We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wrong side of the river??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
Ranked #123 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
410 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, wrong side of the river??”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Been to Bangkok many times and watched this hotel being built in the 90's, finally opening and then becoming a Hilton so was looking forward to staying here.
It's on a par with the many 5* hotels in Bangkok; service is great and the views from most rooms looking either up or down river are stunning. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the Exec floor and my wife enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour on the 31st floor. Only complaint I have is that it's a pain to get to. In busy traffic it's an extra 15 - 20 minutes in a taxi from the airport (compared to the Oriental or Royal Orchid on the "city" side of the river). If you want to go out to dinner then the best option is to take the hotel boat to the BTS station and catch the skytrain. This all adds time and means you have to stumble around the steps under the BTS station, get the right change and hope you remember to get off at the correct stop. Then if you come back late you might wait 30 minutes at the BTS station for the hotel boat to take you across the river, as we did,
So no complaints about the hotel, you just need to allow a bit more time to access the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDW662, General Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear kmr1809

Firstly, thank you for selecting Millennium Hilton Bangkok.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and in particular our Executive lounge and views which are definitely worth the experience.

We appreciate that transport does take a little longer, however based on feedback from many guests we believe the location makes it worth it.

We look forward to welcome you again.


Kind regards

Scott Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,919
    1,532
    447
    187
    88
See reviews for
890
2,430
404
567
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Millennium Hilton two nights using "points". We were upgraded to a junior suite on the 18th floor over looking the river. It was an amazing view in the daytime and at night. The room was extremely clean and spacious. Our room included evening drinks & food on the 31st floor. Relaxing taking in the view while sipping on a drink was really special. Our room also included breakfast, which was amazing. The breakfast had Asian and Western food. We were more than happy to enjoy the Asian food. The staff was incredible with making our visit to Bangkok easy and fun. They told us the best way to see the city and the sites. All the information was typed on a piece of paper, so you would not forget where to go, what boat to take etc. We like Hilton Hotels, but the Millennium Hilton Bangkok is very special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDW662, General Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear SBCA Traveler,

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok, using the benefit of your HHonors points.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality of our team. We strive to ensure each guest has a memorable experience with us and wants to return.

On your next visit to Bangkok, we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Scott Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Not a place I would typically find myself staying at due to location, I recently attended a week long conference located at the hotel. Whilst I tend to rate hotels based on expectation/cost versus delivery (which means a cheap hotel that ticks all the boxes is 4 out of 5 for me), this hotel receives 100% in all areas and a fat 5/5

Hotel is located over the river from Lebua State Tower which most people are going to hit up once in their BKK trip, but this would not be top of my list for enjoying the nightlife of BKK, it is perhaps 20-30 minutes away from lower Sukhumvit, Then again, taxi's (at least on the way out, as opposed to the going home shakedown) are cheap enough that this is not really a showstopper.

As far as the local streets go the area around the hotel doesn't offer a lot of action. There is a market just next to the hotel, but it's catering more for the locals and doesn't really offer much in the way of tourist trinkets. A couple of el-cheapo massage places exists down the road from 7-11 but that seems about it. Better to cross the river on the hotel boat (or locals 3.5 baht boat) to visit the riverside complex if you want to browse around.

I agree with some of the other reviews that the drinks and hotel ala carte food are quite pricey (you are in a Hilton after all). The hotel has a nice rooftop bar which has some very cozy "couples" style lounges. Perfect place to kick off the night, or just sit around for a chit chat. However, the cocktails are not particularly cheap (but then again what roof top bar in BKK ever is) but it is a nice choice to have instead of fighting the queue and crowd up at Lebua.

Hotel staff friendliness and attitude was top notch and the room was of reasonable size with a small but functional work area (was not in a suite). Nice bathroom of decent size with a reasonable selection of amenities.

My only gripe would be that the lift/elevators up to the rooms during busy times can take well over 5 mins to arrive which can be inconvenient.

all in all, would definitely stay again for a couples trip to BKK and if I didn't want to be surrounded by the downtown hubub.

Room Tip: ask for a room with river (Chao Praya) views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumHilton, General Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Jg161,

A huge thank you for your stay! We are happy to receive such a positive feedback. Hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After me and my friends checked in, we asked hotel staff to put our luggage in the room because we were going out for dinner with friends. After 3 hours of nice, breezy, delicious dinner at the river, when we returned to our room, our suitcases were still not in the room. The explanation was hotel staff put the wrong tag to our suitcases. The bellman put the tag for departure to our suitcases, so our suitcases were sitting at the 1F. The front desk merely offered 1 night complimentary internet access as their apology.

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, sharing a twin room with friends, so we requested for an extra bed upon arrival. The staff training can be more solid and thoughtful, because typically for a request of an extra bed, shouldn't it a common sense that there will be 3 people living in a room? Thus, when hotel staff brings the bed ONLY, I was depressed that this happened at Hilton.
After requesting for extra amenities, they brought towels, but we still need to call them again to bring an extra water cup and slippers. Also, the smell along the way from SPA to shuttle boat pier was bad.

The location would be an issue as well. As the pier only runs till 12am, you need to rely on taxi to go to downtown if you stay out late. Because Hilton is at the other side of the river bank, taxi drivers don't want to go there as there is less business for them.

Although the overall decor in the lobby was impressively nice, the view from the room was nice, and the hallway was spacious(I didn't try any outlet there), I am not happy with my stay and its service in Hilton. I will definitely try another branded hotel for my next visit to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Request for high floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDW662, General Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Ingrid S

Thank you for choosing Millennium Hilton Bangkok.

We strive to ensure that our guests have an experience from which they wish to come back again. Therefore it is very unfortunate that on this visit we did not show you this and meet your expectations. I appreciate you highlighting these areas, however I apologize as they should not happen.

If you are returning to Bangkok, please contact me directly so that we may ensure you have a more memorable experience.

Thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Scott Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've stayed at the Hilton three times in the last few years and it's a great experience every time. Beautiful, beautiful hotel, stunning views, good service and still very new looking and feeling. Drinks are very expensive as is the food. Not a lot for tourists on the Thonburi side of the river, but it's still good to walk around and you can go to a nearby market. The swimming pool isn't huge, but the pool area is wonderful despite this. Very highly recommended for your stay in Bangkok.
I last stayed here in January 2011, not 2012, but I'm sure the hotel is still just as great.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterlily2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumHilton, General Manager at Millennium Hilton Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Waterlily2544,
Thank you for your comment and hope to accommodate you again in this year.
Kind regards,
Scott Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sukhumvit
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
#76 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,035 reviews
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#91 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,038 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hilton Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hilton Bangkok

Property: Millennium Hilton Bangkok
Address: 123 Charoennakorn Road _. ________ | Khlongtonsai, Khlongsan แขวง คลองต้นไทร เขต คลองสาน กรุงเทพฯ, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#99 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $126 - $266
Hotel Class:5 star — Millennium Hilton Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning new ultra-contemporary hotel with absolute river views from every window. Boasting outdoor infinity pool, stand alone full service Spa and a dedicated Hilton Meetings floor. Eight restaurants and bars offer exquisite local and western cuisine and cocktails to suit every palate in indoor and outdoor settings. Complimentary shuttle boat to the heart of city runs until midnight and rennowned attractions such as Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha and the Temple of Dawn are just a short boat ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hilton Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hilton Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hilton International Bangkok
Hilton Bangkok
Bangkok Hilton
Millenium Hilton Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing