We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #430 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Hotel at China Town area wit Very convenient plc for yummy local food, shopping almost anything & also wet market nearby. The triple room we stayed is wit a queen & a single bed, very spacious also got kitchenette attached.

Room Tip: Perhaps get a room away fm the lift !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junelow1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

I have been here with my wife.. we are enjoying with small room but clean.. we have a coffee in lobby too.. it is the closest lobby I ever have in my life. From here you can feel all happening in indoor and outdoor.. I love this view.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Minh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

It's on the 2nd floor of the hotel. I was the only guest staying there that night. I won't be back, although it was very clean and comfortable. The lights were motion activated, except for a small light by my bed, so to keep the overhead light on I had to keep going out into the hall and coming in again. Also, I was not trusted with a remote for the air conditioner and I had to get dressed and go downstairs to the desk twice to get someone to come up and make it less cold. I was freezing!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This hotel was conveniently placed for the Chinatown New Year celebrations. It was great to be walking distance to so many markets and sites. The staff were friendly and helpful. A positive experience for our first visit to Thailand

Room Tip: It would maybe pay to view a room before finalising, rooms on 5th level better quality than on 4th l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elsie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here for vacation over the past few years. The location at the top of Yaowaraj Road is superb for tourists on food tripping. There's a bus stop right in front where many public buses stop at. Bus no. 53 takes you to Pak Khlong Talad (Flower Market ) for 6.5 THB each. This bus then proceed to Tha Tien (for Reclining Buddha temple ) and Tha Chang (for Grand Palace and Emerald Buddha temple ).We were forced by circumstances to learn about this bus service as returning to Yaowarat by tuk tuk and taxis is extremely challenging and often very expensive.
The hotel is still undergoing piecemeal renovation and the renovated rooms have only 1 electrical socket. We overcame this limitation by buying a multiple socket (100 THB for 3 sockets; 120 THB for 6 extensions ).The electrical supply to the room is cut off whenever you leave the room with your key. Previously we detached the key from the holder so that the air conditioning runs continously but nowadays the key ring is fused to the metal ring. The mattress is extra firm and towels that overdue for replacement.The floor is cement with faux timber planks paint. Breakfast is basic and not worth the additional charge of 135 THB per head if your room rate is not inclusive. General hygiene and cleaniless is average. There's a hair dryer in the room plus 2 complimentary bottles of drinking water daily. The in -room safe deposit box is too small to keep any laptop.
Dining experience in the hotel is poor. For those tourists who are less adventurous, the Canton Cafe next door is a good choice.
The free WiFi service is often interrupted and we kept switching to the separate user names for the different floors (each floor has separate user name ).
Overall, still a tourist hotel with 2 stars only.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CKY281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#363 of 887 in Bangkok
181 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#367 of 887 in Bangkok
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#369 of 887 in Bangkok
548 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#605 of 887 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Address: 526 Yaowarat Rd | Sumpantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $49 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinatown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Zenrooms, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing