We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Go Wrong With Jones.:)”
Review of Jones The Grocer

Jones The Grocer
Ranked #12 of 242 Coffee & Tea in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Launching in 1996, jones the grocer set the benchmark for premium Australian gourmet food stores. Opening the flagship Sydney store in the heart of Woollahra, jones the grocer presented a dynamic new approach, seamlessly fusing the growing cafe scene with a premium retail offering. Gourmet food products, often restricted to restaurants, became accessible for every day living. This iconic store also hosted Sydney’s first and largest walk-in cheese room, an exclusive range of private label branded gourmet products as well as a select range of international artisan produced ingredients, jones the grocer quickly secured a reputation as the market leader for gourmet food.
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Located at the swanky new EMQuartier along Sukhumvit, Jones the Grocer aims to wow foodie fans not only with its delectable range of cakes and pastries, but also with a lot of delicious dishes - from pasta, to burgers, to pizza and then some. We ordered the Superfood salad (lentils, pumpkin purée, quinoa, etc) and seafood risotto for our healthy late lunch and we thought that the serving looked small at first glance, but really just enough for a normal adult appetite. The risotto was perfectly creamy and cheesy and really delicious! There was enough prawns and squid in there as well to satisfy your seafood craving, but the highlight of our lunch was the dessert. However, once in front of the counter display with all those colourful and desserts and pastries staring back at you, making a choice - or two - gets a little bit tougher. I was so tempted to order so many because they all looked mouth-watering, but I managed to restrain myself and just settle with their lemon tart and rainbow cake. The lemon tart was so good and has just the right amount of lemon tartiness and sweet to it. The rainbow cake, I have to say, was a little dry (could use some good ol' moist in its texture) and a bit too sweet for my taste - but would've blended nicely with a cup of tea. It was my first time to dine at Jones the Grocer and overall, I think the experience was good (service is commendable, too) and price was okay/mid-range.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mrsvickyaltaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Jones The Grocer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Wow! Thank you so much for your very in-depth review. We are really happy that you enjoyed our various freshly cooked dishes and cakes. Please do come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Jones The Grocer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2015

Food is excellent, I like Aussie Burger, meat is so tender. Coffee is great and the service is excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank emily y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Jones The Grocer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Thank you so much for coming to jones the grocer. With out jones burger we use 100% wagyu beef. This is why it is so tender. We are very proud of our Australian coffee. We are glad the service was excellent. We work hard on ensuring this. We really appreciate you taking the time to come and provide this review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Salads were great, Seafood Risotto fantastic ... but the Blue Berry Tart is just to die for !!! Not too stodgy - not too sweet ! very light and fresh and just worth stopping for every time you go to M Quartier !!! Service was great - a little too attentive - but they are a start up in Thailand - so I understand ! Loved it and I will definitely be back - you have to try it yourself!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tatjana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Jones The Grocer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Brilliant! We are so glad you enjoyed our food, especially our blueberry tart. All our cakes and tarts are made in-house by our well-trained pasty chef, and we are very proud of them. We look forward to welcoming you back to jones the grocer very soon. Thank you so much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

I know Jones the Grocer from Abu Dhabi and always liked it. . Been here today and had one of Bankoks best Italian Pasta dishes ever - Tagliatelle with slow braised Ox check. A dream.

The service is very friendly and professional. I guess the Philippino Expat waiters make the difference. .

I will be back.

2  Thank Helmut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Jones The Grocer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Thank you so much for your review. It really makes us happy to hear from satisfied customers. We look forward to welcoming you back to jones the grocer again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

My big breakfast never came after an hour's wait! A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT! The foreigner manager kept saying it's coming and it never came!

3  Thank renatostrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Jones The Grocer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

We are very sorry to hear that your visit was not to our regular high standard. When you visted we had just opened and were still perfecting our systems and the order of a breakfast item in the evening confused our system. We now have our system working to a high standard and can assure you that if you were to return, you would see a big change. We would like to note that our management did provide a free meal for your entire table as compensation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jones The Grocer also viewed

 

Been to Jones The Grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing