We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION and great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Ranked #65 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great location to many local eateries, massage places, and is in the center of town so lots of nightlife right outside of your door. Breakfast and wi-fi included and concierge was great. I did Kanotoke dinner for traditional thai dinner, elephant trekking, white water and bamboo rafting, doi suthep (temple on the mountains), and tiger kingdom. We did night markets which was literally across the street from the hotel. Another night we were walking into the center of town ~5-10 walk and we stumbled upon a muay thai fight. The whole experience was great in chiang mai. Don't miss the elephant camps were you get to see elephants actually paint. I missed it but will definitely return to see this.


The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. I would return to this hotel. Although the rooms are very small and beds are on the harder side and there were mosquitos in our room upon arrival. You get what you pay. There's no swimming pool at this premises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickib206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCorporateOffice, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location and concierge.

For the problem of mosquito, we are solving the problem and sorry for your inconvenient.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is larger than it looks from the outside and the rooms (on 3 levels) are built around an atrium area where reception is and breakfast is served. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was away from the atrium with a wall between us, but we could still hear a lot of noise from the breakfast & reception area. The whole place is tiled so it is like an echo chamber. It started with plates clattering around 6am when they were setting up and got louder from there. In addition we got a lot of noise from activities outside the hotel at night ie: local nightclubs/bars and live music at ThaPae.
The rooms themselves are not too small but the bathroom was pokey and the hot water didn't really work. The handbasin was outside the bathroom (but towel rails inside so not convenient). The bathroom also had a frosted glass door - not nice if you are using the basin and someone is in the bathroom. This has been done to let some light into an otherwise window-less room (from the tiny window in the room itself). Also many mosquitoes in the room. The decor is minimalist but all quite new. On the plus side the beds were very clean and comfortable (only singles) and there was a safe in the room and convenient keyless entry. The was a small flatscreen TV and good lighting over the bed for reading with a switch next to the bed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was quite adequate for the standard. Note that there is no lift so you must carry bags up the steep stairs.
This hotel is a good basic choice and fair value. There is everything for the tourist on the doorstep (including a 24hrs McDonalds on site) but don't stay if you expect to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor next to the breakfast area-too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location, value for money and comfortable beds.

Regarding any inconvenience during your stay, we have forwarded this to the hotel management for improvement.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The location is brilliant - short walks to all the main attractions.

The hotel is modern, with clean modern rooms with everything you need.

Breakfast has all the basics - coffee/tea/pastries/toasts/eggs etc and is included

Staff are super helpful and their is a tour desk in the hotel

I would recommend for anyone who has the hotel feeling without paying too much.

We paid around €24 per night

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms that are facing the back which are quieter than ones facing the breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayfromreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments.

We are appreciated your compliments on our hotel and your room tip for room selection.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've stay in this hotel for more than 2 years during my trips but recent trip was disappointing. The noise from a newly open nearby pub was just unbearable...it goes on till past midnight...but this hotel was generally good for the price and location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Imm Hotel Group at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments us.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel is very well located: right across the old town gates, but the windows don't face the busy road. 10-15 minute walk to the Night Market. Also easy to see on the map because there is a McDonalds in the same building.
The room was spacious and clean. What we didn't like was a small window on the side which didn't give much light, and no mosquito net so we couldn't keep it open at night. Also, ask for a room which is in the back corridor because the front row rooms' doors face the lobby area and are noisy during breakfast. It's an atrium type building, so all the floors would have this problem, not just the first floor. Other than that, there were no problems. The staff was very nice and allowed us to check out late. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annageish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

We are appreciated your feedback and compliments to our hotel.

For any inconvenience during your stay, we are trying our best to solve those problems to make your future stay more comfortable.

Thank you & Best Regards,
Imm Hotel group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#94 of 394 in Chiang Mai
364 reviews
1.1 km away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#89 of 394 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
0.7 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
3 km away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#73 of 394 in Chiang Mai
191 reviews
0.1 km away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#130 of 394 in Chiang Mai
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai

Address: 17/1 Kotchasarn Road | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $49 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accessible accommodation for all comfort purposes. Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, under Imm Hotel Group, provides our signature comfort accommodation in a strategic location. Guests staying at Imm Hotel Thaphae can easily access Chiang Mai’s old walled city, Thaphae Gate. From the center of trading in the old days, Thaphae Gate is the area that has become the heart of Chiang Mai’s activities and festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing