We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$155
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$142
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$198
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$518
US$327
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,794)
Filter reviews
2,795 results
Traveller rating
2,103
483
116
58
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,103
483
116
58
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate buffetthai restaurantzuk barbeautiful hotelsathorn roaddeluxe suitehealth clubbusy citycoffee machinethe banyan treebusiness districtconcierge deskpool sidef bluxury hotelceladoncolonnade
Filter
Updating list...
1,493 - 1,498 of 2,795 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I loved absolutely everything about this hotel. The rooms, the grounds, the restaurants, the service. This hotel hits every standard for me.

The staff is incredible. We were there at Christmas and I loved that it felt like Christmas - but it also felt like we were in Bangkok - it kept its Thai authenticity (which I cant say for a lot of the riverfront Bangkok hotels).

The Celadon has to be one of the best high-end Thai restaurants in Bangkok. The food was simply amazing; and because I loved it so much, they let me order it poolside during the day... (that is service!)

The grounds are a true oasis; yet if you leave the hotel you're still in walking distance to parks and wet markets. The concierge will arrange anything for you.

One of my favorite city hotels in the world. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiek61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, thank you for your review. It’s pleasing to hear we met your satisfaction and that you had a wonderful stay. Delighted that you enjoyed the food at Celadon and that our Concierge was able to provide the convenience you required. We hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I really like the Sukothai. I could sleep with a window open and not be worried by noise, but I was in the middle of BKK. In fact some in my party found the zen like ambience and reflecting ponds a little too peaceful for their liking, but not me. The low rise hotel comprises a number of pavilions set in park like gardens and surrounded by ponds.
The rooms had a sophisticated Asian feel with lots of timber, and none of the glitz. Excellent rain showers and a classy Bouse sound system to connect to your iPod. Trouble free wi fi throughout (which was free, although may have been part of our conference package). Breakfast was a usual buffet for a classy BKK joint. The pool was excellent, and my regular followers no how important this is to me. Also check my other personal issues with an excellent bed and good pillows, although I did order in from the pillow menu!
Staff were very helpful and always smiling.

Room Tip: If it is peace and quiet you are after request the rear building, but you will have too walk a little further to get there
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Delighted you found your experience with us to be a pleasant one and also satisfied with our overall facilities.
We hope in the near future we would have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and WOW was it fantastic. Having stayed at at other 5 star hotels in Bangkok including The Peninsula this wins hands down. A much more intimate and friendly place to stay. A real oasis in a "chaotic city!" very calm and serene. Our check in was excellent and we found ourselves upgraded to an Executive suite which was out of this world, one of the best we have stayed in. Huge entrance hall, two toilets an exceptionally large bathroom with so many mirrors! We had a lovely sitting area with a swivel flat screen tv so it could be watched in bed or while sitting. Another nice touch was the iPod docking system and Bose surround sound. We had fresh fruit every day and many different and unusual varieties. It was quite away from he main reception area but so worth it and also very peaceful. We also had complimentary chocolate buffet and afternoon tea. Unfortunately we only had the afternoon tea which was wonderful but way too much for two people. We were offered to take some back to our room but it was the day before we flew home and we knew it wouldn't have been eaten. The chocolate buffet looked stunning but we were otherwise engaged on the weekend we were there but we took a peek!!! I have never seen so many different forms of chocolate in my life, if you are a chocoholic this was the buffet for you.
Staff were exceptional and courteous and spoke to you using your name which was was very nice.
Breakfast buffet was excellent and catered for everyone.
We loved the pool area so nice to chill out after a busy day in the heat of the city.
We loved the Sukhothai and would recommend it highly. We have wanted to stay here for many years and so glad that we did. We will definitely return it would be my number 1 choice!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, thank you for taking your time to write us a lovely review. It’s pleasing to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our Executive Suite. Your kind compliments in regards to our service is appreciated, we hope on your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok, you would have the chance to try our Chocolate Buffet.

Best regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I travelled to Bangkok a lot of times and I stayed in so many 5 star hotels but The Sukhothai is the hotel its memory always remains with me as followings:

1- The facilities: it is almost made by stone and wood in high quality and luxury.
2- It seems that a resort in the central city with pond, garden, grass...all things located in a big area.
3- The service is so good, staff very friendly and they are quite willing to help you.
4- One of the best things I like that is the big bathroom, everything is perfect with rain shower head (much better than Shangri La Bkk)
5- The interior of the room is made by wood and very clean, bright (better than Peninsula Bkk)...by the way, providing chocolate, fruit very high quality in room everyday.
6- The breakfast is so high quality in the luxury restaurant with pool view. One of the best breakfast I have ever had (it is better than Lebua's breakfast by quality & taste)

SOMETHING NOT PERFECT: The hotel located in the Sathorn Road that get caught in the rush hour traffic, should not take taxi to the hotel in that time. The room is hot a bit, maybe the A/C get some problem. The Superior room is far from the Lobby. BUT IT IS NOT A BIG DEAL

Room Tip: All rooms are good and in the rush hour you should come to the hotel by MRT / Lumphuni station (takes 10 minutes, go straight until you reach near the Bayan Tree hotel and you will see The Sukhothai on the left side as well)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhamHCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. It’s pleasing to hear that you were impressed with our interior along with the bathrooms within our accommodation. Delighted you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and felt satisfied with our service. We hope in the near future we would see you here again soon.

Best regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was our first trip to Bangkok and we lucked out by choosing the Sukhothai. We traveled with an old friend who had been in and out of Bangkok dozens of times over the last thirty years. He had never stayed here before, but was raving about it as his best stay.
The rooms were good sized and comfortable. The service was outstanding. The pool is quite nice and poolside service is excellent. The gym was well equipped and the staff there was attentive. The concierge sent us to some outstanding places that we never would have heard of as they did not show up in the books we had. The hotel restaurant, Celadon, is just excellent. Also worth noting is that the hotel is on a big lot and the rooms are well removed from the main road and quite peaceful.
There are certainly plenty of places to choose from for travel in Bangkok. We had reservations at a different hotel that we wanted to try for our second swing through Bangkok, but switched it to the Sukhothai. After our first unbeatable experience, we didn't want to bother trying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, thank you for taking your time to write us a review. Delighted you had a comfortable stay within our accommodation and that you enjoyed our gym and pool facilities. Your kind compliments in regards to our restaurant Celadon and service is highly appreciated. It’s also pleasing to learn that our Concierge was able to direct you to some outstanding places within the city. We hope in the near future we would have the chance to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews