We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$77
US$69
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$49
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$420
US$306
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$97
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
809
151
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
151
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial stylevintage mercedesnakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetturn down serviceour honeymoontuk tukold citycommon areastour desk
Filter
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Ping Nakara was the first stop on our Thailand honeymoon in December 2011 - we spent 4 nights there as we explored Chiang Mai and the surrounding areas.

Conveniently located within easy walking distance of the night markets, temples and central Chiang Mai, the hotel is elegant and immaculate throughout. The staff were pleasant and helpful whenever called upon,

Could not recommend this place enough

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanmilanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is full of little details that make it a really special boutique hotel. Large & well designed rooms, excellent meals, and a pool that's a nice oasis from the busy streets of Chiang Mai. (I'd like to see a coffee table and larger bedside tables in the rooms...but it didn't compromise my comfort).
It is located on a fairly busy street that can be noisy in the morning. Fortunately the rooms are well designed to block all that out. But it can be a bit disconcerting that first morning after such a quiet and peaceful sleep to open that outer door. My fellow friends who travel through Asia a lot took no exception to this. The pool, restaurant, etc are all well sheltered from the noise/street.
The location makes it an easy walk to the night market, restaurants, and old city. And if your feet give out, it's never more than about $3 CDN to get anywhere by Tuk Tuk.
Highlights of my stay here? - the staff: I felt genuinely uplifted with every encounter. They are attentive, gracious, and humble. This could be said about many of the Thai people but the staff here never failed me. One night we had the 'taste of Thailand' for dinner in the restaurant and loved it! Every dish was delicious, and plenty of variety too. And finally, the hotel itself...it truly transports you to another era with all the comforts of today.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

LOCATION: As of November 2012, the Ping Nakara Hotel provides round trip airport transfers free of charge if the room booking is made by e-mailing the hotel directly. Booking through the hotel’s own website is not eligible. The hotel driver provided a courteous, smooth 15-minute ride from the airport. Ping Nakara is located a short 7-minute walk to the Night Bazaar. There are not many taxis in Chiang Mai. Though the hotel can book one for you, the waiting time can sometimes be rather long. If you are not a big fan of tuk-tuk, a chauffeured car can also conveniently be arranged at the hotel for THB 1000 for a 4-hour service.

HOTEL: Less than a smooth check-in. Only one staff manning the front desk and she clearly had problem keeping her cool. Right after stepping into the hotel lobby, I was greeted by a rather harsh “Good morning. Please, wait it the waiting room.” Though there were also another staff at the nearby information desk and two more tending the bar, none seemed to bother bringing a glass of water for a waiting guest. After a long, awkward wait, I decided to go back to the reception and raise my concern with the lack of information and hospitality. Ping Nakara is a small hotel, and I do not expect an early check-in, but since I have business to tend to that morning, a more efficient dialog from the staff would have been much appreciated.

(Royal Grand Deluxe Room): Generous size room. Nicely decorated. Functional lay-out. Effective, quiet air-conditioning. Very good bed and comfortable pillows. Good size bathroom. The shower provided intermittent low shower water pressure and hot water.
Attentive and courteous breakfast staff served a rather bland breakfast, except for the pancakes, which were delicious.

Fast, courteous check-out.

CONCLUSION: Staff are polite and courteous, especially the hotel driver. Ping Nakara could easily have got a five-star review if not for the botched check-in and the sub-par shower.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry that your check-in experience was not as happy as you would have liked. We usually have enough staff at the front, but unfortunately that day several guests were in hurry to checkout and get to the airport (though, our checkout process was very fast as you had mentioned). We must say that this situation is rare, since we have only 19 exclusive rooms and normally guests do not incidentally show up at the same time. We apologize that we kept you waiting for a few minutes, and you raise a good point in that we should have waitpersons to assist when things get overloaded. We will implement that now.

Re the shower water, after thoroughly checking, we could not find any problem with the water pressure. As we have a computer water pressure control system, it may have malfunctioned during your usage. However, we didn’t hear about the issue from other rooms during that period. Still, we have checked out the computer to confirm that it is working properly to control the pressure.

Your comments mean a lot to us as we are constantly striving to make the Ping Nakara a world-class destination for our guests. I hope you will return someday and will make sure the shower is fine for you.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely service.

Although the hotel is only 3 years old, the design and workmanship transports you to a colonial era.

At check-in you are welcomed to tea in a sitting room. The bedrooms are spacious and elegant. The spa was a delightful experience in service quality. The breakfast was plentiful and diverse given the boutique hotel size.
It is a 5 minute walk to the night market.

Thanks for a great time.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoseMHern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at Ping Nakara Hotel & Spa in October 2012 in room 210. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom had a lovely deep bathtub and a separate shower. Extras like the free minibar and coconut caramels in the room were a lovely touch and much appreciated. Breakfast was included in the rate and with buffet and menu choices everyone was happy. Our late-night checkin was handled efficiently and staff were helpful at all times. The building is lovely, and the grounds are immaculate. Our only regret is that our stay was too short - we will definitely return to Ping Nakara.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soozziiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews