We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #263 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 14 June 2017

What a great hotel (although a little dated). From the friendliness of the reception staff right through to the cleaners! All very friendly and nothing is to much of an issue. Food is a little pricey for the service you get! But I did go for a bite to eat after 2pm. Hotel has a nice pool to chill by and a rooftop bar with great views of the city. 2 min from the night market and a abundance of shops and food outlets to satisfy most people.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room. Pigeons are a noisy pain on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear RedMancs,

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Pornping Towel Hotel and thank you most sincerely for your high praise.

We all hope to welcome you back

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

The hotel, even though not a new property is bang on the night market.
It helps the travellers to finish their day trips and come back to refresh and stroll the night market after dinner or go there for dinner.
Since the market is open till midnight and is not an expensive place, the hotel seems to offer value for money.
Breakfast is fair, can be better.
Staff are moderately polite, service is on the mean and rooms are big,nice and well maintained.

Room Tip: Don't choose the cheapest rooms...they are are the front building, with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SRamnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear SRamnath,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us.Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This place is situated very well. It's an easy walk to the markets, to inside the old walls etc. The breakfast buffet I thought was good whether for Asian or western style. The staff are nice and helpful. The place is a bit dated as evidenced by the corridors and rooms but that didn't bother me at all. Retro 70/80s without trying. Cheaper places can be had but not by much for this quality I'd say.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank willyddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear willyddog,

Many thanks for sharing your recent stay experience at Pornping Tower Hotel with others.

We sincerely appreciate it that you elected to stay with us around Chiang Mai.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Visited on a low tourists season. Was able to check in despite reaching very early in the morning. Corridors reek of old carpet smell which could get overwhelming at times. The hotel looks tired and show its age in alot of other areas. Rooms are not cold at all (we switched room thrice!) No doubt, it is priced at a very very affordable rate but i personally felt that a revamp is needed so as not to waste its strategical location (near to night bazaar). For now, i will not recommend this hotel to anyone, three are better ones around easily. Note: Hotel staffs are friendly but might prove to be difficult for non english travellers.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Manutd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Manutd L,
We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities.
We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and our modest rates reflect this. Regarding the English, We have beginning and advanced English training for our team. I hope this will improve English for the team.
I much regret that you did not give us a chance to prove that our services at Pornping Tower Hotel.
I look forward to discussing your comments further and please kindly contact me
Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

It is in dire need of some TLC and modernisation.It is a large hotel with a huge lobby.The staff are very friendly and helpful.large rooms, soft beds and the bathrooms clean.Close to the Night Bazaar market and still very centrally located to all the major attractions around town.Loh Kroh road.Anasarn market,Mai Ping river,Tapau gates and the Old City.At around the 1000 baht mark it is a good budget hotel but from the outside don't expect The Ritz.

Room Tip: I booked a double bed but got 2 singles.They did change after the first night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Jonno01,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us.Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#142 of 395 in Chiang Mai
155 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#75 of 395 in Chiang Mai
182 reviews
0.4 km away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#231 of 395 in Chiang Mai
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#212 of 395 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
2.2 km away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#71 of 395 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.4 km away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 395 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $42 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing