We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, great breakfast, dark room”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #455 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Our stay was great.
We only booked for 2 nights, and planned to check other hotels for the rest of our stay.
After our first night we extended the booking for the rest of our stay in Bangkok.

Very friendly and helpful people at the reception. Spacious room with a decent bathroom and toilet.
The breakfast buffet was awesome, good Thai breakfast with every day something different.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

After the last responded a very bad exp with them... decided to go one more round to see their services....the room dont looks ok but acceptable for a cheap room within that area where the best spot within the town! Aircon best cold enough but was dripping on the very first 2 hours when we stepped in....but repair within time ...

Room Tip: book corner room.. facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Siambuddhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This hotel is well located as a base for exploration of Yaowarat (Chinatown) area. The price is friendly but/because the hotel is rather aged. However it's clean enough.

The room is equipped with the usual amenities, including an in-room safe and a mini bar - not bad for the price.

The shower was adequate (very important in Bangkok) even though the hot water mixer is not the best. The aircon was noisy but works well enough.

I won't say the hotel is ideal as a base for exploration of Bangkok since it's a bit of a walk to the nearest train/subway/BTS station. Plenty of taxi on Yaowarat road if you prefer that, and if you have the patience to deal with those who refuse to use the meter in order to make a few more bucks off you. Many taxi drivers we met used the excuse that traffic in and out of Yaowarat is always busy hence they don't want to use the meter.

We had the room without breakfast because we preferred to try what the locals have for breakfast bought on the street. So I can't comment on the quality or value there, but I'll do the same again if I ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ls K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I spend a lot of time choosing my hotel before I travel and I wasn't disappointed with this one. Location is everything for me: walking distance to places of interest, the train system and good food options. The room is a good size, as is the bathroom and everything works, A small bar fridge to keep your supplies in plus tea/coffee making in room. I often work or write while I'm away and my room had a good desk and handy power point. I was always happy to come back to Chinatown district and my hotel at the end of each day. Even my room was near the front of the building and overlooked the street, the traffic noise was not noticeable. Best of all are the street markets right outside the door with great food to try.

Room Tip: I chose the mid-range room, not the cheapest or most expensive and it was great. I was on the 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Arrived 2 days ago as a stop over before moving onto Koh Samui. Nice enough hotelin the centre of chinatown. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is clean and our room was cleaned everyday even though we were only here for 2 nights. Room we had was basic but just what we needed to be honest.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndsMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#369 of 890 in Bangkok
185 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#377 of 890 in Bangkok
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#585 of 890 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#364 of 890 in Bangkok
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Address: 526 Yaowarat Rd | Sumpantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinatown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Zenrooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing