We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had 2 stays in here on an Asia tour”
Review of Skyy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Skyy Hotel
Ranked #618 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I was meeting some friends here but arrived 2 nights prior to our booking and they only had a higher class of room available. They were kind enough to upgrade me to stay in that same room on both legs.

Modern clean bedrooms excellent AC, comfy beds and black out curtains with a very high level of service. Excellent hotel all round.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank kernowdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016

OK value for money. No hot water in the shower and the room didn't smell to great. Staff were not particularly helpful. Wifi wouldn't connect.
Good points was that it was close to hospital and sky train

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bxcwxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We put in our reservation to check in early as we had travelled on overnight sleeper from Koh Phangan and would be arriving at hotel much earlier than normal check in time. When we got there the reception team could not be MORE unhelpful. Said our room WAS ready but we weren't allowed it unless we paid 600 THB. We were not paying more than we have done when it has been totally fine in other hotels. When we asked for a manager we were told they aren't in. Then we were told to wait till the afternoon to speak to manager. This is totally unacceptable that we have already paid, been told our room was ready but not allowed it. After 13 hour journey having the reception team laughing and speaking in Thai being unhelpful is such poor service from a 4* hotel.
Cancelled our reservation after this shocking service.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Karis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Like the person from the previous review, I booked for an executive room and was given a tiny room that did not match the photos on the site. It was also infested with flies.

I complained to the staff - who kept trying to tell me that I was in the right room and kept telling me that both myself and the website were wrong.

Eventually, after maybe two hours of arguing (the reception were also simultaneously dealing with a similar complaint from an Arab lady) they eventually moved me to the executive room - a badly decorated windowless room in a separate building about 50 metres away.

Apart from the broken air conditioning unit which sounded like a motorbike, yet provided very little in the way of actual air conditioning, the bathroom had no toilet paper and after a call to reception in the other building, I was told that I would have to come and collect it myself.

Like the previous reviewer, the shower was not only cold, but was placed at shoulder height, meaning that I had to stoop to get clean.

Due to the noisy air conditioning, I eventually managed to drift off to sleep at around 5am - about five hours after getting into bed. At 8:30am I was awoken by a knock on the door, followed by the male house keepers brazenly walking in and telling me that he needed to clean the room. After telling him that I was sleeping, he left, but proceeded to knock on my door every 30 minutes or so to ask when he could clean. Apparently I was disrupting his schedule.

I had originally been told that I could check out at 2pm - which I did, only to be kept waiting for nearly an hour whilst the staff dealt with other people who had arrived after me. I was then duly informed that I would have to pay a 1450 baht late check-out penalty as it was now nearly 3pm.

When I queried this, and mentioned my other issues, the manager told me that I had no right to complain as they had already upgraded me to an executive room (ie, the room that I had actually paid for in the first place). After I noticed that I was surrounded by three of his lackeys, the swearing manager then threatened me and I was forced to pay the late checkout fee before they let me leave.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! There are many others on the same road, and all the ones I've stayed in offer excellent service and friendly staff. YOU HAVE ALL BEEN WARNED!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We selected Skyy because I had a appointmtent at Bumrungrad hospital. We booked and paid for a Executive room. The night reception put us in a Deluxe room, which was smaller. I showed I paid for the larger room. The receptionist then acted as if she forgot how to speak English and started speaking Thai. When she realize my Chinese looking wife was actually Thai, her English remarkably came back, only to tell us to wait for the manager in the morning. We talked to the manager who said we were already in the right room. I explain it was not and she asked "How do you know the different between a Executive and Deluxe room?" So I showed her on the hotel own web site. Once it was clear we were not given the room we paid for she still would not move us. She said the room we were in is NOW a Executive because of the view and balcony. This was the first time in over a 100 visits to Thailand I felt a hotel ran a scam on me. And had the most unfriendly reception staff.
The DELUXE room it self was worn but look the same as on the hotel web page. But the water in the shower was cold all 3 days of our stay and the TV signal went out every 10 minutes.
The next time I have a hospital appointment we will be staying at one of the other 30 hotels with in walking distance to the hospital.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WR787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
#301 of 887 in Bangkok
435 reviews
Sukhumvit
Best Western Premier Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Zenith Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
The Fusion Suites Bangkok
The Fusion Suites Bangkok
#412 of 887 in Bangkok
367 reviews
Sukhumvit
Boss Suites
Boss Suites
#738 of 887 in Bangkok
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyy Hotel

Address: 88/8 Sukhumvit Soi 1,Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey-Nua,Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $61 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYY HOTEL is a City Boutique Art hotel. The Interior follows the feel of the sky through the day. Rooms on each floor features a different theme, which is accented in the hand painted headboard and art piece, flooring and bathroom mosaic. All rooms and public are handicapped accessible. As a city hotel, SKYY is designed to be environmentally friendly in all its systems, electrical, air-conditioning, lifts, water and plumbing. We are IT friendly and offer, ADSL, free wi-fi, Blu Ray DVD player, IPOD/IPAD/IPHONE docks and Business Center. Additionally, for all our guest from different parts of the world, we have 40 channel satellite TV, offering entertainment in many foreign languages. Services available on site are Beauty salon, Foot and Body Spa (opening June, 2012), 7/11 convenience store (opening Sept. 2012), GSBank Xpress Money transfer & exchange, and a Tour and Limousine Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skyy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing