We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The main positive of this hotel is that it is low-rise and set back from busy Sathorn Road. The hotel therefore avoids the usual noise and bustle of major hotels located on busy streets. The grounds are gorgeous and beautifully maintained. The pool is probably the best of all of the five star hotels in Bangkok - large, plenty of deck chairs and sun: many of the other hotel pools in this city seem to be shaded by high rise for at least half of the day.

Because of the low rise nature of the hotel, rooms can be a long way from the lobby (ours seemed like a 10 minute walk). Also, some of the rooms are getting towards needing an upgrade. Not bad, but heading towards the tired end of their lives.

Our room also had free wifi (can't all hotels do this?) and complimentary soft drinks from the mini bar. This was a nice touch, it costs the hotel very little and guests appreciate it (particularly my cheapskate Singaporean colleagues!).

Overall, one of the better five star hotels in Bangkok. If you want a little bit of serenity in an otherwise very hectic city, The Sukhothai is a good bet. Be prepared to do a bit of walking between the lift and your room, though!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,575 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

Lovely, quiet hotel like a Buddhists' Retreat. Warm, charming and efficient staff.
Our room (facing a pretty water garden) was small and quite dark. It was high tech but the lights switches were too complicated.
We loved the Thai Restaurant but found the Italian one very expensive.
The location is central but the traffic is woeful, so we would use an hotel with river transport in future.
Thanks to all the brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Sukhothai is the type of hotel you always dream of.
Attentive staff, amazing food, comfy beds & so very welcoming to families.
I am very fussy & have a great attention to detail (something which drives my husband crazy at times....) and cannot fault this property.
Each time we have been in Bangkok, we try a new property, hoping to the "the one we shall return to". We have now found it.
Thank you to the Sukhothai for making our stopover a happy & relaxing one.

Room Tip: Book through the hotels booking service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgieC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

my wife and I came here for the first leg of our honeymoon... We were treated like royality and loved every minute of staying here. the staff couldnt be any more helpful in every way! strongly reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants to pay for bangkoks finest luxury. fantastic pool!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robostler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I've been to the Burj Al Aran in Dubai
If you want something as discrete and comparable level of service stay here
You will not have the view or the gold plated lifts, you will not have the 3 floor aquariums
but you will have comparable service, and you will have better food - Al Arab boasts check-in on each floor - this place opens the car door for you and whisks you individually to your room where they check you in privately. It takes a lot in a hotel to impress me and this place did
The pool is great - a private sanctuary in the middle of Bangkok - I cannot comment on the location as we never left the hotel, why would we? Just a 4 day stop-over on the way to Phuket's Banyan tree hotel ...

Room Tip: Just pay for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert_In_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 889 in Bangkok
6,646 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 889 in Bangkok
4,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 889 in Bangkok
4,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $271 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing