We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #7 of 807 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at Baan Boo Loo twice on our visit to Thailand. The first time we stayed in the Baan Khao room, which is on an elevated platform and open air. It was like a very nice adult tree house. In the hotest season it might be a little warm for some people since there is no air conditioning. The second time we stayed in the Po Liang room, a very stylish room with air conditioning. Both rooms were very nice and creatively designed.

The breakfasts are a nice mix of western and Thai, and always include fresh fruit.

The location is hard for taxi drivers to find, as it is down a narrow alley behind a temple. But if you can tell them in advance when you are arriving and you are staying for more than a couple of days they will pick you up at the airport or bus station.

Baan Boo Loo is not an inexpensive place, but it is quiet and peaceful and like a bit of country in the city, and has rooms that are unique and well designed.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Canute_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 225 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Five family members took a whole lovely floor of 3 rooms upstairs in one of the teak houses. It was perfect for us, tropical outdoor showers and bath set in a lovely green garden. Orn, our host and manager organized a fantastic guide who took us to a group of hill tribe villages, to a day with the elephants, cooked delicious breakfasts, ran a cooking class for us, taking us to market, explaining all about the local herbs, spices, and amazing array of local foods.
Each evening the beautiful staff brought tea/coffe up to our huge deck, overlooking the shady banana trees. A 2 minute walk from famous Sunday walking street in the walled city of Chiang Mai, next to a large temple in a quiet lane way, this was a fabulous location and a memorable, quite special experience for our family.

Room Tip: Large double rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokJanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We spent one night at BaanBooLoo but everything from the check-in until the check-out was perfect.

Location: This hotel is perfectly located in Chiang Mai old town, in a pretty and quiet area.

The House & guestrooms: The house is beautiful and looks very authentic. Decoration is simple and well-balanced, with some colorfoul touches on the floors and on the walls. We stayed in the Executive Suite as we got an upgrade upon arrival and we appreciated the fact that it was not open air as for some other rooms. The bed is comfortable and the room is equiped with everything you need to feel home.

Breakfast: Lovely breakfast with some Thai specialities that I had never tried before (altough I visit Thailand every year). For exemple, we loved the "Thai doughnuts" that were soft and crispy at the same time.

Service: The owner is lovely and very attentive. We could not find our way to the hotel and she came all the way to Chiang Mai riverside to guide us to the hotel (at 9pm).

I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends and family and will return in near future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent for 4 nights there in one of Baan Boo Loo family suite. The place is very central, walking distance from everything, the lady who manages the place, Khun Orn, and her staff are great hosts, they went out of their ways to make us feel at home. They are very attentive to details, keen to help and very welcoming for children.
This is a great guest house, we highly recommend it and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was perfect. Due to us extending our days in Chiang Mai we had to switch rooms a couple of times. Each room was more impressive than the previous one! They were beautifully appointed and so very cozy, yet spacious. I loved the outdoor shower and tub! Om was more than helpful and exuded the Thai hospitality and charm. ExcursIons were booked, recommendations were made, and suggestions offered without a blink of an eye. The whole staff was amazing. It was definitely more than other places we stayed in Thailand but worth every baht! Thank you for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful! There were 3 in our group and the rooms were spacious enough to allow us r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowmu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 393 in Chiang Mai
823 reviews
0.7 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,494 reviews
5.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 807 in Chiang Mai
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 807 in Chiang Mai
126 reviews
1.5 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 807 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
6 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 807 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $207 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing