We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nooooooo” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Ranked #765 of 843 Hotels in Bangkok
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nooooooo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed there for 3 days in augest-septemer11. Very bad service and they didnt provide what they promise at the time of booking online. Room furniture looks very old. As soon as i enter in room, I automatically goes in depression mode. Also atey charge hell lot of money for phone calls and internet usage.

Room Tip: Pls dont spoil your vacation by booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shox54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokMike, Resident Manager at Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us through trip Advisor.
We acknowledged your concerns regarding of our rooms such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve by refurbishment from April 2012.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    135
    103
    80
    81
See reviews for
22
63
173
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

For years, I have read reviews from Tripadvisor to get info about hotels, but this is the first time I have shared my comment. To be frank with you, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed. I have been to many budget hotels around the world, so I never expected anything luxury from Royal Asia Lodge. My basic need is just a clean room to sleep.

But... what I faced is army of cockroaches. They were everywhere from under the bed, in the cabinet, in the toilet, on the floor. One night a cockroach walked on my leg while I was sleeping. Sometimes, it was on my toothbrush. Moreover, my wife got sick due to bad air condition in the room. Air ventilation system was really bad. We spent 4 nights there in early November 2011 and it turned out to be my worst nightmare!

If the management reads my comment, please do something about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PakornJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor I wasnt quite sure what to expect for our 4 night stay at this hotel.
The initial signs werent good.The reception area is small and cramped and the lobby is nothing to write home about.
However when we got to our room on the 7th floor we were pleasantly surprised.It was a decent size and everything worked fine.
There is not a huge choice at breakfast but what we had was good and they do try and vary the food each day.
Its about a 10 minute walk to Nana MTR station which is no problem in the evening,but can be quite hot during the day so try to make use of their free tuk-tuk service.
There are some decent restaurants on Soi 8,particularily Monsoon and also det5,Soi 8 and Kinaree plus Citadines is nice for a beer just before you get back to the Royal Asia Lodge.
Overall I was quite happy with our stay at this hotel.What we got for our money was good value and it is situated in quite a good location on Sukhumvit.
If the reception/lobby area had a decent like of paint plus some newer furniture it would work wonders.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zidane08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokMike, Resident Manager at Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and wish to thank you
for your gracious comments about our hotel.

Once again, thank you, and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked at Royal Asia Lodge based on the information that they had provided on a website: free wifi, pool, breakfast included, free tuk tuk and cable television. For a low cost hotel we had pretty low expectations of what the hotel would be like - and even then we were disappointed. The wifi, electricity and room safe all failed to work at various times throughout our stay. When we asked the front desk staff for assistance they were apathetic and slow to respond.

The pool as it turns out is a grotty little wading pool that is certainly not worth using, and the sullen tuk tuk driver was lazy and unfriendly and reluctant to drive us. The only time he was anything approaching polite was when the hotel owner walked past him.

However the final straw revolved around the issue of payment. The exchange rate offered at the hotel was not only exorbitant but when we asked for a copy of the paperwork we had signed - they claimed that no such paperwork existed.

There are plenty of fantastic hotels in Bangkok - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: "Don't stay here"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokMike, Resident Manager at Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
We would like to apologize for the disappointing stay you had with us . We also appreciate that
you have given us opportunity to address this issue with the staff concerned and will ensure that they receives the necessary guidance to perform a much better role moving forward
improve our hotel. Please be assured that we will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with respective team members. We seek your understanding as the recommendations may require time to be implemented.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

All in all, a reasonably nice lodge, convenient location, with just a short distance to the Nana Sky Train station. The tuk-tuk free service was a great help to and from the lodge, especially after a long day of walking in the city. A hearty breakfast at the lodge each morning was good enough to start the day, given the choice of around ten spreads, with toasts, coffee and juices.

On the negative side...

1. I can only hope that the management of the lodge train their front-desk staff to be more polite so as to handle guests in a more professional manner. No guest wants to experience facing an impolite staff upon checking-in, what more after travelling long hours, to be greeted with NO SMILES but rude behavior. I particularly refer to the morning-shift male staff who was working during 7 - 10 October 2011. Not willing to apologize to guests when making a mistake is something which I cannot accept. Please talk to him and make sure this does not happen to your future guests. The house-keeping staff are a much more polite bunch of people!

2. Stayed there 4 days 3 nights with no hot shower in spite of making 3 reports to the reception each day. I suggest the management studies these feed-backs and try to improve where necessary. Good luck.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#290 of 843 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#352 of 843 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#305 of 843 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#475 of 843 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ruamchitt Travelodge
#579 of 843 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Cubic Pratunam
#637 of 843 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Property: Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Address: 91, Soi 8 off Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #765 of 843 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $33 - $50
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the thick of the action near to Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok’s bustling hive of activity, this property is about a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS Skytrain station, which provides easy access to popular areas such as Central World, MBK Shopping Center and more, or 1 minute to the station by the hotel’s free shuttle service. Royal Asia Lodge offers 99 comfortable rooms equipped with standard amenities; satellite TV, air conditioning and IDD phone. Other facilities, includes a lobby lounge bar, restaurant, swimming pool, massage service, laundry/dry cleaning services and business center services with E-mail & Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing