We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara
from US$26.22
More Info
from US$33.46
More Info
from US$34.04
More Info
from US$57.44
More Info
Reviews (7,997)
Filter reviews
7,997 results
Traveller rating
4,948
2,608
401
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,948
2,608
401
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city monk chat beautiful temple smaller temples emerald buddha city pillar main temple worth a visit entrance fee walk around earthquake ruins structure century statues prayer tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,339 - 1,344 of 7,997 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Don't miss this experience. Very low entrance fee, for beauty of temples inside. Umbrella, long skirt/pants, sunscreen and enjoy.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Tanja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The Chedi Luang (big stupa) found at this temple had the top knocked off during an earthquake ages ago, yet the base still stands tall, and is beautifully restored. Just standing at the base, you can image the splendour of the whole stupa in its glory days. It is a must see in the centre of the old lanna city.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank TonyH4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

The old temple ruins were very interesting. The variety of statutes and small temples were beautiful. Had a more open less crowded feel than some temple complexes.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our morning at Wat Chedi. There are a few different temples to look around on the site, and most interesting is the ancient Chedi in the centre which is different to other temples we have seen in Thailand.

Our most favourite thing about this temple however was the Monk Chat programme. Situated next to the main temple is a small covered area with tables where you have to opportunity to sit down and speak with the Monks. It allows them to practice their English, and it allowed us to ask numerous questions about Buddhism as well as the Monk lifestyle. It was such an interesting and though provoking chat that i cannot recommend this opportunity enough!! It is completely free, you ca make a donation if you wish. One of my favourite things we did in Chiang Mai.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Lucym1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Memorable Wat- clean, nice outdoor gardens and great architecture. Lonely planet recommendation. Take bikes to hit all the Wats

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Garing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews