We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch! 😊”

The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit
Ranked #72 of 12,890 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The SQUARE Restaurant at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and all day snacks in between. This modern, bright 170-seat main dining is divided into different dining cuisine zones for guests' convenience. Don't miss our famous buffet offers featuring delicious international cuisines and fresh seafood.
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

I am so happy that I got to spend my Christmas Day at such a lovely restaurant. From the delicious food to the festive atmosphere down to the little details on the tables.

I thoroughly enjoyed everything.

The very friendly management staff that checked up on us was an added bonus.

Free flow wine and soft drinks was the cherry on top.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting good food, friendly helpful staff and amazing atmosphere.

Thank you for being my home away from home on Christmas Day.

Erenay

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Edk_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear 108erenayd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to our Square Restaurant.

We are excited to receive your wonderful comments on our Square Restaurant , service by our team and with the ambiance and food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Sanoj Poulose
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 254 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

Nothing to talk about. We dined there on a Friday evening hoping for a good seafood experience. Not worth the price. Poorly presented dishes, few choices of fish, king crab was soggy and tasteless, hot dishes served lukewarm, dessert table was "blah", Indian dishes tasteless. The only thing that looked and tasted good was the New Zealand ice cream. I am sorry to give this place such bad review, but it is an honest one. Absolutely not worth the price.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear kmd125,

Thank you for dining with us in Square Restaurant in the Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit Bangkok and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your recent visit to our restaurant didn’t meet your expectations on our Buffet Quality. We have taken notes of your comments and have been shared with our Executive Chef for further investigation as this truly doesn’t reflect our standards. All the feedback always helps us to improve our services & products in order to satisfy our valued guests.

We hope you do not judge us solely on this experience and looking forward to welcome you back soon for a great Seafood experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on h7176-fb2@accor.com

Kind regards,
Sanoj Poulose
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We visited the place for lunch and dinner. Lunch was good,nice before the office crowd arrived and took over the place. The food was good, fresh and tasty and money well spent. However the dinner turned out totally different. We arrived at 8 pm and looked at empty plates and found almost the same dishes which were served for lunch. It was chaos, the Manager was the cashier, had no time to look after the servings etc, understaffed and funny people blocking the grill loading 20 to 30 prawns on. the plate. Food was just average...we felt have to eat leftovers.
Anyway..it was an experience...not a pleasant one!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Walter Benno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Walter Benno S,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us in Square Restaurant in the Novotel Ploenchit Sukhumvit Bangkok and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincerely apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced during our dinner service. Your feedback is a great importance to us as it allows us to continuously monitor and improve the service we provide to our valued guests. We have also addressed the issue to our Executive Chef for further investigation.

We trust that you would not judge us solely based on this experience and we are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Square Restaurant in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sanoj Poulose
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Judging from the raves from my fellow TA members, I followed the food trail to the Square at Novotel for their weekend (Sat) seafood buffet. Choice of sushi, sashimi, blue and snow crab, mussels and oysters - crab not as succulent as expected. Sign up for eatigo so meal at 50%, which made it ok. Wouldn't have paid full price

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunshine101Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Sunshine101Dubai,

Thank you so much for you feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you had experienced during your recent visit to Square Restaurant at Novotel Ploenchit Sukhumvit.

we are concerned that the quality of the buffet spread had not met your expectations. Your feedback had been brought up to the attention of our Executive Chef for further investigation to ensure that such shortcomings do not re-occur in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Square Restaurant to ensure you will have a great dining experience. please let me know if I can be of any assistance on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Sanoj Poulose
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Sunday brunch at 1399++ with free flow house wine and beer is so worth it here at The Square!

Good quality spread, with constant refills of the seafood-on-ice: Thai shrimps, red prawns, 2 types of mussels, fresh oysters, crayfish and Alaskan crab. All were nicely flavoured and boiled in salted water; I've had too many mid-ranged buffets that boil away all the flavour of the sea.

The sashimi and sushi station was alright; I usually only take salmon sashimi and the quality was not very nice. Fresh, but not the best cuts.

There was a multitude of hot foods and a live grill, and most of what I tried was pretty good, especially the honeyed ham. The foie gras was cooked really nicely with a drizzle of jam. Would have preferred thicker cuts (even if the pieces were smaller).

There were about 5 types of cheeses, but by the time we made our way there, we had to take the scraps of blue cheese as they don't seem to refill these.

There was fresh waffles, but the rest of the desserts were just okay. The hokey pokey ice cream from New Zealand Natural was an amazing treat from my childhood!

The wines were acceptable, not undrinkable but not anything special. Would like more juices choices though.

Overall, the brunch is a good deal for some lazy Sundays having good food without breaking the bank. Great service too!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VicC167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Vic C,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. we are delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday Brunch at our Square Restaurant in Bangkok.

We really appreciate your feedback and will review it with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sanoj Poulose
Food & Beverage Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing