We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,309)
Filter reviews
5,309 results
Traveller rating
2,967
1,777
407
101
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,967
1,777
407
101
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river garden pool towers lounge shuttle boat thai restaurant swim up bar the club lounge hotel boat river view room chao phraya free boat our honeymoon skytrain station breakfast buffet high floor easy access wat arun
Filter
Updating list...
2,811 - 2,816 of 5,309 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I love the location of this Sheraton: watching the river traffic from your room, or taking a river taxi from the pier alongside the hotel, are quintessential Bangkok experiences for me. It looks just a bit dated, and there are more luxe choices, but again: location location location. Why stay on crowded Sukhomvit when you can be riverside?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaFanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram_Mujumdar, Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear ChinaFanNYC,

Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the river for the 6th time very soon!
Regards,
Vikram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A lovely hotel in a very good location. A great bar with a great view on the ground floor. A gorgeous breakfast with an endless choice of food suitable for all. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Food is served all day. It is easy walking distance to streets where there are lovely foot massages on offer till late, so after shopping it great to rest the tired feet. Next to the hotel there are lots of little bars which serve food and drinks, better priced than the hotel and more lively. Would stay at this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river offer a nice view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kulvir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The location was fabulous and we had a great view of the river from our room. The facilities were all very good and the bar on the river made interesting watching with so much activity - busy, busy river! Breakfast was very good. Bar snacks very tasty. The travel agent in the hotel was very helpful with planning sight seeing trips. All the staff were very professional and helpful. An excellent experience.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can for the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel on my own. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite that had large floor to ceiling windows in both the lounge and the bedroom. The bedding was heavenly and being able to watch the river traffic going by I never felt lonely. The breakfasts were excellent and you were spoiled for choice. I spent a leisurely hour reading and eating. It is a very spacious hotel that connects to a small shopping centre. The pool had a view over the river and the service was very good.I ate at the Thai restaurant in the hotel. The food was so good that I ate there 2 nights in a row. If in Bangkok again I would stay at this hotel again. Thanks to the staff and the quality of the hotel I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade it was worth it as the rooms were corner ones with excellent views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pukek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The main selling point of the Orchid is the riverside location. Chilling out in one of the outside lounges at the hotel watching the river traffic go by is really relaxing. True, there is pollution in the water, diesel fumes from passing boats, but this is Bangkok after all. The service at the hotel is mostly good, everyone tries to be helpful. Just remember, this is a large tourist/convention hotel, so the service isn't as personal as other true 5-stars. This hotel is more a firm 4-star. The various bars and restaurants are all pretty good. Room service was prompt. The free ferry service to the metro line was a great perk. The Sheraton boat is larger than others and it's a relaxing ride, complete with cold water and chilled towel.

We were on an SPG floor in a renovated room. It had a fantastic view and very comfortable beds. Definitely get a discounted rate, as there are many available at the moment in Bangkok. Never tried the vast breakfast buffet, but found a cheap french cafe around the corner that made a nice croissant and coffee. The pool areas did get crowded at times, but we didn't come to Bangkok to lazy the day away at the pool. The Anantara Spa in the hotel was excellent...though pricey. The Thai restaurant in the hotel had some of the best thai food we tasted during our entire trip, and the accompanying Thai dancers were excellent - not to be missed.

I'd agree that the taxi drivers who congregate around the hotel are mostly bad and out to scam. The tuck tuck drivers are the worst. Luckily we received a great discount on the hotel private car for transport to/from the airport (in brand new BMW) so that was swell. Otherwise we relied on the Skytrain which was faultless and heavily air conditioned. If using a taxi just be sure they have their meter turned ON and running properly. Another note, avoid the large night time dinner buffet river cruise unless you are into bad karaoke and wish to blow out your eardrums. Apparently the set-menu river cruise on the smaller, traditional boat is better, but didn't get to try that out.

All things considered I'd stay at this hotel again, the river views never get old.

Room Tip: Get an SPG room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews