We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at BaanBooLoo”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #7 of 805 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at BaanBooLoo for 3 nights just after New Years in the Baan Lek upper room. The room was spectacular and we LOVED the open air bathroom. Breakfast was fabulous and VERY filling each morning. We were able to book a trek and city tour through the Guest House and both were fantastic. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at BaanBooLoo while in Chiang Mai. The Sunday market is also just around the corner, so if you can, don't miss it.

Thank you BaanBooLoo for a fabulous stay and for the most beautiful, clean, and unique accommodations we had during our trip to Thailand.

Room Tip: The Baan Lek room is beautiful although it is the closest to the alley. It can get a little noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamond0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 273 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

We staying here over new year 2011/12 with our 3 children and could not have been happier , the staff , especially Pi Orn were amazing and to stay in such a beautiful unique house really made us feel like we had stepped back in time and were experiencing the ''real Thailand'' of days gone by , thank you Pi Orn we will see you again one day !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uncletravelingmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and myself stayed at BaanBooLoo for 4 nights in December 2011. Our host Orn's hospitality was amazing and we really felt like home at her place. She took care of everything - trips, laundry etc. The cooking course with Orn was one of most memorable experience we have had! Worth trying! If you would like to experience something different than a big crowdy tourist hotel, this is definitively the right choice!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My partner and I had a lovely stay at Baan Boo Loo. The host Orn was so kind and went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. I arrived with the flu and felt pretty awful but instead of feeling homesick I felt like I was taken care of as well as my mum would have looked after me. Orn made a lovely tea for my throat, arranged transport to the hospital, arranged a massage, our tours when I felt better, food when I felt too sick to leave the room. We also attended a private cooking class with Orn which was fantastic!!! She showed us how to make 3 lovely dishes and later forwarded us (via email) these recipes plus several more.
The room was also amazing, i think it was called the Bao Sao room. It had a beautiful outdoor bath, lovely big bed and also aircon and a fan. The grounds of Baan Boo Loo are also lovely! so beautiful and green! a fantastic getaway after our few days in Bangkok.
I hope to come back to Baan Boo Loo and have recommended it to friends and family!
I honestly cant say a bad word about it.
Thanks so much Orn! You made what could have been a terrible few days with a bad flu, into lovely memorable days.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We just returned from five nights at the Baan Boo Loo Guesthouse and are still marveling at how much we enjoyed it. Um and her family treated us as guests in her own home, tending to our every need. My father stayed behind one day and Um took the time to bring him snacks and make lunch. She let my 13 year old niece help with flower arranging and oversaw the delicious breakfast that was served each day. She made all the arrangements for our zip lining and elephant day trips, as well as transportation whenever we needed it. The trip to the local market and cooking class was memorable. Um was patient with our varying levels of skill and able to explain how the many different ingredients work together to create the flavors of the dishes as well as the process for preparing each.
The grounds are lovely, with many places to relax. Each of the rooms has a spacious outside area with seating. The rooms are comfortably rustic with teak floors, large wardrobes and comfortable beds. Two of our three baths had outside showers, which we found refreshing. The bedding and towels are high quality.
I would absolutely recommend the Baan BooLoo to anyone who wants to stay in a traditional Thai setting. If you are looking for luxurious five star accommodations with TV, this probably isn't your place. If you are looking for a memorable experience with outstanding personal service where you feel like you are part of the family, don't hesitate to make your reservation. My 75 year old father summed it up best: "This is one of the nicest places I've ever been!"

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetsyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 393 in Chiang Mai
822 reviews
0.7 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,492 reviews
5.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 805 in Chiang Mai
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 805 in Chiang Mai
124 reviews
1.5 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#8 of 805 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
6 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 805 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $208 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing