We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Tony Chi-designed Rooms at Grand Hyatt Erawan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Ranked #35 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The Grand Hyatt Erawan is my hotel of choice whenever I visit Bangkok, and I’ve previously noted that despite the spaciousness, the decor of the rooms is looking rather dated.

I was hence excited to be upgraded to a newly renovated guestroom by celebrated designer Tony Chi during my recent stay in October. Having stayed there for a weekend, my verdict is that the refresh is incremental rather than quantum.

The layout is essentially the same as the old rooms–entrance foyer with bathroom to the side, bed, and finally study–expect that the furnishings are updated with designs that emphasize clean-lines, non-intrusiveness, and functionality.

So while the net effect is not jaw-dropping, perhaps the brief was for Tony Chi–whose projects include the Andaz 5th Avenue, Mandarin Oriental Guangzhou, and Grand Hyatt Chengdu–was to design a theme that is contemporary without being avant garde, comfortable without being boring, and modern without loosing the distinct Thai identity. These, especially the surfeit of the in-room amenities such as fine teabags with an Asian-accented tea set, fruit basket that was replenished daily, June Jacobs toiletries, as well as various objet d’art exuded a plush yet residential vibe.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the Tony Chi-designed guestrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,894 - 2,898 of 3,710 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Totally refurbished rooms! Room: new furniture (large octagonal glass table- plenty of work area), new layout, new toiletries, both LAN and wireless Internet access... Automatic room lights, the usual choice of pillow... additional electrical points are fixed in various convenient locations in room... Overall, a brand new feel and experience. Impeccable service, as usual.

The spa facilities were a bit run down compared to when i was there a year ago. The shower i was in had both shower hangers broken in the shower cubicle (I had no where to hang my towel!). The gym seems a little overcrowded as the gym is a public gym- at the current moment, all Thai American Express platinum card members get to use the gym for free by flashing their cards; the feel of exclusivity of gym and spa is thus non-existent for hotel guest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnimalWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Had been to this hotel at least 4 times in the last 12 months, understand that the hotel is undergoing some renovations and I'm experiencing the noise on my last stay.

The services across all level seems deteriorating and its surprise me knowing the Thais are proud of their hospitality, the management must address the situation otherwise with many good hotels around it will tough to maintain loyal customers.

Despite being 'default choice' of our company staff to stay in this hotel, the hotel management doesnt seems to value the relationship with the recent experience. We always booked the club floor with regular business meetings and recently the hotel management decided to pull back certain privilege citing they have been "wrong" to accord us this entitlement (for many years in the past).

Discussion with manager-in-charge have led us to believe that Hyatt Erawan no longer appreciate good customers and probably they have too many other customers to be taken care off.

Wish them all the best wishes.

Hyatt Gold Passport no: 514 609 246U

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were able to stay in the "VIP" portion of the hotel, so my review might be a little biased. Normally, I look for the cheapest with the best reviews but this stay was arranged by a friend. We were given access to the breakfast buffet (virtually gourmet), and the free happy hour, so again... I'm a little biased. The room was modern and spacious. There was construction (renovations I presume), during the day, but I don't feel it affected the quality of our stay. The staff literally, couldn't have been nicer. Always there to open a door, or answer a request, and always with a smile. The surrounding area seems to be on the higher end of Bangkok, but I haven't spent enough time there to compare it with the rest of the city. The sky train is a block away and easy to use. A perfectly adequate starting point for a stay in Bangkok, whether you want to live the good life, or just check out the street markets.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

very good quality hotel , a bit old though from the inside , needs to rejuvenated
overall good experiance , good service at the reception but bad at dining - specially breakfast area the hostess was rude , i stayed twice there both times i was satisfied to be honest despite some minor issues.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80lzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#19 of 887 in Bangkok
3,266 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 887 in Bangkok
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Address: 494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $232 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bangkok's business and commercial district, Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok is a five-star luxury hotel with resort-style amenities. The hotel recently introduced newly renovated guestrooms and suites designed by Tony Chi, offering residential ambience to ensure that guests feel at home. Enjoy a rejuvenating experience in one of our six residential spa cottages after a gruelling day of business meetings or corporate events. Indulge your palate with our dining options, such as Tables Restaurant, Spasso Restaurant & Bar, and Erawan Tea Room. Immerse yourself in Thai culture by visiting the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha and the Silom District. You can also drop by the Chatuchak Weekend Market, home to more than 2,000 stalls selling various knick knacks and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hyatt Bangkok
Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Hyatt Bangkok
Bangkok Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing