We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do Much better for the price! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #254 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Requested an upper floor room with a view and a large bed when we booked, got a low floor room with 2 single beds and a view of a wall !
We were in an older part of the hotel and the room was very run down and overdue for a make over.
The biggest problem was the carpet which was very old, stained, and very smelly.
The location was great, just across the car park to the famed Night Bazzar and the buffet breakfast very good, but you can do a lot better for the price in the Nigh Bazzar area of Chiangmai.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anhtony M,  
 
We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities. 
 
It is indeed with much regret to note that you were not completely satisfied with our services & facilities. We do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. The mentioned matters will be shared with our team concerned for further improvement. 
 
Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has shown improvement in the rooms as they are in the process of replacing the fire alarm system. The staff at the check-in counter were also more friendly and worked quickly especially during this Loy Krathong festival. The rooftop restaurant which used to cater to ala carte dining during this festival in the past, now charged THB1199 for a buffet during this festival which actually turned us away.
The hotel is nicely located to the center of action during this festival and the hotel really need to buck up after years of neglect and we can see more and more smaller hotels sprung up around the area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ykhppc,

A huge "thank you" for your generous words and for your praise of Pornping Tower hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and sincerely hope that to welcome your back in the near future. Please be sure to reach out to me if I can be of assistance with any travel arrangements.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In staying at the pornping tower for over a month now ,i have experienced consistently an attentive and beyond excellent service by all the staff ( front desk , housekeeping , restaurant , room service ) as well as an unflinching effort to make my stay here a 5 star experience !!! from unsolicited upgrades to knowing my favorite foods ,,,is there better hotels " yes" but the price , location and service is superb and iam quite happy in stating this .. i give it a 3 1/2 star hotel with 5 star service , and deserving of the " Land of Smiles " award!!
bob g oct 2017

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bob G,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased to read that our facilities and services had contributed to a memorable stay. Your review is valuable to us and will be shared with my associates to ensure that we continue to provide exceptional services and improve on areas which will make your next stay more memorable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

For the price, this accommodation works as its located near to night bazaars, riverbank and cafes/bars. The hotel is outdated/stucked in time and somewhat feels quiet though its a huge property. Very strict with number of people in the room. No hair dryer, iron and water heater in the room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amimejjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Amimejjoe,

Many thanks for sharing your recent stay experience at Pornping Tower Hotel with others.

I would like to apologize that hair dryer, kettle, iron and iron board are not available in the room. but they are available upon request

We sincerely appreciate it that you elected to stay with us around Chiang Mai. .

Regard
Pattana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Ok, i'm not going to sugar coat this. It's not the best hotel in Chiang Mai by a stretch, however for a bunch of guys on an annual cricket tour, it's comfortable, the staff are friendly and willing.

The rooms are dated and need modernising, however the rooms are clean and comfortable, and for the price amazing value for money. Breakfast included, free wifi for the 10 days. My 12th year at the Chiang Mai Sixes in April 2018 and we will stay at the Pornping Towers, our home away from home. Very close to the Night Bazaar and our team headquarters The Lotus Pub

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stuartmD677DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear stuartmD677DS ,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#226 of 392 in Chiang Mai
297 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#77 of 392 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#148 of 392 in Chiang Mai
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#135 of 392 in Chiang Mai
339 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#194 of 392 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
0.8 km away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $46 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing