We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven - pure joy ”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #7 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We have spent 2 nights and 3 days here and it has been just perfect. Sitting in the communal area is blissful. Despite being in a busy central location you genuinely feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere surrounded by lush vegetation and the sound of the water feature.

Sure, if you want water tight, noise proof accommodation you might be a little frustrated - but this is a man made, lovingly restored tree house so there are bound to be a few leaks, creaks and noises but all four of us fell in love with it and appreciated it for all it's beauty.

Adi, his sister and Louis were so charming and helpful - you really felt part of their home - welcome guests (not hotel visitors).

We cannot compliment it highly enough.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LozBridge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaanBooLooVillage, permanent resident at BaanBooLOo Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Loz

So many thanks for your review. There are not many people who enjoy giving reviews as it can be a chore. Therefore the more we appreciate guests who take time out to express their experiences and take all feedback to heart. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back. We have made massive improvements lately and new photos are appearing on our website.

Warm regards to all your family on behalf of our Team here.

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Feel like home once you step in. Friendly staff. Very helpful. Lots of information could be obtain from the host. Green common area. Love the wooden house. The place is very environmental friendly. Hidden gem of Chiengmai! Definitely would come back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank woodyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is an amazing place to stay! It's like staying in a tree house. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The landscaping was beautiful. Best of all was the hospitality. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. We would go back to Chiang Mai just to stay at BaanBooLoo!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. I'm not sure you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_in_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

When we drove through the small alleyways of Chiang Mai's walled city, little did we know what awaited us at Baan BooLoo!

We were warmly greeted by the staff and made at home right away. We were offered freshly cut seasonal fruits in the main lobby area and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings.

We stayed in two rooms (one upper and one lower), both filled with beautiful wooden furniture and local art. We were delighted to find small amenities like refrigerators stocked with ice and water and a tea/coffee/biscuit station in our personal outdoor areas! At breakfast, the staff accommodated all of our eating preferences (one with shellfish allergy, one lactose intolerant, and one vegan). The food was delicious and meticulously plated- seriously photo-worthy!

The only reason I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because the first night we had many mosquitos and a water problem. I do have to say that the staff immediately remedied these problems once they knew of them - so probably, this is more our fault than theirs.

I highly recommend Baan BooLoo and look forward to visiting Adi, Pin, and staff again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DamascusCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed a total of 4 nights. Our first two nights were spent in the most recent room he has built. The bedroom is spacious! It has AC, a massive TV (not sure what languages are available since we never turned it on), and a safe. Off the bedroom is a balcony with a refrigerator, outdoor sink, fan and lounging area. The bathroom is a long space where all of the side widows can be opened. The roof covers everything until the very end where the shower is open. We had read some of the complaints about mosquitoes, but when he showed us to our room he reminded us to keep the doors to the bedroom shut and that would help to keep them out. We didn't see one mosquito in our bedroom the entire stay. Because the bathroom is open to the outside, you will see more out there. But, we never had an issue at all.

They were nice enough to keep our luggage for us, as we spent our 3rd night at Elephant Nature Park. A proper Elephant Sanctuary that everyone should visit!

On our return we were put in the very first house he built. Originally built to be his home, but he has yet to stay there. This has two separate toilets, an outdoor bathtub, outdoor shower, indoor shower, outdoor lounging area, mini fridge, safe, two AC units, a room with a daybed that is 400 yrs old that can be closed off from the other room, the regular bedroom, and decor from an old temple. Amazing! Again, the same warnings about mosquitoes, keep all of the doors and windows of your room shut, and you won't have any.

His sister was cooking when we were there, she is an amazing chef. Every breakfast was different. She had her own Thai restaurant for 12 yrs, until she decided to do something new. Everyone there was incredibly friendly and helpful. If you want something unique and personal, you should definitely stay here!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HighAltitudeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaanBooLooVillage, Owner at BaanBooLOo Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Khob Khun Kharb.

Thank you for be part of our family home.
We are looking forward you are back here with your family : )

Until then...
Best wishes,
Adisak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
807 reviews
0.7 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,479 reviews
4.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
1.5 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
250 reviews
1.5 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $216 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing