We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service of staff and room old and not fully equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #269 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Stayed in Pornping tower from 21 Dec 17 to 24 Dec 17.

Was utterly disappointed with the standard of the hotel. We stayed on the 5th floor and once we stepped out of the lift, we don't feel good - the corridor was dimly lit and the old.

The room is run down, furnitures are old, toilet is small, towels look old and dirty.
There is no hair dryer, no slippers for us to change and no kettle to boil hot water.
We can only get all these upon request. The aircon is not working, we can't even adjust the temperature, we were all frozen.

Staff at restaurant not friendly and helpful. When we asked for 4 omelettes (we have 6 persons in our group), they are very unwilling to give us.

The only plus point is its location near the night bazaar.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivien-LOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017

Well located, near the Bazar, we had a room on 16th floor. Normal room size, bathroom not big but ok. We appreciated the complimentary daily 2 bottles of water. Breakfast is more oriental oriented and not enough international. I can understand that because in the period we stayed, there were just few western guests and on the other side big groups of chinese people. In the hotel lobby you can find an excursion desk. here we booked 2 trips, both good. Price very good.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delta0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel in great location in city centre, next to night market and close to all attractions. Beautiful view over the city and the river from high floor. Small bar on rooftop to have a chilling drink and enjoy the stunning view. Staff friendly, helpful and sincere. Mr GM is a very nice, cheerful guy. Greetings guests every morning in the breakfast and giving information.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cheryl_phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

You walk into a grand reception area, You have a bar to the left, a tour desk is located here as well as reception. to your right and up a flight of stairs is the pool area that is very inviting. The rooms date back to the 1970's but it feels like a humorous trip back in time,
Overall a decent enough hotel that is very quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, on a recommendation from someone we met in Bangkok. Our family had 3 different rooms. All of the rooms were terrible, unfortunately. All smelled very badly (it’s an old hotel), the bathrooms all need remodeling and regrouting from mold, ants crawling in al three of our bathrooms and the AC units did not cool well at all (again very old). The front desk staff were mostly not as kind as we have found in other hotels in Thailand. Most seemed irritated when we asked questions. Assuming largely because they did not speak a lot of English, but it’s very unlike the culture. The Bat Bar was nice to sit and chat, but the food is not good. Had BBQ skewers that were bland and a steak something that was also bland. Staff at the Bat Bar were very, very accommodating though. All very sweet up there. The security guard at the gate was helpful. Otherwise would not recommend this hotel for Americans, as you will be disappointed. Even with Thai members (our mothers)of our family with us, it was not a pleasant experience. I rarely ever write bad reviews but unfortunately I wish I’d have been told before checking in that it was not a great hotel. You get what you pay for though, especially in Chiang Mai. Hopefully they will do some renovations in the near future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#142 of 402 in Chiang Mai
159 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#80 of 402 in Chiang Mai
187 reviews
1.7 km away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#152 of 402 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#299 of 402 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#74 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,725 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#201 of 402 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing