We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Landmark is a SCAM” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landmark Bangkok
Ranked #60 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Landmark is a SCAM”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

This hotel uses excessive conversion rates (39.5 baht to the dollar!) to drive their prices up. Although I was quoted a price of $115 ($135 including taxes) both on booking and at check-in, after they applied their extremely high conversion rate, it drove the price per night up to nearly $160, an overcharge of nearly $25 per night. I will never stay here again. It was just an OK hotel, and for that kind of money I expect more. I also expect them to be up-front about their prices. I recommend taking your business elsewhere, to a more honest establishment.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rrr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msayer, Hotel Manager at Landmark Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 November 2007
Dear Sir,

I am writing on behalf of The Landmark Hotel, Bangkok with regards to the recent comments on trip advisor concerning our exchange rate policy.

Over the last 12 months, the Thai Baht has fluctuated quite considerably against the US$ therefore, the hotel has used the rate of Thai Baht 39.50 to US$. This exchange rate is clearly shown on our website, confirmation replies and confirmed at check in. For guests not wishing to use Thai Baht, all room accounts can be settled in US$.

Please be assured it is not our intention to overcharge customers and we sincerely apologize for this misunderstanding.

As all guest comments are considered seriously, we would like to advise our customers that we will no longer use the above exchange rate and with immediate effect we will convert to the US$ rate according to that issued by the Bank of Thailand.

In the meantime, if I can answer any questions or be of further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With warmest regards,

Marc Sayer
Hotel Manager
The Landmark Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    589
    154
    53
    29
See reviews for
175
642
277
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

General warning to all people planning on booking at the Landmark hotel.

Please be advised that the Landmark Hotel are currently scamming anyone who books directly online around 10% extra on the bill total, this is in excess of a 10% service charge that they already add on.

What happens is that when you book online you are quoted and advised of charges in USD.

When you check out they charge in you in Thai Baht. The currently exchange rate is 34.75 THB to the USD, however the hotel decides to convert the amount back to THB at 38.5 THB to the USB.

This means that the hotel is overcharging every person who books online an extra 10%. Effectively they are stealing $1000's of dollars a day.

The hotel already adds a 10% service charge to the total bill of which you then add on another 7% tax.

The hotel area is a good for a business person, but not for families very much in a red light type area.

The front desk also tried to either overcharge or charge for services that were included in our package or that we had already paid for.

Except to pay around $25USD to watch a regular inhouse movie.

Be very careful when checking out or you may end up paying for a great deal more.

A good hotel spoilt by front desk trying to rort the system.

Also watch the guy at the taxi rank trying to overcharge for transport to the river and a boat ride. Using the classic things are not open in the morning you should go here etc, i will organise for you.

Despite being told that we can contact manager Frank at anytime, he wasnt available and staff made no attempt to try and contact him for me. Frank I am still waiting for you to contact me.

I am a regular traveller world traveller 50+ international hotel nights a year for the past 5 years, and this was the worst scam and front desk experience that I have ever had.

Being warned is being aware. Hope this stops others being stung.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ozdunkeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msayer, Hotel Manager at Landmark Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 November 2007
Dear Sir,

I am writing on behalf of The Landmark Hotel, Bangkok with regards to the recent comments on trip advisor concerning our exchange rate policy.

Over the last 12 months, the Thai Baht has fluctuated quite considerably against the US$ therefore, the hotel has used the rate of Thai Baht 39.50 to US$. This exchange rate is clearly shown on our website, confirmation replies and confirmed at check in. For guests not wishing to use Thai Baht, all room accounts can be settled in US$.

Please be assured it is not our intention to overcharge customers and we sincerely apologize for this misunderstanding.

As all guest comments are considered seriously, we would like to advise our customers that we will no longer use the above exchange rate and with immediate effect we will convert to the US$ rate according to that issued by the Bank of Thailand.

In the meantime, if I can answer any questions or be of further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With warmest regards,

Marc Sayer
Hotel Manager
The Landmark Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

The Landmark was very good for the 2 nights we stayed in Bangkok. We stayed on the 14th floor and were bumped up once they heard we were a honeymoon couple. Fine big room and bathroom, very clean. Staff were very friendly. I would recommend the Landmark to anyone staying for a few days in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ronancamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Fantastic hotel - have stayed here 2 years running 05 and 06. We ahd never stayed in 5 star accomadation before and this place blew us away. The staff are great, the rooms are lovely and if your lucky, like we were on our first stay here, you can get a room that over looks the whole city - i loved waking up to this each morning. I felt likeroyalty when i stayed here. Its in a great location close tothe skytrain (which takes you 2 mins up the road to the shopping malls) and all the restaurants and bars and there is a street market at night which has an amazing atmosphere. This hotel is brilliant (check out the huntsman pub downstairs in the basement which has great thai and western food if you fancy it) would definately stay here next time we are in Bangkok.

  • Liked — 5 star luxery
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redbulllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

Upon arriving at the hotel we were taken directly to one of the bar areas where we served coffee - no checking in. They were expecting us and knew who we were without asking. Then taken to our lovely room overlooking the pool area.

The staff at the hotel are excellent, courteous, polite and honest.

We were in a bit of a hurry to go out one day and accidently left our safe open with practically everything in - passports, cash and credit cards. The cleaner notified reception who then came and closed the safe and left message on our room telephone.

How honest can somone be especially in such a poor country. Needless to say I left them a huge tip - probably something like their weeks wages.

The hotel is excellent - I really cant fault it in any way.

The cocktails are to die for, especially the White Russians.

Iv never seen such a wide choice for breakfast.

Pool area - fantastic. Huge, lovely fluffy towels

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Rootsneeddoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#59 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Grande Centre Point Terminal 21
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Bangkok

Property: Landmark Bangkok
Address: 138 Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#56 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $139 - $266
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landmark Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Bangkok is an all-round impressive hotel offering 31 storeys of elegant and spacious accommodation comprising 399 rooms, including suites. Our accommodation and in-house restaurants are of the highest international standards, while the service is sublimely Thai. The hotel facilities include business center with private meeting rooms, 25 recently upgraded meeting rooms with capacities for 10 -1000 delegates, along with Fitness First Platinum Landmark, Landmark Spa, outdoor swimming pool, and WiFi. A wide range of gourmet dining possibilities are available in a choice of 7 outstanding restaurants. Guests have a choice of 6 room types, including the Premium, Premium Club, Premium Corner and Premium Club Corner rooms, the Deluxe Suite and the Executive Suite. These range in size from 26 sqm. to 78 sqm. All rooms feature state of the art design, along with deluxe in-room amenities, superb services and facilities such as complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, convenient Media Hub for multi-media connectivity and a 40-inch High Definition television set. With major renovations now completed, The Landmark has reaffirmed its position as one of Bangkok's most enduringly popular hotels. Part of that success is due to its convenient location on lower Sukhumvit Road in central Bangkok, close to Nana station on Bangkok's Skytrain system, and easy access to all the important expressways. The hotel is also within easy distance of the main business, shopping and entertainment areas as well as the Bangkok International Trade Exhibition Center (BITEC), Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre, and IMPACT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Landmark Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing