We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$137
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$121
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$508
US$395
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
US$353
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
22
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinewalking distancefridgetvtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

While Penny's place is located outside of the walls of the old city and so is a little bit of a distance from town I cannot recommend it enough. Taxi's and tuk tuks are readily available for around 100baht and the distance is even walkable. Plus the benefits of Penny's Place more than make up for this minor inconvenience to some.

For starters, Penny's Place is really cheap. We payed 500Baht per night for an airconditioned room, which worked out to 250 Baht per person. This is less than we have payed for some guesthouses. The accommodation was always clean and really good for it's price, with fresh water a fridge, comfortable beds, television and a large bathroom (yes you do have to go onto the balcony to access the bathroom, but in warm weather one step outside won't hurt).

However what really sells this place is the service. From the start Stephanie was super nice to us. She recommended some activities for us, setting us up with a cooking school and ziplining, both of which she had tried herself. After each activity she would ask us how it went, seeming to really care whether or not we enjoyed it, and she was often full of other helpful advice, trying to negotiate cheap taxi's for us and everything. We were allowed to leave our luggage there for an overnight trip and returned to find it safe, and with many questions about our experience, genuine interest questions too. In fact, she even asked if we needed her to ring the location of the trip when the van to pick us up was late in the morning. She also made sure we felt welcome to use the complimentary tea and coffee services, and the breakfast, even bringing us over some of the delicious biscuits that they supplied free of charge.

Before leaving we were each given a little keyring from Stephanie that were adorable, a token of our stay that will always remind us of the wonderful time we had there. It is hard to imagine how any hotel on this trip will live up to the fantastic experience that was Penny's Place. Book this place and you won't be disappointed, as Stephanie and her husband will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011 during our time in Chiang Mai. I can't speak highly enough of this place.
- The rooms were very reasonably priced. They were very clean and all of the utilities (hot water, A/C, refridgerator, etc.) worked great.
- There was free, very fast, Wi-Fi in the room.
- There is also complimentary breakfast along with coffee and snacks available throughout the day.
- The staff was exceptionally pleasant and assisted us with any questions about tours and the area.
- The location was perfect for us. It was very peaceful, but still within a 5-10 minute walk of the Chiang Mai walls (center of town).

I would certainly recommend this place to any future travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzoom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were a bit overwhelmed when looking for a guesthouse in Chiang Mai - there are SO MANY! We finally settled on Penny's Place and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

PROS
- great value for the money
- incredibly helpful service
- clean rooms
- good A/C and TV (English channels)
- free fast wi-fi

CONS (not really cons but considerations)
- it's a bit outside the city center but this actually worked out for us because we rented a scooter for $5/day (the best way to see Chiang Mai) and rode around the city all day. With a scooter this guesthouse way very convenient
- the bathroom is located outside if the room, on the balcony in an enclosed space. This was a bit weird to get used to but after the 1st day it wasn't a big deal at all

Stephanie, the owner, went out of her way to help us out with out with our airport transportation and scooter rental. She also helped us find a waterproof travel pouch and didn't charge us for it....really I can't say enough about how welcome they made us feel and how helpful they were. Great value for your money!!!!

Room Tip: We got a great rate via email, contacting Stephanie directly
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeziaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My friends and I found Penny’s Place on trip advisor. Rooms are super clean, spacious, bright and quiet.
Staffs are nice and friendly, who also speak perfect English. When we need their advices about sightseeing, shopping and massage, they always recommend us the best values. Even Penny’s Place is not in the old city, it is good for the travellers to really enjoy the local life and local food. We highly recommend Penny’s Place to the one who is going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimchangi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We chose Penny's because we wanted to stay a bit away from the tourist hordes and liked that it was not in the old city. We were fine with walking into town and we rented a motorbike for next to nothing a few of the days we were here, which made getting around a breeze. What we didn't realize is that we would rarely even feel like venturing into town since we could take the short walk to the Nimman Road area, where there are loads of trendy shops, cafes and restaurants that were not so touristy - and one of the places we enjoyed the most was a bakery/cafe about a minute walk from Pennys!

The rooms are totally modern and comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by Penny's great cleaning staff. Stephanie and her husband provided great service, booking the motorbike, a cooking class for us, a taxi to the bus station and just giving general advice and assistance whenever we needed it.

We booked for a couple of days and ended up staying a week because we felt so at home here. We just arrived home after 3 more months of travel and I unpacked the little gifts Stephanie gave us when we departed and was instantly brought back to their wonderful hospitality. When in Chiang Mai, this is the only place we'll stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be great value!
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piccolodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews