We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home feeling in Traditional and luxurious stay in Chian May centre”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #7 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Excellent place to relax in this wonderfully quiet environment in the centre of Chiang Mai. You have all the luxuries you need and are welcomed by Orn who makes you feel at home right away.
Private terraces and lovely traditional rooms but also an opportunity to connect with other guests. Bicycles offered.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge-Huijbrechts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 279 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have never felt the need to write a review on Tripadvisor for any of the hotels we have ever stayed in...but BaanBooLoo really is the most special of guesthouses. We stayed here for 3 nights this November and everything was just perfect. Great location and so easy to get around. The 'Open air style Lanna' is exactly what you expect. What really makes BaanBooLoo special though is the fact that you are really made to be part of the family. Orn is the friendliest of hosts, and could not have done more for us (including a great one to one cooking course), and really made us understand the true Thai life, including taking us to the temple for conversation with a local buddhist monk. All in all a really special and fantastic stay and could not praise it more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msangricoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Wow! BaanBooLoo far exceeded our expectations - not only was our host, Orn, the most lovely and welcoming host we had ever come across, but the guesthouse itself was amazing. Orn made a point of us being part of the family during our four night stay, and we most certainly did feel like this. The layout of the property is set in a traditional thai way of living, with the owners themselves having built and crafted the property and the furniture within.
Orn, our host, was always too happy to help with our queries, and provided us with attention when we required it. The property is located only a short walk to the main hub of Chiang Mai, but you wouldn't even realise it as it is so peaceful. If you are interested in a cooking class in Chiang Mai, we highly recommend Orn's friend Mae for this, and take the extra time to do the class at the farm - this was a fantastic day.
If you want an authentic thai stay with a luxurious touch, then we cannot recommend BaanBooLoo enough - it is truly a magical place and we are so grateful for other trip advisor members for their awesome feedback.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Mac_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Baan Boo Loo is located in the centre of Chiang Mai, close to one of the main Wats. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon as we had been advised that the nearby Sunday street market was well worth a visit. We can certainly confirm that this is the case - it seems to stretch for about half a mile, with a wide variety of foods, clothes, gifts etc. Unfortunately it did rain, but then we were travelling in the rainy season - and anyway the rain was warm. What was amazing was how quiet the area was on the next day: as if the market had never been there. Despite being so central, the area around Baan Boo Loo is remarkably quiet and peaceful.
Baan Boo Loo itself is beautiful, displaying a rustic Thai charm with enough western comforts (such as air conditioning) to satisfy this traveller. Orn, the manager, has excellent English and was always eager to help and give advice. We met a lovely couple on their final night, who recommended the flight of the gibbon zip-wire attraction. We can confirm that this is an excellent exciting adventure (if a little scary) - the highlight of our holiday.

Room Tip: I imagine the upstairs room with an outside bathroom would be fun during the hot and dry season - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Baanbooloo is a very special place with outstanding service. It offers a relaxed , warm and welcoming atomosphere . This was a once in a lifetime experience for me. Our stay started with pickup at the airport(fee) and a welcoming beverage and snack. We had to arrive a day early and they gladly accommodated us. We were very lucky to have had the opportunity to stay in 3 rooms , all different but great and unique. I must say My daughter and I loved the "Tree house". We felt so relaxed and slept so well. They were all decorated nicely and very clean. They moved our bags and things for us while we were out and that was really nice.
It was nice to have wifi in our rooms that was a bonus.
The staff was all very helpful and friendly. Orn and her staff all made us feel like this was our home. We had use of the kitchen and the fridge if we wanted. We had a wonderful breakfast made for us everyday. Even the day we had to leave very early Orn came and made our breakfast for us before we had to leave. We used her familes services to take us on a day trip and for gettting around town. That was so great and worry free. We were very close to everything we wanted to get . We walked to many places . The stafff was so helpful and friendly.
I felt so peaceful and relaxed during my stay and when I left Baanbooloo and was sad to leave. Thank you to everyone for making us all feel so welcome and sharing your culture and home with us.

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
802 reviews
0.7 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,476 reviews
5.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#10 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
1.5 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
2.8 km away
Amata Lanna
Amata Lanna
#14 of 801 in Chiang Mai
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $207 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing