We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit like a Morrisey song...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #263 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I stayed here 15 years ago and I'm not sure very much has changed. Rooms are big but fairly old fashioned, if you voted Brexit you'l love it. Our air con took a day to kick in, the first night was baking hot and the 2nd I was freezing. There's a distinctive smell of the 1980s- Taggart chain-smoking in the Little Chef hallway perhaps? The swimming pool was decent though he staff were a bit grumpy (perhaps because it was raining, the guys indoors were friendly). Even on the 9th floor we could hear the night market bands beneath. Perhaps this is a bonus if your ears don't work, you aim to fall out of the hotel onto the food court, or you love Thai covers of Adele, but for those of us who would like to sleep without the stuff of nightmares - bring earplugs... (This review might be a bit harsh, the hotel really is ok and we'll worth what we paid for it, and the staff were lovely.)

Room Tip: Perhaps view away from the night market?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linzibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Linzibo,

Many thanks for your kind review. It is very much appreciated !

We are so glad that your stay second stay with us. The noise from The night market problem had been raise up to night market management team so they will try to reduce noise. The Hotel is on process to renovation soon. I hope that it will make you more satisfy when you come back for next trip.

Your comment will be shared and can assure you that our team members will be delighted.


Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I feel bad honestly for being so negative because I feel sorry for the people that work at this hotel. There are plenty of good people who need their jobs, but ownership / management has let this hotel go to crap! The room was old and had mildew in the shower and bathroom. The carpets were filthy and need to be replaced not cleaned. They are beyond disgusting. The towels were frayed and too old which represents poor management and trying to milk this facility for every baht while putting nothing back into it.

The breakfast was terrible (no taste and cold) and the coffee was nasty. I tried it a second morning then went to McDonalds after that because it was that bad.

I gave this two stars because the people were nice and the location is perfect. I paid only 800 baht per night which is cheap but I believe the original price was 2,000 a night. Even at 800 I felt that the quality was pretty bad. We went in day trips which made it easier. My rate was non-refundable which is the only reason I stayed.

This is a classic example of a nice hotel where the ownership has never put any profits aside for upkeep and renovations. The workers are nice but you can tell they are not happy working there. They are kind to the patrons though. I recommend you stay away from here unless you are on a budget.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Finn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Finn1969,
We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities. 
 
It is indeed with much regret to note that you were not completely satisfied with our services & facilities. We do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. The mentioned matters will be shared with our team concerned for further improvement. 
 
Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

the stay was nice, grand entrance with staff waiting to take your bags wich was lovely as we come from jungle huts up in Pai.

on arrival in the room it was dusty and the seal and grout in bathroom was minging. pleasant room apart from that a little dated but for one night before catching a flight it is perfect.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Kim M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Pornping Towel Hotel.

At the outset, we are sorry to read about your comments with regards to your room and be assured that they have been addressed accordingly.

Please, feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to further assist you with. .

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

The lobby is big, impressive and promising. But seeing the room is a huge disappointment. It's outdated. There is stains on the rugs and it's muschy and you can smell the mold. But it's clean. The shower is good. And I have to admit that is the most comfortable bed I have slept in since I arrived to Thailand. The pillow is excellent. I tried to buy one when I checked out but they where out of stock at the moment since a lot of people buy the pillows. The pool is clean and nice but the environment is a little boring to look at. The breakfast is ok, the Asian sections seems to be the best one. There is toast, yoghurt, eggs and even an omelette chef but still there is something missing. The location is great though. It's right behind the night bazaar. Conclusion. If you don't mind the outdated interior and the smell of mold and are longing for a soft bed this is the place. Otherwise I would recommend other better low budget hotel that actually are cheaper and nicer. One more thing. The staff was very nice and helpful. My appointed room had a smell of cigarette smoke and when I complained about that they immediately upgraded me to another room.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank MtEverestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear MtEverestGirl,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Pornping Tower Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our values guests.
I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and our modest rates reflect this.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.
 
Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

A very pleasant & enjoyable 3 night stay in this very conveniently located hotel. From the moment we walked in, we were warmly welcomed by every staff member. A special thank you to Khun Tu of reception who went way beyond the call of duty to assure our every need was met. As well as the extra helpful & friendly service of Khun One at the rooftop venue of Blue Bat Restaurant/Bar. Which has an unobstructed 360 degree view of Chiang Mai.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Alex W,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased to read that our facilities and services had contributed to a memorable stay. Your review is valuable to us and will be shared with my associates to ensure that we continue to provide exceptional services and improve on areas which will make your next stay more memorable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#141 of 395 in Chiang Mai
155 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#75 of 395 in Chiang Mai
182 reviews
0.4 km away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#216 of 395 in Chiang Mai
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#211 of 395 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
2.2 km away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#73 of 395 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.4 km away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 395 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $42 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing