We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good drink and good staffs🤘🏻”

Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar
Ranked #21 of 2,302 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Please be informed that WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATIONS. We do have a bar both in-and outside where you can wait for a table during busy hours. The last order for our kitchen is 22:30! Ugo Bar & Restaurant is a friendly & vibrant venue situated in the heart of Chiang Mai at Thapae Gate. We welcome :-Weary travellers needing to rest their precious legs and reminisce on the day with a cold beer, cocktail, or coffee in hand...- Evening adventurers looking for a unique and inspirational start to the night- Those with a fine taste in food & drink who are prepared to experience the true meaning of great value!- Anyone with a smile on their face as we love to get the same in return :-)Whether you fancy the famous Egg Benedict for breakfast, some traditional Thai food, a stone-baked pizza or great burgers for dinner...We have it all! Classic cocktails and a large selection of premium spirits available to help you on your way. Also, 35 different Thai Craft Beers on stock!
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I really enjoy the foods here especially spaghetti carbonara and Chocolate Moelleux. Also this restaurant is located in the Old City (Thapae gate) It's easy to go there even after work. The staffs are so nice and good take care of us. This place becomes my favorite restaurant ❤️

Thank Kano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 175 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We ended up eating here 3 out of our 4 nights. We found the Thai food was very tasty and better quality to many of the other restaurants we have tried in Thailand. Also found the western food excellent- the burgers were great. Because of the good quality and reasonable prices we knew we would have a good meal every time. As we were staying in the hostel upstairs we had breakfast a couple of the mornings- good value as most of the breakfasts were 99 baht. Would definitely recommend the muesli with fresh fruit and yoghurt which tasted very fresh. Would definitely recommend.

Thank SBTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Not just the food was delicious, tha staff was really kind, good english and they take care of everything you can need when you are traveling. Hard to believe but this restaurant has better prices to travel around the country than travel agencies, inclouding tuk tuk service to go to bus/train station from the restaurant. Also the owners have some guest house around Chiang mai. Best choice if you wanna meet other travelers and share experiences. Definitley, Ill never forget that I was feeling like at home. Ill be back soon, thanks for everything!!!

Thank CKhanYao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Owner at Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Hola KhanYao!

What an excellent review! And I agree with every word of it. :)
Thanks for letting other people know about us.
Good luck for your future travels and we look forward to seeing you down here again, soon when you are back in town.

All the best,
Hugo & Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Good, but you could probably find better. A mojito was sweet but not very strong. The crispy wontons were ok, barely any cheese. A khao soi was good - very little chilli was in it (perhaps owing to perceptions of western preferences?) but that's easily rectified.

The service was a bit disappointing - the staff behind the counter were more interested at looking at their phones and slow to clear plates. They didn't offer another drink after the first was gone, and the bill had to be asked for at the counter.

Wouldn't really recommend unless you were staying upstairs/next door and were feeling too lazy to go for a walk.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SherriffS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Owner at Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Hi SherriffS,

Your title "Middle of the road": it's clear when you look for dining around the busiest road in Chiang Mai's old town you can't expect peaceful and quiet hidden corners, can you? However we do have sitting inside - with aircon, where you can barely hear the noise from outside. Also we offer an indeed very intimate and romantic rooftop terrasse on the other side of the building with light jazz music (only open for dinner time).

Our Mojitos are legendary...Extremely strong. We warn people that 2 glasses are enough to get a buzz on and to avoid driving.
I don't know what time of the day you were visiting tho', I guess that not in the evening when our skilled bartenders are making them.
We have a morning team who they are perhaps not so professional in cocktails, they more likely do fruit shakes.. :)

The Crispy Wontons are our cheapest appetizers.
It's a light snack and for 79 Baht (3 AUD) it's a bargain I can assure you.
However, point taken and we will load up the cheese as much as possible.
I still recommend the Mozzarella Sticks instead for cheese lovers. ;)

The Khao Soi is made with little chilli for a very good reason. And that's because of our majority customers (we cater mostly for foreigners) don't like very spicy. However we serve our Khao Soi with a side of a very hot chili paste/sauce and it's up to you how much you would like to add in to your dish. We prefer this way but you could have ask your server to make it more spicy of course as every single dishes are made to order.

Regarding staff was playing her phone that's a serious issue and I did have a meeting already to clarify/clear our policy about this - thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We only ask people to pay at the counter/cashier if they wish to pay separately - this makes it easier for everyone with the changes. Normally our waiting staff are attentive and taking care about every tables for cleaning, beverages or payments.
I just wish I would know what time and day you were visiting so I could look into it who was in charge at that moment.

I agree completely that a negative review is an opportunity to improve and rest assured that we will be addressing these issues immediately. Thank you for your input and hopefully your decision to try us again in future.

Best Regards (and sincere apologies),
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

The resto is located in middle of city centre. The service is absolutely finest. Food delicious for good price

Thank Rolf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Owner at Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Dear Rolf R,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit at Ugo.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others and we hope to see you down here again, soon.

Best Regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing