We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #269 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel in great location in city centre, next to night market and close to all attractions. Beautiful view over the city and the river from high floor. Small bar on rooftop to have a chilling drink and enjoy the stunning view. Staff friendly, helpful and sincere. Mr GM is a very nice, cheerful guy. Greetings guests every morning in the breakfast and giving information.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cheryl_phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

You walk into a grand reception area, You have a bar to the left, a tour desk is located here as well as reception. to your right and up a flight of stairs is the pool area that is very inviting. The rooms date back to the 1970's but it feels like a humorous trip back in time,
Overall a decent enough hotel that is very quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, on a recommendation from someone we met in Bangkok. Our family had 3 different rooms. All of the rooms were terrible, unfortunately. All smelled very badly (it’s an old hotel), the bathrooms all need remodeling and regrouting from mold, ants crawling in al three of our bathrooms and the AC units did not cool well at all (again very old). The front desk staff were mostly not as kind as we have found in other hotels in Thailand. Most seemed irritated when we asked questions. Assuming largely because they did not speak a lot of English, but it’s very unlike the culture. The Bat Bar was nice to sit and chat, but the food is not good. Had BBQ skewers that were bland and a steak something that was also bland. Staff at the Bat Bar were very, very accommodating though. All very sweet up there. The security guard at the gate was helpful. Otherwise would not recommend this hotel for Americans, as you will be disappointed. Even with Thai members (our mothers)of our family with us, it was not a pleasant experience. I rarely ever write bad reviews but unfortunately I wish I’d have been told before checking in that it was not a great hotel. You get what you pay for though, especially in Chiang Mai. Hopefully they will do some renovations in the near future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Old established Hotel sited over two buildings with one being the actual Tower comprising Deluxe Rooms and better. Stayed in Deluxe with no breakfast included in my room rate. Looked at breakfast on offer and the Standard rooms in original adjoining building and think I made right choice.
It's probably the Standard and Superior Rooms in the old building that generate bulk of negative reviews.
Be aware that even the Tower rooms show sign of dated decode and furnishings, whilst carpeted it been down for a while with some unavoidable stains.
Well located yet a bit on fringe. Easy access to adjoining eateries and night bazar, massage and bars nearby and close enough to Loi Kroc Rd action/attractions.
Has good pool but biggest gripe is that Porn Ping has no gym. Access to gym recommended by Reception didn't work for me with Tuk Tuk etc. For a hotel of this size and Standard with grounds available to not have a gym is very unusual and frustrating.
Housekeeping did a good job, Reception was friendly, pleasant and professional. Roof top bar is available although not well patronised. Drinks a bit pricey.
Has no safe in room and this also is unusual and annoying, safety deposit boxes available at Reception but you need to walk around with this clumpy key.
Had a very good size window with great sunlight and outlook to mountains and across the city. Sadly the pidgeons have made a mess of the windows and area outside the window - not sure what Hotel policy is on keeping this clean. See picture uploaded.
Other than that it worked well for me and happy to recommend if you accept the mentioned annoyances as the price was good.

Room Tip: Avoid Standard and Superior rooms. Upgrade to Deluxe.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Sidneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Requested an upper floor room with a view and a large bed when we booked, got a low floor room with 2 single beds and a view of a wall !
We were in an older part of the hotel and the room was very run down and overdue for a make over.
The biggest problem was the carpet which was very old, stained, and very smelly.
The location was great, just across the car park to the famed Night Bazzar and the buffet breakfast very good, but you can do a lot better for the price in the Nigh Bazzar area of Chiangmai.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Anhtony M,  
 
We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities. 
 
It is indeed with much regret to note that you were not completely satisfied with our services & facilities. We do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you encountered during your stay. The mentioned matters will be shared with our team concerned for further improvement. 
 
Thank you for sparing your valuable time for straight comments. once again, thank you for staying with us.

Regard
Pattana | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#142 of 402 in Chiang Mai
159 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#80 of 402 in Chiang Mai
187 reviews
1.7 km away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#152 of 402 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#299 of 402 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#74 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,725 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#201 of 402 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: S$41 - S$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing