We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chinatown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$95
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
18
105
61
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
105
61
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationchinese new yearthai dishesmini barhot waterreception staffrepairshoppingtaxisoap
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel it's the location, super close to the train station, temples, food and you can easily pick the boat with a 5 min walk.
The rooms are very small and the bathrooms quite old.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Reception staff efficient and sort-of pleasant. Quick access to room.
At room was first slight problem....door does not open fully, as sliding door to bathroom would be damaged. So a floor-level stopper causes door to rebound at you if you forget and open rather quickly.
Next....in-room safe was faulty, and took quite a while to rectify.
Otherwise....average sized room, clean enough. At least it had a window. Bedding quite comfortable.
Breakfast fare very limited, in nice surroundings, with prompt attention by smiling staff to check if you want egg dish. Quite a bit of casual seating around foyer.
Chinatown Hotel lies at the bottom end of Yaowarat Rd[one-way], near the Chinatown Arch.
Buses stop out front, sign with bus numbers here, from main shopping areas. Getting bus return to shopping areas is a little trickier.
But so much to explore in the back alleys, a lot is only for wholesale though.
Great eating at night all along Yaowarat Rd. Quite a walk to river ferries. But can be a better method of reaching main shopping areas of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytravellerMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We were very happy with service in restaurant. We walked in off the street and were shown
to a table direct. The food was really tasty and most of the staff were friendly. They had no problem to making my meal vegan.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinatownhotel, Manager at Chinatown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Thank you for your recommend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Basic hotel with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, with a window on the 5th floor that fully opens! At the time of my visit there was a Chinese s vegetarian street market that served food from midday until 10 at night when the famous shark fin resturant across the street .
Very conveniently situated with a 15 minute walk to lampong railway station and access to the metro.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank CandM04211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Our stay was great.
We only booked for 2 nights, and planned to check other hotels for the rest of our stay.
After our first night we extended the booking for the rest of our stay in Bangkok.

Very friendly and helpful people at the reception. Spacious room with a decent bathroom and toilet.
The breakfast buffet was awesome, good Thai breakfast with every day something different.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews