We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - rooms need to be refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #263 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The location is great, close to night bazaar, markets, tourist hub etc. Rooms need to be refurbished to be competitive with other accommodation offered in the area.

Staff are helpful and genuinely try their best to assist hotel guest.

Breakfast needs to have more variety and is ok if you're there for a short stay.

Can be noisy at night with a band playing in the area. Although I was not bothered by the noise.

Room Tip: For quieter floors you need to be on higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear john D,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

I greatly appreciate your comments about breakfast. There will be more verity of western food and authentic north food in our line buffet. we continue to provide exceptional services and improve on areas which will make your next stay more memorable.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Position

You really could not get a better position in Chiang Mai, within 2 mins of the night market and all the surounding resturants and bars, also well known in Chiang Mai, whilst we were there we visited all over and never had any problem getting back to the hotel, also near the river and other markets. I have read previous reviews about noise from the market however all music has to finish by midnight and we never found it to noisy.

Facilities

Chiang Mai unsurprisingly is very hot and humid, having a lovely swiming pool is a lifesaver. The roof bar is a great experience and the bar at the front is great for a beer or a coffee.

Rooms

Whilst obviously a little dated, with large keys, a shower over the bath and somewhat dated decor, the rooms are large air conditioned and cleaned well everyday. The beds are huge and comfortable. Good free Wi Fi.

Breakfast

Lovely friendly staff and a good choice at breakfast, a lovely member of staff even got us a lovely special cup of tea every day.

Security

One of the reassuring things about the Pornping was the safety and security. Security guards on duty 24 hours a day, we felt very safe in this hotel.

Value

For around £20 a night the Pornping offers fantastic value a cental hotel with fab pool and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Lawrence M
Thank you very much for your review following your stay at Pornping Tower Hotel Chiang Mai. I am delighted to hear that your experience with us was wonderful in every regard.

I hope that it will not be too long before we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Mai again.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

All the other reviews that have that disappointed feeling in their reviews are correct. It's one of those rooms you book to sleep and mess around in. Not dirty but not clean it's so outdated it's laughable there is like one outlet to charge your phone and it's in the bathroom. So instead leave walk towards the market once u get to the open space take a left walk across the courtyard till ya hit the street turn left on the right side new boutique hotel think it's Night plaza it's AWESOME beautiful brand new no website as of July 2017 but great rooms try that instead

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Paul W,

We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities.

It is indeed with much regret to note that you were not completely satisfied with our services & facilities. We do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. The mentioned matters will be shared with our team concerned for further improvement.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

3 years since last visit and not much has changed. The hotel is still looking a bit tired but its cheap and very convenient for looking round Chiang Mai. Rooms are big and beds comfy. I had tea making facilities and free water which was unexpected. Showers good and there was a bath as well. Didn't have time for the pool but it looked good. Breakfast is ample and caters for all tastes. Lots of coach parties use this hotel due I suspect to its location. The night market which is a real experience is adjacent to the hotel. It rained one day and staff had no problem finding an umbrella to loan. Staff were really good and attentive. Wifi is good and free. So don't let the name put you off, its fine.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davie890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Davie890,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I am pleased that you choosed hotel for returning stay. Your great comments will be shared with our team and thank you once again for your compliments. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again to Pornping Towel Hotel soon


Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I stayed here 15 years ago and I'm not sure very much has changed. Rooms are big but fairly old fashioned, if you voted Brexit you'l love it. Our air con took a day to kick in, the first night was baking hot and the 2nd I was freezing. There's a distinctive smell of the 1980s- Taggart chain-smoking in the Little Chef hallway perhaps? The swimming pool was decent though he staff were a bit grumpy (perhaps because it was raining, the guys indoors were friendly). Even on the 9th floor we could hear the night market bands beneath. Perhaps this is a bonus if your ears don't work, you aim to fall out of the hotel onto the food court, or you love Thai covers of Adele, but for those of us who would like to sleep without the stuff of nightmares - bring earplugs... (This review might be a bit harsh, the hotel really is ok and we'll worth what we paid for it, and the staff were lovely.)

Room Tip: Perhaps view away from the night market?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linzibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Linzibo,

Many thanks for your kind review. It is very much appreciated !

We are so glad that your stay second stay with us. The noise from The night market problem had been raise up to night market management team so they will try to reduce noise. The Hotel is on process to renovation soon. I hope that it will make you more satisfy when you come back for next trip.

Your comment will be shared and can assure you that our team members will be delighted.


Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#140 of 395 in Chiang Mai
155 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#75 of 395 in Chiang Mai
182 reviews
0.4 km away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#230 of 395 in Chiang Mai
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#211 of 395 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
2.2 km away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#73 of 395 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.4 km away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 395 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $42 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing