We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #457 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel it's the location, super close to the train station, temples, food and you can easily pick the boat with a 5 min walk.
The rooms are very small and the bathrooms quite old.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016

Reception staff efficient and sort-of pleasant. Quick access to room.
At room was first slight problem....door does not open fully, as sliding door to bathroom would be damaged. So a floor-level stopper causes door to rebound at you if you forget and open rather quickly.
Next....in-room safe was faulty, and took quite a while to rectify.
Otherwise....average sized room, clean enough. At least it had a window. Bedding quite comfortable.
Breakfast fare very limited, in nice surroundings, with prompt attention by smiling staff to check if you want egg dish. Quite a bit of casual seating around foyer.
Chinatown Hotel lies at the bottom end of Yaowarat Rd[one-way], near the Chinatown Arch.
Buses stop out front, sign with bus numbers here, from main shopping areas. Getting bus return to shopping areas is a little trickier.
But so much to explore in the back alleys, a lot is only for wholesale though.
Great eating at night all along Yaowarat Rd. Quite a walk to river ferries. But can be a better method of reaching main shopping areas of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytravellerMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We were very happy with service in restaurant. We walked in off the street and were shown
to a table direct. The food was really tasty and most of the staff were friendly. They had no problem to making my meal vegan.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinatownhotel, Manager at Chinatown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Thank you for your recommend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Basic hotel with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, with a window on the 5th floor that fully opens! At the time of my visit there was a Chinese s vegetarian street market that served food from midday until 10 at night when the famous shark fin resturant across the street .
Very conveniently situated with a 15 minute walk to lampong railway station and access to the metro.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank CandM04211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Our stay was great.
We only booked for 2 nights, and planned to check other hotels for the rest of our stay.
After our first night we extended the booking for the rest of our stay in Bangkok.

Very friendly and helpful people at the reception. Spacious room with a decent bathroom and toilet.
The breakfast buffet was awesome, good Thai breakfast with every day something different.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#367 of 891 in Bangkok
185 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#373 of 891 in Bangkok
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#587 of 891 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#363 of 891 in Bangkok
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Address: 526 Yaowarat Rd | Sumpantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinatown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Zenrooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing