We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,995)
Filter reviews
2,995 results
Traveller rating
897
1,500
438
107
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
1,500
438
107
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river family room swimming pool free shuttle bts station nice pool chao phraya the main road rooms are basic hotel shuttle saphan taksin sathorn pier shuttle service breakfast buffet easy access tuk tuk wat arun
Filter
Updating list...
1,414 - 1,419 of 2,995 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have taken almost a month to reflect after staying 4 nights at the Ibis Riverside. Overall, I think it is a good value hotel for a 2-3 star grade, but...it is far away from "anything."

We stayed there as a family of 4, and with the family room sold out, we took 2 rooms, each with a double bed. We requested for side-by-side and got it. The shower area is small, and it only comes with a single soap/shampoo dispenser. My advice:bring your own.

The hotel is overall very new and shiny. The pool is acceptable, clean and has a great view of the riverside.

The best thing about the hotel was the discounted rooms. We took the 3 for 2 deal, and therefore, it was probably the cheapest International brand hotel in Bangkok that has a pool! Great for kids.

There is a restaurant on-site, which serves buffet breakfast.

For the slightly more adventurous, there are many local eateries just outside the hotel along the main road. Food there is cheap, even by Bangkok standards (lower than the food courts at the downtown shopping malls). There is also a 7-11 in case you need anything anytime.,

The only downside to the hotel is its location. It is about 30mins away from Siam Square, or about 100baht by taxi (in good traffic). It is also not that close to the Skytrain,maybe a 15 min walk. The hotel has a shuttle to the station, but it does not make the trip from the station back to the hotel. We discussed this with the very friendly manager (American guy, I think), and he explained that they were not allowed to stop to wait for passengers, while drop off was ok.

We also figured out a way to take a 10min walk to the Taksin Pier, which was a 3.5 baht transfer to the other bank by ferry, where you can get to some shopping, international restaurants and a skytrain station. That pier is also the best way to get to the grand palace by ferry (15 baht).

The distance from the hotel is also a problem as nearly every taxi driver did not know where it was...so please do ask the reception for the address written in Thai so that you can show the driver.

The last thing I would say about the Ibis is that probably because of its really really cheap room price, expect tour groups. On the 4 nights that we were there, there were busloads of different tour groups that stayed at the hotel. Nothing to do with the hotel, but these tour groups can be very noisy at night.

Overall, the Ibis is good because of its low price, followed by having at least a pool to take a break from hectic Bangkok.

Room tip: Ask for the river view? We also know that the Ibis has inter-connecting rooms, but we didn't use them.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexiusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at ibis Bangkok Riverside!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our new hotel, cleanliness, the great value for money and the scenic view of the Chao Phraya river. At ibis Bangkok Riverside, we aim at providing our guest with great services at best value for money :)
Regarding shuttel service, we would recommend you to contact the front desk for pick up service from the BTS Skytrain - Krung Thonburi station to hotel for your convenience.
We apologise for the inconvenience that might cause and hope that you and your family will visit us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and daughter enjoyed the stay at Ibis Riverside, we thought the play area for kids located near the restaurant was a nice addition.
We stayed for 2 nights in the family room as it was the only room type available, the bunk bed provided was nice and my daughter enjoyed sleeping by her self.
The room has a nice view of the river and overlooked the pool.
Overall I would say that Ibis riverside is a nice relatively cheap place to stay, located near the central pier and 5 minutes away from the sky train - they have a shuttle every 30 minutes.
Dint find the service to have any kind of warmth, every interaction was barley acceptable, I still say it's a good place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipdoesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for choosing ibis Bangkok Riverside for your holiday with your family. We are pleased to know that you and your family liked our family room, great value for money and prime location.
We will forward your compliments to our team for encouragement :)
We apologise for any inconvenience that might cause during your stay with us. We will surely convey your comment to the hotel management for improvement of the service quality.
We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Rooms are good. Bathroom is very small. Overall good value for money.The swimming Pool and the lawn has an excellent view of the riverside.Neat and clean place. Breakfast spread is limited.Since we were in a large group, we could not order room service. Elevators were fast and soundless.All in all a comfortable stay.

Room tip: Rooms facing the river have excellent view of the riverside especially at night.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepak9763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We thank you for your compliments on our hotel and for taking attention on our beautiful location, relaxing atmosphere, comfy stay and the great value for money.
Please note that the size of room is designed to provide the necessary service and facilities to the guests at best value for money.
All ibis hotels aim at providing great services, great location at best value and we hope you would enjoy your trip in Thailand, and will come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Feel nice to stay here, just a problem about no Muslim food available at hotel
Good value for money, and
Everything is nice.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alqas2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your nice feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel in overall as well as the great value for money.
We apologise for any inconvenience that might cause and will discuss with the hotel management to provide the better quality of service to our guest.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

But as almost always in Asia a rock hard bed. To me that is a real problem and I would very much appreciate if i´t could be solved with extra matresstopping, so they do in Chatrium. The rooms are basic but very clean. The staff is very attentive and dispite all who complain about the food in the restaurant I will say it´s really good. The Ceasardressing is one of the best ever eaten. I´ve stayed in all the top hotels in Bangkok many times so I dare to say that with a softer bed this would be the best deal avaliable in Bangkok. I have now extended my three night stay to twelve.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kastrullhaxan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your review on our TripAdvisor profile! We are glad that you liked our room, food and staff :) At ibis Bangkok Riverside, we aim at providing our guest with great services at best value for money.
We apologise for any inconvenience that might cause and will take this into discussion with the hotel management for the better quality of service.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews