We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel in Bangkok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

still love this hotel, best beds, deluxe rooms need updating a little at some point but service is fabulous and do not think any hotel can beat it in Bangkok for style. Free Wifi. La Scala restaurant still superb. I stay whenever in Thsiland as do numerous friends and it's like home. My only negative was an art exhibition which was not up to the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you on behalf of The Sukhothai team for this review. Your comments regarding our accommodation, amenities and restaurants is a pleasure to hear. Delighted that you felt at home with us, however in regards to the art exhibition management will definitely take this into consideration in the future, as part of our decision before exhibiting art pieces. Thank you once again for your time, we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,386 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Sukothai for 2 nights at the start to our honeymoon. Despite being a business hotel, it is actually very romantic; beautiful grounds, cosy rooms, amazing service. We were treated to a bottle of prosecco, which was on ice and waiting for us as we arrived! The staff were all amazing. The breakfast buffet was the best we've ever had -- pretty much anything you might desire, cooked perfectly (Best. Waffle. Ever).

I would recommend taking the limo service to/from the airport. Despite being pricey (2800-ish bhat), it is worth every cent. After spending nearly two hours in the immigration line at BKK, to be greeted and ushered into a beautiful car with cold towels and a seamless transfer to the hotel was *so* appreciated.

The only odd experience we had was one night when we asked the concierge where we might be able to walk around. Admittedly, it was late (9:30pm-ish), but we were jet lagged. Really, we just thought we'd like to see a little of Bangkok. Unfortunately, she sent us to Patpong, which was revolting. We left right away. We were very surprised that such a sophisticated hotel would recommend it... but perhaps other guests like it more than we did (?!) Very odd.

At any rate, we loved the Sukothai and returned for the last night of our vacation instead of staying near the river, which had been our original plan. The initial room we had overlooked the pool, the second overlooked the courtyard -- both beautiful views, clean, amazingly comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

As a well travelled guest, your feedback is very useful and important as we carefully analyze all guest comments, to ensure overall guest experience. We regret to learn that you found the shortfall in the recommendation service from our Concierge Team member. The concerned team member has been trained to acquire more information on the needs and preferred lifestyle before putting any future recommendations.

We would like to assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and brought to the attention of the Chief Concierge and Front Office Manager to continuously improve our level of services and attentiveness, your detailed comments are greatly appreciated.

At The Sukhothai Bangkok, we pride of ourselves to cater to both leisure and business guests for the past 20 years both in terms of services and facilities. We will certainly look into improving towards personalizing guest's individual needs.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

as most of the Thai hotels ; welcoming and very customer oriented ; i spent 3 nights for business reasons ; rooms are very nice and comfortable ; food is great and many options , great Spa , free WiFi everywhere you go inside the hotel ; nice clean gym and swimming pool , also near some of the attractions for swift shopping . one of the best in Bangkok .

Room Tip: Chose a room near the lefts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you are pleased with our facilities as well as amenities. It’s a pleasure that you consider us one of the best hotels in Bangkok, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great Hotel in Bangkok, we visited all the good hotel and The Sukhothai is the best
Impecable service, a beautiful suite, very nice pool area
Great breakfast and a fun "Chocolate" tea by the lobby every afternoon

Room Tip: Rooms in the big garden area I think are the best, the suites on the ground floor are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. Delighted that you enjoyed staying in our suites and a pleasure to hear that you liked our breakfast along with our facilities. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

From the moment of our arrival, we were on honeymoon, to our departure three days later the hotel treated us royally. The check in procedure in our room, beautiful roses on the table, the in room service were excellent, breakfast a delight. The swimming pool is a magnet and the pool side service attentive and subtle.
And that is the point of this hotel, whilst it is elegant, charming and the fabric of the building beautiful it is the staff that bring this hotel into to the really superb category.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on value as this trip was a gift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you on behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok for this review and for choosing to spend your special occasion with us. Delighted you found your experience here as a gift along with our service, breakfast and facilities including our pool. We really appreciate your kind comments, we hope to see you both here again!

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#31 of 885 in Bangkok
6,503 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#20 of 885 in Bangkok
4,289 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 885 in Bangkok
8,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $191 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing