We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See elephants and do good at the same time!”

Elephant Nature Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Elephant Nature Park, a unique conservation project set in Chiang Mai Province, Northern Thailand has been in operation since in the 1990's with a goal to provide a sanctuary and elephant rescue center. We have been involved in dozens of rescues and sustain a natural home for this endangered species. Mission: To protect and conserve elephants in a natural environment and to provide a healthy and fruitful life for all those creatures under our care
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See elephants and do good at the same time!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you want to see elephants in Chiang Mai, this is THE place to do it. It is extremely well-organized (they pick you up at your hotel, teach you about the elephants, let you feed, bathe, and gaze at the elephants, provide an amazing lunch, take you back to your hotel). The price for the day trip may seem high, but you can tell that all of the money earned by the park goes right back to the animals. Lek is one of the best people on the planet--she rescues these abused elephants and brings them to live a life of love and happiness at the Elephant Nature Park. Visitors can touch the elephants, feed them, bathe them, have pictures taken with them. It's not a place to ride elephants or watch them do silly tricks or paint pictures (thank goodness). I tried to go back to ENP on my last visit to Chiang Mai but it was full! I'm so happy to hear it's doing so well and will continue to send donations when I can. Thank you, Lek, for having such a huge heart and for teaching visitors about the plight of Thailand's elephants!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank kai s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,615
    619
    176
    43
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful elephants treated with respect!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Beautiful elephants, a very enjoyable experience. You don't get to ride them here if that's what your looking for but it was a great experience feeding and bathing them! It was a bonus to know that they don't get abused here but treated with the utmost care! Highly recommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Fantastic day out, really enjoyed it from start to finish. This was the hightlight of our trip to Thailand.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LinzGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“the best and kindest elephant experience in Thailand dont settle for a cheaper alternative”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Many friends recommended this trip and it did not disappoint . It was approximately £45 -50 pound each and intially i was a little concerned as there seemed to be cheaper options to interact wkith elephants.

This park does not allow you to ride the elephants but having seen the conditions of some elephant ride centres i was glad paid my money to this worthwhile projec, buffet lunch is included . Our guide Kwan was informative and we had a full day feeding , bathing and learning about the 37 rescued elephants living at the sanctuary. The experience is one i will remember always and despite the harrowing video at the end it was good to spread the word of how poorly treated many elephants in Thailand are.

The park owner Lek is a lovely woman ( she spent 20 minutes chatting informally to us )who has done much work to save mistreated in elephants in Burma and Thailand . and it really will be the best 50 pound you ever spend

I cant recommend this experience enough

tips ... sun cream , water shoes ( bit stoney underfoot in river ) mosquito spray 4pm onwards

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank fiflarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience with Elephants”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I chose the full day trip. We were picked up from our hotel in a minibus and our tour guide was Kwan (she's great). The ride to the Elephant Nature Park is about 1.5 hours and the scenery is very nice. To be honest we were quite nervous about interacting with elephants, but Kwan slowly introduced us to the elephants and it lessened our nervousness. You do a lot of observing and feeding elephants and are able to bathe them in the nearby river (this was a highlight). You can tell that the elephants are treated well and cared for and this is why we chose the Elephant Nature Park over other elephant attractions. I recommend bringing water shoes, a change of clothing and mosquito spray.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Nature Park also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Elephant Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing