We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but Bitten!”
Review of Buri Gallery House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buri Gallery House
Ranked #102 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Beautiful hotel. Rooms are all different style and have a traditional and local touch. We stayed in 3 different rooms. Mine located on first floor next to the lobby/pedicure spa area was the only one which I got bites every morning. Don't know if it was the bed bugs, or mosquitos. I have a particular itch from mosquitos and fear that wasn't the problem as much as I wish it was. The bed had mosquito netting around it and I pulled them and sprayed with "OFF" without much help.
The rest of the rooms were great, breakfast yummy, pool relaxing, and location superb.
Stay away from that room!

Room Tip: Not ever the one with mosquito netting around it and right down from the lobby/foot spa area.Pool lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We started this years winter holiday by visiting the north of Thailand for the first time. We made our reservation at BGH before we left Sweden. We weren't disappointed. BGH is located in the heart of Chiang Mai, inside the wall, in Old Town. Right outside is a long street, where a market is held every sunday. Perfect for strawling!
There' 3 ATM:s within 50 mtrs, and 25 mtrs to the left is a 7/11. There's a lot of temples nearby for anyone with that particular interest.
The hotel itself is decorated "Lanna style", which made us feel like we were living in someones home, very cozy.
The staff is wonderful. Kind and helpful and very good at english. Breakfast is nice, you'll get a note when you sit down where you write what you want to eat. Minimum risk for errors. The only thing you could say is a disadvantage is that you can't have lunch or dinner. I don't care, I would return in an instant. Right across the street however, is a small "hole in the wall" with excellent food and extremely low prices.
We lived in Villa 2, because we had read that the walls were thin in other rooms. Villa 2 was superb.
I also got help arranging a oneday-trek. Riding elephant, junglewalk to waterfall, white water rafting and bamboorafting. An exciting day it was!
Day three, I rented a motorcycle and went discovering Chiang Mai on my own. They helped with that too.
BGH even has a small swimmingpool. Just adds to why you should stay here during your vacation. I know I will return when I get the opportunity.

Room Tip: Choose the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernwilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel was lovely, with great staff. The rooms were clean, very spacious and beautifully decorated. We stayed in two different deluxe rooms, and found that the upstairs room was much nicer than the one downstairs. The hotel was in a great location in the centre of Chiang Mai - just a 5 or 10 minute walk to many of the restaurants and temples, and right on the Sunday Walking Street. The only negative was that it could be a bit noisy at night, both with the Walking Street and the thin walls between rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a deluxe room upstairs - much nicer than those downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The overwhelming thing about the place is the staff, who were some of the friendliest and most helpful we met in Thailand. They really have the service down to a fine art here.

Agreed with other reviewers that the rooms can be a bit noisy because of the thin walls, particularly in the superior rooms (which also have only skylights). I personally didn't find this a problem but light sleepers might. Otherwise, the rooms were scrupulously clean and well-appointed.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing, and we skipped our last day's in favour of going next door to a nice little restaurant and paying.

Room Tip: Avoid 'superior' rooms if you are a light sleeper: noise carries between these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

One word of warning: the "superior" rooms here are far from superior--they have no windows, and paper thin walls that allow you to hear even quiet conversations in the next room. These are really hostel quality rooms and should be advertised as such. We switched into a deluxe room and based on that experience I give this place a very positive review. Comfortable bed (although strange, very hard orthopedic pillows) and a spacious bathroom. Pool area is very nice and great after a sweaty day of sightseeing. Staff are amazing--they were so so helpful as we tried to book activities etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbw000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#46 of 402 in Chiang Mai
530 reviews
1.1 km away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#10 of 402 in Chiang Mai
589 reviews
0.4 km away
Mini Boutique House
Mini Boutique House
#94 of 402 in Chiang Mai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#5 of 402 in Chiang Mai
897 reviews
0.1 km away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#69 of 402 in Chiang Mai
619 reviews
0.5 km away
G2 Boutique Hotel
G2 Boutique Hotel
#84 of 402 in Chiang Mai
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Gallery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Gallery House

Address: 102, Rachadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $55 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buri Gallery House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buri Gallery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buri Gallery House Hotel Chiang Mai
Buri Gallery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing