We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, poor accomodations”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #429 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My partner and I chose to stay at Chinatown Hotel because it had decent reviews, a good location in the heart of Chinatown (with delicious street food right outside the door and just a short walk to the MRT) and a good price. However, we got exactly what we paid for: the staff were generally disinterested, our "superior" room was outdated and the size of a walk-in closet, the walls were very thin, the wifi was in-and-out, and our room's location directly next to the elevator meant a poor night's sleep. After going over to the rooftop bar at Hotel Royal Bangkok across the street, we realized that it might have been worthwhile to pay a little extra for a hotel with more to it and modern amenities.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator. We stayed in room 607, directly next to the elevator, and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alethea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel it's the location, super close to the train station, temples, food and you can easily pick the boat with a 5 min walk.
The rooms are very small and the bathrooms quite old.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Reception staff efficient and sort-of pleasant. Quick access to room.
At room was first slight problem....door does not open fully, as sliding door to bathroom would be damaged. So a floor-level stopper causes door to rebound at you if you forget and open rather quickly.
Next....in-room safe was faulty, and took quite a while to rectify.
Otherwise....average sized room, clean enough. At least it had a window. Bedding quite comfortable.
Breakfast fare very limited, in nice surroundings, with prompt attention by smiling staff to check if you want egg dish. Quite a bit of casual seating around foyer.
Chinatown Hotel lies at the bottom end of Yaowarat Rd[one-way], near the Chinatown Arch.
Buses stop out front, sign with bus numbers here, from main shopping areas. Getting bus return to shopping areas is a little trickier.
But so much to explore in the back alleys, a lot is only for wholesale though.
Great eating at night all along Yaowarat Rd. Quite a walk to river ferries. But can be a better method of reaching main shopping areas of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytravellerMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We were very happy with service in restaurant. We walked in off the street and were shown
to a table direct. The food was really tasty and most of the staff were friendly. They had no problem to making my meal vegan.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinatownhotel, Manager at Chinatown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Thank you for your recommend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Basic hotel with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, with a window on the 5th floor that fully opens! At the time of my visit there was a Chinese s vegetarian street market that served food from midday until 10 at night when the famous shark fin resturant across the street .
Very conveniently situated with a 15 minute walk to lampong railway station and access to the metro.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank CandM04211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#359 of 887 in Bangkok
180 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#370 of 887 in Bangkok
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#366 of 887 in Bangkok
546 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#324 of 887 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Address: 526 Yaowarat Rd | Sumpantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinatown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Zenrooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing