We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$104
Booking.comUS$104
PricelineUS$104
Hotels.comUS$104
eDreamsUS$104
TravelocityUS$104
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,991)
Filter reviews
5,991 results
Traveller rating
5,001
702
189
45
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,001
702
189
45
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain tree silk road smooth curry the royal club lounge raintree cafe housekeeping team wireless road central embassy dim sum breakfast buffet business trip house keeping thai restaurant bts station marisa khun concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,260 - 4,265 of 5,991 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for three days, the hotel is nice. Rooms were ok size. Breakfast is ok types, dinner was also average. the swimming pool is on the fourth floor. the rooms are very clean. it has smoking and non-smoking floors which is quite good. over-all nice hotel to stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArpitU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is located on embassy-road. US embassy & it's ambassador's residence is just down the road. So this is a slightly upmarket property considering the surroundings. Witnessed a minor protest at the US embassy during our stay but it was small scaled with not much traffic disruption.

The hotel has a grand entrance and it seemed like they are always hosting some high society event at their premises. For a start, cleanliness was very good and you get the feeling of a 5 star hotel upon stepping in. Unfortunately, the 5-star is just a feeling, once you take into account the service quality you'd get disappointed.

We requested for a twin bedded room at check-in and was told it would be ready when the other guests had checked out & the room cleaned. We were fine with that since we were heading out for some shopping anyway. That was at about 11am. By the time we return from our shopping at about 5-6 pm, the room was still not ready and was told that it'll take another 15 minutes. So we waited & waited & waited, after more than an hour and 4 telephone calls, the room was finally available. And we had to personally head down to the reception to get the key. Impression on our first day was dashed. On the second day, the in-room safe was not functioning. Anticipating their slow response, we decided to ask for help to fix it at the front desk as we went for the buffet breakfast at 8am. Told them they could go ahead & come into our room to carry out the repair while we're having breakfast and we'll be out for the rest of the day too. Upon our return in the evening at about 9-10pm, the safe was not fixed. We gave up on asking the hotel to follow-up on the matter. Eventually, it was fixed because we had asked for a DVD player (which came within 15 min, surprisingly!) and concurrently asked if the service staff could also looked into the safe problem.
For the remaing days of our stay there, the passenger lift seems to have broken down with half of them working. Swimming pool on the 4th floor was fine, nothing fantastic since this is a city hotel. The most odd experience I've ever had ordering beer from the poolside was that the beer came 2/3 full! It sure looked like someone had drunk some of it before being served. It's puzzling as to why couldn't they find a correct size beer mug or just fill it up if they're going to use the slightly larger glass.
Anyway, we wouldn't be considering coming back to this hotel the next time because there's plenty of better quality hotels in Bangkok for about the same price. By the way, getting to other parts of Sukhumvit road from this hotel would entail higher taxi charges because of the way the roads are designed, the cab would have to take a longer route as compared to when getting back to the hotel.
One more issue, that's not related to the hotel. Be very careful with the taxi drivers in Bangkok, especially those who offer fake watches & jewellery. These are potential conmen. We made a mistake of not ensuring the taxi went by meter, assuming the hotel concierge had told the driver to go by metered fare. So we were asked to pay much more than necessary & to top it off, the driver did a switch of money on us claiming that we gave him only Bht60 when we actually gave him Bht 300. Preyed on our unfamiliarity with the look of their currency.
Bangkok is great for food & value shopping but be careful of unsavory characters who will strike when you're temporary off-guard.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_01846, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Jayewp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien and taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely sorry for the unfortunate experience that you encountered in various areas during your stay with us. Your comment about service attention or the beer glass is certainly an unacceptable standard.

This is absolutely not the experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry that this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with an attentive + personalised service and I regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience caused. I hope that the experience will not deter you from choosing Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for your next visit in Bangkok. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I may assure you of my personal attention.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have stayed here already a couple of time this year and I'm always happy to be back. The staff is friendly, food is good and the pool area nicely decorated so that it makea you to forget that the location is in the middle of city.

I find the rooms comfortable for longer stays as well. For business traveller's point of view I've been very happy with well fuctioning internet connection and the possibility to print some papers without a fee. You don't even need to visit the business center but the printing can be done from the room and they will deliver the papers to your room.

The breakfast has group of items which change every second morning offering some variety for longer stays.

The location of the hotel is little bit off from restaurants, shops etc but walk to the nearest sky train stop is about 10min. And it's only a couple of stops from Seam square.

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouname
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed here on two occasions for business trips to Bangkok in May and both times I was completely underwhelmed by the service at the Plaza Athenee.

Check-in was way too slow and the staff were not very helpful. They also managed to mess up my SPG account before I’d even reached my room!

The room on both stays was a good size but dated and a bit worn out, bland décor and with noisy dusty aircon. Other than that it had everything else I’d expect of this standard of hotel. The safe was a good size. The internet connection was OK but dropped out at times. The safe deposit box was too small for my laptop.

I have a choice of hotels near my office in Bangkok and I doubt I’d choose to stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room tip: Away from the lifts/elevators as they are noisy
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_01846, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear talltaff,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the service that you experienced. This is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with an attentive + personalized service and I regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comment with team to prevent the incident from happening again in the future.

With regards to the room condition, please allow me to inform you that the hotel is planning a soft refurbishment of the guest rooms in the near future in order to provide our guests with the best experience during the stay.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. It is through guest feedback such as yours that we can continue to enhance and improve upon our service for all of our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future. Should there be any further feedback please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

An ideal central location of seeing and experiencing everything Bangkok has to offer. It is an ideal base for adults to relax, indulge and enjoy life as well as a place to do business and hold events for both business and pleasure.

The staff are excellent, the rooms are nice and the public areas are superb. Lovely food and restaurant areas as well as a magnificent outdoor pool. It is an oasis of calm above a sensory explosion in the city.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_01846, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear tourist77,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel

I am very pleased to read that you appreciated our services and that the location of the hotel within the city center gave you an opportunity to experience everything Bangkok has to offer. I am also glad to learn that you have enjoyed dining at our restaurants, the magnificent outdoor pool and consider us fit for both business and pleasure.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to be of your service at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel once again.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews