We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Ranked #7 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Liam's Suan Dok Mai is a small and charming guesthouse just a little outside of Chiang mai. It has a nice pool and a great restaurant. Breakfast is really good with fresh fruits, pancakes, conflakes and nice bread. We stayed in a nice, specious and clean room with good mattresses. The staff is really sweet and friendly. The hostess, Daphne, is also really friendly and knows al lot about things to do in and around Chiang Mai. Daphne gives really great tips and can arrange tours, taxi and tuktuk rides for you. She gave us good tips and made our stay memorable. We loved our stay in Liam's Suan Dok Mai and hope to come back there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your nice review! It's our job to make our guests' holiday as easy as possible with helping out on booking tours and giving advice!

We hope to see you again, some day!

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    56
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
110
128
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed this summer during our trip in Thailand with our kids (14, 15 and 16 yrs old) three nights at Liam Suan Dok Mai Guest Home. Of all hotels, guesthouses, lodges etc we’ve been this holiday, this place is the best in our memory.
In the first place the rooms are very comfortable and tastefull, the beds and sanitary are of good quality (always important item for critical spoiled Dutch people like us). We enjoyed 2 weeks of (delicious) Thai food, but the menu of Liam Suan Dok Mai Guest Home was a very welcome variation. Our kids enjoyed the European food and…..so did we! Served by the very very kind staffmember named “Tu”.
It needs no explination that the free WIFI was a very welcome item for our kids. But most important for us was the owner of this accommodation, Daphne. A very warm and friendly woman who is capable to give you a coming-home feeling in her place. She‘s always there but in a very pleasant way. You can see and feel that she takes care for her customers. Hard to explain what her quality is, but trust me……it’s just what makes you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for the kind words!! It was a pleasure meeting you and I love to read your children had a great time!!
Hopefully we'll meet again some day!

Take care,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Me and my family went there to stay for two days. The pancake from breakfast was delicious!
The five people room was not small and crowded. It was very comfortable. In the morning I rode the bicycle around the neighborhood, enjoying the quiet morning and the wonderful local houses. The Liam's Suan Dok Mai hostel is a little far from the hostel(about 15 minutes from downtown) but I think after a exhausted downtown exploring, it is really great to get away from all the noise of the traffic and relax in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niki266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This cosy guesthouse is a nice place to relax, away from the city rush.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable! The kids loved the food and had a great time in the pool.
Although we had some rough weather during the night, in the morning the friendly staff immediately cleaned the pool and the garden and took away all the fallen leaves and branches.

We asked Daphne for a surprise of our sons 9th birthday, and she managed to get him a birthday cake in the shape of a lions head. You should have seen his eyes and the smile on his face …

If you want advice for a trip, or need a taxi to go to the city… Daphne takes care of everything!

In a nutshell: Liam’s Suan Dok Mai is an excellent place to stay in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Hi, we stayed for 5 nights in Liam's Suan Dok Mai.
It was so nice, we felt like it was home! We did the Jungle tour in Chiang Mai 2 days and could leave our backpacks in the guesthouse, what a service !!
Also the Belgium food (stoofvlees met frieten en Vidée) was very very nice!!
and the Rooms where beautiful!
It was a bit out of the city but the staff always called for a taxi when we wanted.
Thanks Daphné for the nice time we had in Liam's Guesthouse. Sure we will pass it !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle29041986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.9 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.3 km away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.6 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 718 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.3 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.4 km away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai

Property: Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Address: 87/45 Moo 7 Tambon Faham, | Moo Baan Samakon, A. Muang,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $40 - $68
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guesthouse in a local Thai area, not too far from the hustle and bustle from the old city centre but perfect for those who prefer a quiet surrounding and homey feeling, it's time to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing