We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION and great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Ranked #75 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Dumont, New Jersey
2 reviews
“GREAT LOCATION and great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great location to many local eateries, massage places, and is in the center of town so lots of nightlife right outside of your door. Breakfast and wi-fi included and concierge was great. I did Kanotoke dinner for traditional thai dinner, elephant trekking, white water and bamboo rafting, doi suthep (temple on the mountains), and tiger kingdom. We did night markets which was literally across the street from the hotel. Another night we were walking into the center of town ~5-10 walk and we stumbled upon a muay thai fight. The whole experience was great in chiang mai. Don't miss the elephant camps were you get to see elephants actually paint. I missed it but will definitely return to see this.


The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. I would return to this hotel. Although the rooms are very small and beds are on the harder side and there were mosquitos in our room upon arrival. You get what you pay. There's no swimming pool at this premises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickib206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCorporateOffice, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location and concierge.

For the problem of mosquito, we are solving the problem and sorry for your inconvenient.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    193
    111
    27
    16
See reviews for
67
115
78
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
283 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is larger than it looks from the outside and the rooms (on 3 levels) are built around an atrium area where reception is and breakfast is served. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was away from the atrium with a wall between us, but we could still hear a lot of noise from the breakfast & reception area. The whole place is tiled so it is like an echo chamber. It started with plates clattering around 6am when they were setting up and got louder from there. In addition we got a lot of noise from activities outside the hotel at night ie: local nightclubs/bars and live music at ThaPae.
The rooms themselves are not too small but the bathroom was pokey and the hot water didn't really work. The handbasin was outside the bathroom (but towel rails inside so not convenient). The bathroom also had a frosted glass door - not nice if you are using the basin and someone is in the bathroom. This has been done to let some light into an otherwise window-less room (from the tiny window in the room itself). Also many mosquitoes in the room. The decor is minimalist but all quite new. On the plus side the beds were very clean and comfortable (only singles) and there was a safe in the room and convenient keyless entry. The was a small flatscreen TV and good lighting over the bed for reading with a switch next to the bed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was quite adequate for the standard. Note that there is no lift so you must carry bags up the steep stairs.
This hotel is a good basic choice and fair value. There is everything for the tourist on the doorstep (including a 24hrs McDonalds on site) but don't stay if you expect to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor next to the breakfast area-too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location, value for money and comfortable beds.

Regarding any inconvenience during your stay, we have forwarded this to the hotel management for improvement.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The location is brilliant - short walks to all the main attractions.

The hotel is modern, with clean modern rooms with everything you need.

Breakfast has all the basics - coffee/tea/pastries/toasts/eggs etc and is included

Staff are super helpful and their is a tour desk in the hotel

I would recommend for anyone who has the hotel feeling without paying too much.

We paid around €24 per night

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms that are facing the back which are quieter than ones facing the breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayfromreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments.

We are appreciated your compliments on our hotel and your room tip for room selection.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've stay in this hotel for more than 2 years during my trips but recent trip was disappointing. The noise from a newly open nearby pub was just unbearable...it goes on till past midnight...but this hotel was generally good for the price and location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Imm Hotel Group at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments us.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel is very well located: right across the old town gates, but the windows don't face the busy road. 10-15 minute walk to the Night Market. Also easy to see on the map because there is a McDonalds in the same building.
The room was spacious and clean. What we didn't like was a small window on the side which didn't give much light, and no mosquito net so we couldn't keep it open at night. Also, ask for a room which is in the back corridor because the front row rooms' doors face the lobby area and are noisy during breakfast. It's an atrium type building, so all the floors would have this problem, not just the first floor. Other than that, there were no problems. The staff was very nice and allowed us to check out late. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annageish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are appreciated your feedback and compliments to our hotel.

For any inconvenience during your stay, we are trying our best to solve those problems to make your future stay more comfortable.

Thank you & Best Regards,
Imm Hotel group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#66 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
0.1 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#147 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#114 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.8 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#55 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.0 km away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai

Property: Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Address: 17/1 Kotchasarn Road | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $35 - $74
Hotel Class:3 star — Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accessible accommodation for all comfort purposes. Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, under Imm Hotel Group, provides our signature comfort accommodation in a strategic location. Guests staying at Imm Hotel Thaphae can easily access Chiang Mai’s old walled city, Thaphae Gate. From the center of trading in the old days, Thaphae Gate is the area that has become the heart of Chiang Mai’s activities and festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing