We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cosy and welcoming place!”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #7 of 829 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed in BaanBooLOoin March and I must say it was a great choice. First of all, it was really well located as not right in the busy centre but at walking distance of it.

Breakfast was the best one I had in Thailand. It was different every day and fruit were ripe and fresh, which was not the case in all the hotels I stayed in later during my trip.

The room was very original in the Thaï style, and very comfortable with a good fan and mosquito nets. It was a pleasure to wake up with the birds singing in all the surrounding trees.

But the cherry on the cake was the owner and staff. I was travelling alone and being welcomed by the Banbaloo team was really great. They made me feel at ease and safe from the first day. They not only took good care of me but also of my baby :-) I was one month pregnant when I arrived there with a few nausea and pregnancy inconveniences. Every day I received different fruit for breakfast, plus fresh coconut milk as the owner told me it is said to be very good for the baby in Thailand :-)

On my last night, I had dinner with the staff and they blew a Thaï balloon, which is to whish health and luck for the baby. I was crying with emotions as I felt it was so kind of them.
So, all in all, if you want a cosy place with a family feeling and a kind staff, don't hesitate a minute!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 236 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Well I stayed here for 2Nights and I can honestly say that my stay was so beautiful pleasant and comfortable and found the rooms clean and staff helpfull and friendly. the , the location was great and would recommend this place. Its definatly a must place to stay and a very cultural experiance to stay loved it here

Room Tip: Its a beautiful place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillingoutthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Orn and the staff at BaanBooLoo truly made our 8 night stay here the best place we stayed at in Thailand! The attention to detail and the level of service was outstanding! Nothing was ever to much trouble and we really felt at home!

The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. We loved the little touches like the fishbowl in the bathroom, the mosquito coils that were lit at night and other details.

The breakfasts were delicious, fresh fruits and eggs as well as lovely Thai dishes like banana and mango sticky rice parcels.

Our outings were arranged for us by Orn, days planned and we thoroughly enjoyed our two cooking lessons with her. She took the trouble to take us to a bookstore and find Thai cooking books, arranged our shopping trip to the umbrella village and just about everything else we wanted to do!

We could have all happily stayed there for a lot longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

BaanBooLoo was the highlight of trip around Thailand.

We weren't sure about what to expect when we got there but it was the most amazing experience we could have had and staying with the family there was just what we wanted.

We experienced things that none of our other friends had experienced and that was down to Orn, Adisak and Louis. We were taken to give offerings to the monks early in the morning and we had a blessing, we were taken to some of the best temples and we even went to a local restaurant and had a traditional Thai breakfast of herbs. Adisak and Louis also took us to see the 'Elephant Man' who made amazing wooden carvings of elephants. It was an experience that we would never have received in a standard hotel and all this was part of your stay and not charged for.

Orn, Adisak and Louis want you to feel like you are staying with family, they give you information and help when you need it and also give you space when you want it. We felt so comfortable.

Location
The guesthouse is situated right in the heart of the city just around the corner of Wat Pra Singh, we were so surprised that most things were on our doorstep. A lot of our newly made friends were quite jealous that we had such a convenient location but also that we had done so much unusual experience whilst there.

The Rooms

The rooms are amazing, each one has it's own design and were very luxurious. From outside you would never know the contents of each room in each treehouse, but each room had the wow factor. Some had 4 poster beds, others a very romantic outdoor bathroom, but all were as good as staying in a top class hotel (all with air conditioning).

As they are treehouses you really feel like you are sleeping under the stars, you can hear the wildlife, the gentle rustle of trees but you are in the most comfortable bed in the world.

There is a communal area where you can have a drink and the only rule is you replace what you take, or pay for it. This ensures that you aren't charged sky high prices like in a hotel.

I felt that they really cared about our stay, and that we had a great time and I was so sad to leave. Maybe next time I won't!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The honey moon suite was the most beautiful for us. Rooms at the from of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Simon and I stayed for one month in Orn, Lek, Boon and Tais wonderful place, and we had the time of our life. To wake up every morning to birds who sings and to go to sleep with the sound of gekkos ( wich I thought was a goat) is surtainly a breathtaking memory. In one month we got to know our new friends very well, and I have to say that we miss you all very much. We highly recommend to stay here for long term and perhaps try different rooms (wich we did). All the rooms have different styles and caracther but all were very beautiful. We stayed one night in the three top room without walls and it was so nice laying awake and listen to the sound of rain on the roof. We went on trips together with Orn, Lek and Boon, and really got to know thai style and culture in a way that we will never forget. We also had a wonderful masseuse Jazzy who gave really good massages and was so funny=) Not to forget wonderful breakfasts everyday, and the dinners that we shared together.
Thank you for giving us the time of our life. We felt that you all took so good care of us.We really hope that you all will come to visit us in Norway, you are welcome any time!!
Lots of love from Line and Simon

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Line1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 395 in Chiang Mai
857 reviews
4.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.5 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 829 in Chiang Mai
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 829 in Chiang Mai
732 reviews
1.5 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 829 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
0.9 km away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 829 in Chiang Mai
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $225 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing