mainly of Asain, black and Arabic nationals.
Please spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa29ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived before the check in time and they are good enough to let us check in to non-occupied room. However, the room that i had was old, musty, peeling pain on wood girder, moss all over the balcony. There is no extra latch chain on the door and we girls don't feel comfortable as we are just right next to stairwell. Due to the condition, we planned to request for a change of room. At this moment, there was a cleaner came by and we asked couple of questions. However, she was very rude and kept telling us that this room was fine to stay and it was not necessary to change.

Nevertheless, we called to the front desk and requested for a change. We were told that we need to wait for the guest to check out before we can check in. We were fine with that idea. So, we put our luggage at the concierge and went out to see Bangkok!

Massage is a must thing to do in Bangkok. We were reluctant to use the massage service provided in this hotel due to the service we experienced during the day. However, after walking for the full whole day, we were too tired to walk out and search for any other massage center. And surprisingly, the massage was really good and the price is reasonable!

Here the worst thing it can happen to us! We had an early fly out at 730am. We went to the hotel front desk earlier to book our limousine. Though the operator suggested 5am, we would take a safe count at 4.30am. We were asking for an Toyota Avanza, a bigger limousine for the 3 of us with all the bags after all the shopping done. On that day, we went down to hotel lobby at 4.15am and saw no limo waiting for us. We waited for another 15 minutes and still nothing. We walked to the concierge and checked our booking and apparently, the limo was not booked at all! Instead of getting the problem solved, the concierge personnel was very rude to us and simply ask for a smaller size limo which can't fit the 3 of us. And refuse to return the deposit for us even though we shown the receipt.

Luckily, we were early for all these mess. Else, we will miss the flight because of their carelessness and rudeness!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennycns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This year in July we again selected this hotel based on our last experience. Again got good rates from sawadee.com for one double and a tripple room. Tripple room is basically the same double room but they put an extra bed in it. Location is good for shopping, food, transport availability. Breakfast is good and have enough choice.

Room tip: Try to get room with double bed instead of twin bed.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAZLahore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2012

If you want to kill your holiday pls stay in this hotel .

Bad staff , bad room , no basic Eng. ,

If u can control you self to not kill them ,pls stay

Thanks

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fahad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews