We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
S$251
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
jdesalab
Singapore, Singapore

A delightful oasis in the centre of Chiang Mai

Review of Rachamankha
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Oct 2012
Rachamankha is simple luxury within the context of exquisite local architecture and Lanna history. The hotel is very close to the famous temples of Chiang Mai and a stone throw away from the bustling city but is an oasis of calm, pampering and luxurious resting for the weary traveller/tourist. The founders of this hotel have created an excellent hotel which invites you to return to Chiang Mai if only to enjoy a luxurious stay all over again! The rooms are very well appointed so you will want for nothing. The hotel facilities are of a high standard with a lovely large swimming pool, a small but cosy bar and an inviting dining room for your meals. The staff are always helpful and smiling.
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
S$439
S$386
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$132
S$120
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    S$120
2.0 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$111
S$108
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
S$160
S$148
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$393
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$393
6.8 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$74
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    S$137
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$57
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$69
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$115
  • Algotels
5.0 km from Rachamankha
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveller rating
1,010
211
66
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,010
211
66
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city beautiful hotel boutique hotel lanna style an oasis small buffet breakfast is served superior room three nights night market thailand retreat burmese massage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
797 - 802 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is simply one of the most relaxing spaces I have ever been to. There is no great list of facilities to report on, just utter tranquility. The staff are invisible until you need something, then they are always there. Great location so you can walk to the major sites of Chiang Mai easily (and just as easily slip back when hot, tired and filled up with more Thai and Buddhist culture). Although the hotel was apparently full whilst we were there I don't know where everyone went, we hardly saw another soul except over dinner (see also my review of the amazing restaurant). Another great feature is the library - filled with an outstanding collection of books (no doubt provided by the owner whose collection of artefacts also fills the gallery and provides objects placed around the corridors).

Room tip: The two-bedroomed suite (number 26) is spectacular - even if there are only two of you it is worth every penny, cent or baht.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZYXWVUTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Indeed a very nice place which can be recommended to couples wanting a stylish, tranquil and quiet environment. No screaming kids by the pool, a great plus! (I like kids, don't get me wrong, however I dislike screaming ones) The kitchen is excellent. All styling done with great taste. Just a few minor issues: 1) Internet connection was variable and cumbersome and you had to log on again every 5 minutes of inactivity. 2) The hotel was maximum half full, and when asking for a late checkout the night before, the lady at the reception said it was not possible due to new guests coming (on a Sunday morning?) Next day we talked to a seniour guy and he said no problem, we could use the room until 3:45 pm. Please instruct your staff to be honest and don't tell fairytales. 3) Bathroom is somewhat sub standard and AC is (very) noisy, needs overhaul. Apart from this, everything perfect, we will be back one day!

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GunnarH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Exquisite architecture with absolutely lovely interiors plus an art gallery makes Rachamankha a class of its own. Beautiful garden landscaping and peaceful surroundings makes it an ideal place for couples who are celebrating a special occasion. The Staff at Rachamankha were friendly and warm, especially Dang who is an excellent waiter, attentive to details. Not forgetting our driver – Noi who is knowledgeable with the different attractions in Chiang Mai. Special thanks to Paul who was very kind and accommodating when I had requested for complimentary birthday cake during my stay at the Rachamankha. The breakfast and other dishes on the menu were delicious. The only downside with our stay was that the complimentary Wifi was unstable throughout and the only restaurant within the hotel premises closes at 10pm, no Room Service available; otherwise we had thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rachamankha and would come back again.

Room tip: Room 18 has a nice view of the pool.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel29Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Great place to stay while in Chiang Mai. The hotel is situated very close to the center of Chiang Mai, so it's very easy to get around. The staff is very very nice and helpful. The rooms and hotel environment is designed with a lot of love for details! Just a quiet and incredibly beautiful paradise within the city centre...
The pool area is spacious and comfortable, the library is nice to spend a few hours in the evening. The rooms are beautiful, clean and quite spacious as well.
The architecture and interior design is unique and if you're a person who appreciates such thing, this is the place to stay!
The restaurant (with a la carte breakfast) also shows the love for detail that i mentioned before. Breakfast is delicious and the Cappuccino can easily compete with one in Italy.
Dinner at the restaurant is very nice as well, definitely worth the price.
One Highlight of our recent travels through Thaliand.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just loved the hotel. Truly stunning in the design. From the swimming pool, to the library to the rooms -- just a beautiful place to stay. It also helped that they pulled together a little birthday party for my daughter with chocolate cake and champagne.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigChucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews