We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$396
US$305
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
US$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$366/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dusit Princess Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$101
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
52
139
147
61
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
139
147
61
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaar marketincluding breakfastrooftop bardeluxe roomsbreakfast buffetwalled citylocation is excellenthotel is locatednice poolmin walktuk tukold citypingkhunfurnishingsmidnightbathtub
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I feel bad honestly for being so negative because I feel sorry for the people that work at this hotel. There are plenty of good people who need their jobs, but ownership / management has let this hotel go to crap! The room was old and had mildew in the shower and bathroom. The carpets were filthy and need to be replaced not cleaned. They are beyond disgusting. The towels were frayed and too old which represents poor management and trying to milk this facility for every baht while putting nothing back into it.

The breakfast was terrible (no taste and cold) and the coffee was nasty. I tried it a second morning then went to McDonalds after that because it was that bad.

I gave this two stars because the people were nice and the location is perfect. I paid only 800 baht per night which is cheap but I believe the original price was 2,000 a night. Even at 800 I felt that the quality was pretty bad. We went in day trips which made it easier. My rate was non-refundable which is the only reason I stayed.

This is a classic example of a nice hotel where the ownership has never put any profits aside for upkeep and renovations. The workers are nice but you can tell they are not happy working there. They are kind to the patrons though. I recommend you stay away from here unless you are on a budget.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Finn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Finn1969,
We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities. 
 
It is indeed with much regret to note that you were not completely satisfied with our services & facilities. We do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. The mentioned matters will be shared with our team concerned for further improvement. 
 
Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

the stay was nice, grand entrance with staff waiting to take your bags wich was lovely as we come from jungle huts up in Pai.

on arrival in the room it was dusty and the seal and grout in bathroom was minging. pleasant room apart from that a little dated but for one night before catching a flight it is perfect.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Kim M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Pornping Towel Hotel.

At the outset, we are sorry to read about your comments with regards to your room and be assured that they have been addressed accordingly.

Please, feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to further assist you with. .

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

The lobby is big, impressive and promising. But seeing the room is a huge disappointment. It's outdated. There is stains on the rugs and it's muschy and you can smell the mold. But it's clean. The shower is good. And I have to admit that is the most comfortable bed I have slept in since I arrived to Thailand. The pillow is excellent. I tried to buy one when I checked out but they where out of stock at the moment since a lot of people buy the pillows. The pool is clean and nice but the environment is a little boring to look at. The breakfast is ok, the Asian sections seems to be the best one. There is toast, yoghurt, eggs and even an omelette chef but still there is something missing. The location is great though. It's right behind the night bazaar. Conclusion. If you don't mind the outdated interior and the smell of mold and are longing for a soft bed this is the place. Otherwise I would recommend other better low budget hotel that actually are cheaper and nicer. One more thing. The staff was very nice and helpful. My appointed room had a smell of cigarette smoke and when I complained about that they immediately upgraded me to another room.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank MtEverestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear MtEverestGirl,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Pornping Tower Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our values guests.
I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and our modest rates reflect this.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.
 
Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

A very pleasant & enjoyable 3 night stay in this very conveniently located hotel. From the moment we walked in, we were warmly welcomed by every staff member. A special thank you to Khun Tu of reception who went way beyond the call of duty to assure our every need was met. As well as the extra helpful & friendly service of Khun One at the rooftop venue of Blue Bat Restaurant/Bar. Which has an unobstructed 360 degree view of Chiang Mai.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Alex W,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased to read that our facilities and services had contributed to a memorable stay. Your review is valuable to us and will be shared with my associates to ensure that we continue to provide exceptional services and improve on areas which will make your next stay more memorable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

What a great hotel (although a little dated). From the friendliness of the reception staff right through to the cleaners! All very friendly and nothing is to much of an issue. Food is a little pricey for the service you get! But I did go for a bite to eat after 2pm. Hotel has a nice pool to chill by and a rooftop bar with great views of the city. 2 min from the night market and a abundance of shops and food outlets to satisfy most people.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room. Pigeons are a noisy pain on lower floors
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear RedMancs,

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Pornping Towel Hotel and thank you most sincerely for your high praise.

We all hope to welcome you back

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews