We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be good but is showing its age”
Review of Babylon Bangkok

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Babylon Bangkok
Ranked #109 of 752 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I first stayed here in 2004 but since then it’s hardly changed, and what changes I’ve noted are for the worse.

If you scroll down you’ll note that the customer service comes in for a lot of criticism and deservedly so, if you don’t know them personally you may struggle to be comprehended, get things done or just even feel welcomed; you might be perceived as an interruption rather than an esteemed guest.

The only plaudits for hotel and sauna (I’m reviewing them together) is for the housekeeping ladies in the hotel who keep the rooms clean and for the pool (not gym staff, they are hopeless and make no effort to engage the customers) staff who, despite not speaking English, do make effort to be friendly.

The rooms themselves are overpriced, and even with the ’free’ breakfast you are not getting value for money - the breakfast is a solitary smallish omelette and a bit of fruit- you’ll have to pay for coffee!

Annoyingly, for both sauna pass (included with hotel) and breakfast coupon one needs to ASK reception on a daily basis to obtain it: hasn’t anyone figured out that it’s more sensible to give a bunch of coupons for the duration of stay? Even from a business point of view it doesn’t make sense...

If you are going to shell out for the more expensive rooms at least you’ll be spared the irritation of being disturbed by after midnight prowlers using the communal toilet/shower. Ask for a room away from there if you want to get a good nights sleep.

The sauna used to be good but it badly needs investment - the gym equipment are more like museum pieces and some don’t work properly (juddering and shuddering treadmill, for example) For goodness sake, upgrade the gym, it’s an embarrassment.

Likewise change (or clean) the plastic chairs surrounding the pool - they are engrimed with sweat and dirt) and give the restaurant staff a serious lesson in customer service, with the exception of the downstairs manager (who is excellent) the rest are shuffling zombies, as are the surly staff that man the reception desk at the entrance to the sauna. Quite unwelcoming.

The on site massage is also overpriced- if you go to the soi near the Malaysian hotel you can get a much cheaper one - may thai is my favourite.

So, I’m not going back; You can give a business that takes you for granted a couple of chances to improve but when you see that a customer centric culture is never going to develop continued patronage is just financial masochism. Sad because I once liked this place.




Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank 947antony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Had an awesome time at Babylon, at least at the sauna. The sauna totally lives up to the hype, and since it came free with staying at Babylon I went every night. It couldn't have been better. However some improvements could be made to the actual hotel. The rooms are decorated like an antique store, and the bed was hard as a rock, worse then a hostel. The stag was not rude as other posts have said, but they weren't friendly and didn't attempt to engage the guests at all. I would definitely come back for the sauna, but stay at a hotel near by and just pay for the entrance fee. Breakfast was good!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I Spent two weeks with a friend. Room was large and very beautiful. Breakfast was nice but noisy, people talked a lot. Impossible to have breakfast in peace. Too bad ! No hotel service at all . Won't go back there !

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 61bonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night in a penthouse room (the standart one). Room was small but very clean and well kept, nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Nice gay invironmant. Walking distance from tanon main rd. Excellent service. The breakfast was poor. We paid for a machine coffee which was really oufall. Good air conditioning in the room. Couple of bars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank buiumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This is a gay venue and it is quite well known internationally. Now, the website does not specify this, but if you are not totally naive, you should get this from the kind of images provided on the website. Do not expect happy families to illustrate this venue, the images provided are of hunky men having a good time together. I booked into the Barracks and I got what I paid for. The Barracks are quite basic, bunks and some storage. Some rooms have bigger beds and also a minibar. Mine did not, but I was able to cope anyway. We have to be honest, if you book at The Babylon, you won't spend much time in your room; the main feature of the venue is the sauna.
The sauna is really nice, different wet and dry saunas, a nice pool, showers and spa. Cleanness is often an issue in these kind of venues, but The Babylon was really clean, including rooms and shared areas. Overall really well kept.
Breakfast was fine, but nothing too flashy. I had my meals at the restaurant in the sauna; being a vegetarian the selection was limited, but I did fine for the two days I stayed there.
In terms of clientele, it was really diverse. Many tourists as you would expect. On Saturday evening was packed. Being a gay venue with shared facilities, you might see patrons enjoying themselves on your way to the toilet at nighttime.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Mirko G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#398 of 894 in Bangkok
309 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 894 in Bangkok
4,620 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#11 of 894 in Bangkok
3,739 reviews
Silom
W Bangkok
W Bangkok
#17 of 894 in Bangkok
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Bangkok

Address: 34 Soi Nandha, South Sathon RoadSoi 1, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 752 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Babylon Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Babylon Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing