We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penny's place the place to stay when in ChiangMai”
Review of Penny's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penny's Place
Ranked #243 of 809 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2012

great rooms for a very affordable price!
you can reserve online
staffs are so friendly and nice!
free wi-fi :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Staff helpful but bathrooms are out on the verandah so you have to open the door go outside into the bathroom. When door is open then all the mosquitoes come in. Across the road is a lady who washed your hair and blowdrys it straight for only 80 bht she does a great job so we always tipped her she massages your head really well you could fall asleep. She also sells lovely clothes. Down the road is a 711 which is very close and then the bakery is a little futher down the road which makes great coffees and has yummy sweet food. You don't have to walk far to grab a tuk tuk going pass. Only two people could stay in one room no good for a family staying here as you would need two rooms. Hard to get luggage up the flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Unbelievably affordable price accomodation equipped with a/c, hot shower. card reader access to guest quarter. comfortably large bed, great hospitality, complimentary light breakfast available to start your day instead of going out with empty stomach. Reasonably convenient neighbourhood with 7-11 and night food stalls nearby.Speak fluent english & chinese. Giving handy travel tips & advice. Not luxurious, but simple and pleasant. :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YP_Ooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very spacious clean rooms with TV and very nice and helpful staff.
Free tea and coffee available in reception. The bathroom is accessed via the balcony which I wasn't too keen on but was clean, a good size and perfectly functional.
However the location was a bit too far out from the centre for me. It was walkable but took about 30 minutes into the centre although you can of course get a tuk tuk or songthaew although one night we struggled to get one into town.
There are some restaurants nearby but not many with a menu in English.
It was raining heavily on our last night there and we decided to stay local for dinner. I would recommend a small restaurant that although they spoke very little English did have an English menu. The food was excellent, staff were friendly and it was very cheap. Can't remember the name but turn right out of the hotel then turn left down the last road before the main road at the bottom. It's a few doors down on the righthand side.
Overall a nice hotel if you don't mind being out of the centre.

Room Tip: low floor as no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trayolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

While Penny's place is located outside of the walls of the old city and so is a little bit of a distance from town I cannot recommend it enough. Taxi's and tuk tuks are readily available for around 100baht and the distance is even walkable. Plus the benefits of Penny's Place more than make up for this minor inconvenience to some.

For starters, Penny's Place is really cheap. We payed 500Baht per night for an airconditioned room, which worked out to 250 Baht per person. This is less than we have payed for some guesthouses. The accommodation was always clean and really good for it's price, with fresh water a fridge, comfortable beds, television and a large bathroom (yes you do have to go onto the balcony to access the bathroom, but in warm weather one step outside won't hurt).

However what really sells this place is the service. From the start Stephanie was super nice to us. She recommended some activities for us, setting us up with a cooking school and ziplining, both of which she had tried herself. After each activity she would ask us how it went, seeming to really care whether or not we enjoyed it, and she was often full of other helpful advice, trying to negotiate cheap taxi's for us and everything. We were allowed to leave our luggage there for an overnight trip and returned to find it safe, and with many questions about our experience, genuine interest questions too. In fact, she even asked if we needed her to ring the location of the trip when the van to pick us up was late in the morning. She also made sure we felt welcome to use the complimentary tea and coffee services, and the breakfast, even bringing us over some of the delicious biscuits that they supplied free of charge.

Before leaving we were each given a little keyring from Stephanie that were adorable, a token of our stay that will always remind us of the wonderful time we had there. It is hard to imagine how any hotel on this trip will live up to the fantastic experience that was Penny's Place. Book this place and you won't be disappointed, as Stephanie and her husband will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
5.4 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.5 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
688 reviews
7.2 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,157 reviews
4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
3.4 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place

Address: 53 Santisuk Rd., Changpheuk, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 809 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $20 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing