We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Chiang Mai, Thailand”
Review of Penny's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penny's Place
Ranked #247 of 824 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I always stay at Penny's when visiting Chiang Mai. Not only it's fabulous value for money, fresh towels every day, 2 bottles of free water and spotless bathroom and room, and your room is cleaned every day. Stephanie and Pete in reception are fabulous to deal with, even if I can't get in because it's fully booked, Stephanie will put me on the list if there is a cancellation, which there always it. It's walking distance to the big shopping centres, and you can easily get a red Songtoes (like a taxi but a lot cheaper, it's only 20baht around the old square and from the big shopping center. Plenty of hot water in the shower also and a baby fridge.

Room Tip: Second and third floor are rented rooms, try to get the back end of the Guest House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyatt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Clean and friendly place. Great offer for the cost. Bathroom inside the bedroom. Great customer service. Easy to buy tickets to the attractions.
Important- they don't accept credit cards there, so take your money before go there.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I checked in for four days upon arrival whilst searching for longer term accommodation. The prices are great at 350 for a fan room and 430 for a/c. The rooms are large, with a neat setup where the bathroom (also large) is located on the balcony. My room on the fourth floor had almost uninterrupted views to Doi Suthep. The entry is lovely with polished marble and Lanna style wood panelling. Rooms are tiled and have wooden furnishings with large king size form mattresses (I like firm). The hosts speak fluent English and there is plenty of undercover scooter parking. There is also a great local Thai restaurant up the street - always busy (a good sign). My only point deduction is because my room had no chair (though it does have a desk) and there is no lift.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to Doi Suthep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean and budget place to stay, Penny's place will be a good choice. Although it is not located in the down town but close to Maya Department and Centeral World. Also easy to access to Niamman road where has lots of attrative shops running by local artists. Besides, the lady owner can help with arranging airport shuttle service with reasonal price.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank jkuo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I spent my first month of my 3 month Asia trip living in Chiang Mai and working at a church down the road from this place. I rented a room for a month, with my own TV, Fridge, Aircon & Bathroom for around $120 Aus + Electricity cost me maybe $50 for the month (you pay that separately so if you dont use much, its even cheaper). Great room, super clean and modern interior.
I was so overwhelmed with how lovely the staff were, the front desk is there to help if you need them, and its such a great location. 50m down the road is a cafe, multiple places to eat (which all my Aussie local friends showed me and are safe to eat at) and its only a short walk from the markets, and a 3 minute Tuktuk ride from the City.
Its right around the corner from the Grand View Hotel (A massive landmark for all tuktuk drivers) so it made getting home easy as you just tell them to take you there and direct down the last 2 streets.

I was a 18 year old solo female traveller and I always felt safe and secure. 7/11 is right across the road too. Washing machines available and anything you might want, just ask the front desk.

Overall best place if you are thinking of staying in Chiang Mai long term! I have heaps of friends who have lived there for 6 months at a time, so a definite recommend.

Room Tip: There are rooms with either fans or aircons, so just specify what you would like. Hint. Fans are che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
5.4 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
955 reviews
0.5 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
7.2 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,205 reviews
6.7 km away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#382 of 824 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place

Address: 53 Santisuk Rd., Changpheuk, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 824 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing