We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Northern Thai”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #8 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Baanbooloo is the kind of guesthouse that makes you just want to laze around and not mind not being out. Even my two teenagers enjoy this place so much. We love the rustic wooden houses with tasteful Thai interior decoration and furnishings. Very clean, relaxing, peaceful environment yet convenient to everywhere. Most importantly, Orn, who manages this place, is very friendly and helpful. She has a great team. They really take care of the property. We feel so at home and well taken care of. It beats staying in a typical hotel anytime. Our family vacation in Chiangmai has been made more authentic, more memorable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snoopy877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 274 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

We travelled with our 6 childrew aged from 2 to 9. BaanBooLOo was perfects for everyone. Fantastic home, beautiful peopl and great location in the centre of the old city. Such a contrast from the 5 star resorts and so much more memorable/enjoyable.

BaanBooLOo is a luxury authentic Thai home, it's amazing. Adisak and Orn look after our every need. From meals, to day trips, to local sites and history + traditional Thai activities. We loved every minute, made some lovely friends and hope to get back one day soon.

Room Tip: Be sure to take DotCookThai cookery class based at BaanBooLOo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I keep coming back to BaanBooLoo. I visit from Bangkok to Chiang Mai several times a year and have stayed at BaanBooLoo each trip for a couple of years. For me it provides the perfect mix of quiet, rustic retreat with convenient, city centre neighbourhood. There are so many cafes and temples and restaurants and shops within a short walk, including the Sunday Walking Street market.
I have stayed in different seasons and seen the garden grow and the guesthouse expand to three buildings. Because the number of possible guests isn’t high, there is plenty of space, with private outdoor areas attached to most of the rooms I’ve tried. But it’s also easy to make friends with fellow guests if you like.
The butler-style way the guesthouse is run also makes it feel very personal. Khun Orn is always helpful and charming, somehow managing to be unobtrusive yet easily available. Her breakfast is a bit different each day, with local delicacies fresh from the market supplementing the fresh eggs, toast, fruit and proper coffee. And her home cooed meals are also really tasty.
The architecture has a nice retro feel of old wood and layout, but with new style and proportions. The way the stilt houses are set up gives a taste of traditional northern Thai semi-outdoor living. That’s not for everyone, but I feel the authenticity makes my trip so much more stimulating and memorable. The converted rice barn is like a charming treehouse adventure, but less enclosed than other rooms; it’s a matter of picking a room that suits your tastes.
I enjoy the different spaces and how they change during the day and night. On business visits I’ve often got computer work done in the cool area under the house. It has good free wifi and all mod-cons, despite the rural feel. The wooden bolts, open-air bathrooms, shoes-off teak decks, mosquito nets and monks’ chanting from the nearby temples give a real sense of place. I feel I’m really in Lanna when I stay at BaanBooLoo.

Room Tip: Rooms have varying amount of outdoor areas, some with big open air bathrooms. Some may be happy unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Baan BooLoo is the fantastic guest house. i ever stayed. I enjoy every minutes there and the scenary make me feel calm and fresh. The room is awesome!!! very comfortable and the guest house host is so welcome and generous. Staying there make me feel so worried-free. if i have a chance , i will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siwanuch2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and wish we stayed more. Orn is a spectacular host and has a great team behind her. I booked this place to try and get a feel for Thai tradition and we did. We learned about the thai culture, food and way of life. Ive stayed at many different places all around the world and this one is at the top. Cant say enough about Orn and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trump23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
808 reviews
0.7 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,480 reviews
4.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
1.5 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
250 reviews
1.5 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $218 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing