We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant tour for those with limited time!”

Halong Wonder Bay Cruises
Ranked #13 of 137 Tours in Halong Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Journeys are uniquely designed for those who have limited time to Halong bay but delight in the thrill of exploration while indulging mind and body in the ambiance of relaxed elegance aboard the region’s finest luxury day-ship. That inspires us open and run Wonder Bay Cruises Halong.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I squeezed this tour in on my last day in Vietnam. I booked it trough my hotel for around £56. It’s a full day (about 12 hours all in). From the book, this is definitely a more high end cruise. As you walk round Hanoi, there re many firms advertising day trips to Ha Long bay for as little as $25 but this involves loads of you crammed on a coach and a budget cruise boat.

We left Hanoi around 0800, the driver struggled to find the hotel which was tucked up a small road but all good in the end. The bus was modern and clean and there were 8 of us in the group. The tour guide was so polite and gave loads of information about local landmarks and food whilst leaving Hanoi and travelling to the bay. The drive to the bay is about 3 hours, with a 15/20 minute break half way at an indoor market. You can buy souvenirs as well as refreshments. We arrived at the port at around 1145, which was heaving with tourists and ships. We boarded and were away promptly. This is where paying a bit extra was worth it. It was mainly 2 to a large table (I shared with a Korean chap who spoke good English). You were given fresh lemon water on boarding. There was plenty of space and it all felt very relaxed. The staff were really polite and pointed out all the sights on the way round. A large, delicious 8 course lunch was served shortly after. They brought this dishes out in waves to ensure it was hot which was good. You have to pay for drinks, but it wasn’t too much ... a beer about £1.20, soft drinks £1 and coffee about £1.10.

After lunch we travelled through the bay until we arrived at a floating island where you could use a canoe or bamboo boat towed by a local (included in the fee). Really enjoyed the canoe, and was good to work off lunch! Got some good pictures and they hand out water proof bags for your phone and money.

After, we travelled round the bay some more, past some islands that resembled animals.

We then stopped at a lime stone cave. The tour guide took us round and gave information about how the bay is formed, local wildlife, plants and people. The caves were amazing to see! This took about 45 minutes.

We then got back on the boat and were served Jasmine Tea with Coconut Cake and Melon which was lovely. We then took a slow trip back to shore, arriving just before 1700, before heading back to Hanoi where you are dropped off at your hotel.

My only criticism was the driver! He had a heavy foot on the gas and brakes which made the ride ‘interesting’! Also, the seats weren’t ideal to sleep in (I am F6’3’’) so it was a little cramped.

That aside (and this is worthy of 5 stars) it was a great day with a very enthusiastic crew. I felt it worth paying extra for to enjoy the bay in a relaxed environment. Everyone on the boat were easy to talk to. Because they didn’t cram people on, it always felt relaxed and spacious and this was good to you could relax and take in the views.

I would recommend this tour and the staff were first class! Thanks for a brilliant day out!

Thank Gingerfatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonygoasia, Manager at Halong Wonder Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Kyron W,

Thank you for a very detailed and trustful review, we really appreciate all of your comments. As you wrote, Halong Wonder Bay Cruises may have a bit higher price than other tour company, but we commit to give the best experience and values to our customers. We always focus on small details in our tour that bring the most satisfaction to our guests, and staff would try their best to fulfill it. For the driver and minivan seats, we will try to improve them in the future to make them at their best to serve customers. We hope you have had a good time in Vietnam, and we are looking forward to have you in our tours of different destinations in Indochina.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bamboo boat"
in 15 reviews
"day trip"
in 19 reviews
"tour guide"
in 19 reviews
"driver tom"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 5 reviews
"paradise cave"
in 4 reviews
"different names"
in 2 reviews
"long cruise"
in 3 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"comfortable mini bus"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable trip"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 3 reviews
"clean boat"
in 3 reviews
"old quarter"
in 4 reviews
"hour ride"
in 2 reviews
"excellent trip"
in 3 reviews
"prawns"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Ha Long Bay is visually spectacular and wonder bay were great to go with.

They arranged prompt pick up from our hotel and we were taken in a newish minibus with AC. We got there around midday and went straight on to the boat.

The boat was in good condition and the staff were really friendly. The lunch was very generous and tasty.

The tour includes a trip on either a bamboo boat or kayaking (would recommend the bamboo boats!). After this we cruised on to "paradise cave" which is visually stunning.

Would definitely recommend.

Thank PeterWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonygoasia, Manager at Halong Wonder Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear PeterWalks

Thank you so much for your great review on our Wonderbay Cruises one day tour to Halong Bay recently, I am so happy to hear that you loved the trip with the delicious lunch aboard. With Bamboo or Kayaking in the bay, It made you feel exciting with additional activity as well as Paradise cave. It is so stunning. I thank you for your recommendation to our cruises.
Good bye and take care
From all of our team.
Email:info@wonderbaycruises.com
WhatsApp +84 912536382

Trân trọng! (Best regards,)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Hello,

we would like to thank your company for an amazing trip from Hanoi to Ha Long Bay.
Everything was perfect, safe drive in a luxurious limousine, very nice boat, great vietnamese dishes at a table just for two persons, kayaking and a visit of cave on one of Ha Long Bay islands.

But the biggest thank belongs to our tour guide Thao, who was one of the best guide we have ever met. We would like to appretiate nice flute performance of Thao during comming back to mainland.

Jakub and Lenka Zaoralek, Czech Republic

Thank Jakub Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonygoasia, Manager at Halong Wonder Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Jakub Z

Thank you very much for your review on our Wonderbay Cruises, It is great to hear that you were totally satisfied with our trip with 5 hour cruising to the crowd avoidance route which is only accessed by overnight cruises. Thao had done a great job to accommodate you with the best services. Halong bay with the terrific view under Thao's instructions and of course, we provided the perfect shuttle bus services. I hope you are well and come back to Vietnam soon with more interesting trips.
Good bye and take care
From all of our team.
Email:info@wonderbaycruises.com
WhatsApp +84 912536382

Trân trọng! (Best regards,)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

I had a fantastic day trip from Hanoi to Ha Long Bay today with this company. Having looked online beforehand I'd read a lot of information discouraging people from trying to fit in Ha Long Bay as a day trip from Hanoi. I decided to anyway and picked this company and was very happy with my decision. Our driver Dad was great and our guide Hung was very knowledgeable. A particular highlight is how he would frequently stop to point out details in the landscape and caves and how they interlinked with Vietnamese folklore and stories.

The day trip included over 5 hours on the bay on a luxurious boat with attentive and kind staff - in that time we experienced:

A fantastic set lunch on our with spring rolls, shrimp, curry, rice and more.

A choice of either kayaking or a ride on a bamboo boat up right next to a very large karst.

A tour through the Tien Cung cave, viewing the stalagmites, stalactites and other limestone formations.

And of course, the cruise through the bay itself with its dramatic landscape. It's very easy to see why Ha Long Bay is one of the 7 natural wonders of the world.

In summary, if you only have a day to fit this, this company will make sure you enjoy it and it doesn't feel rushed at all.

Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonygoasia, Manager at Halong Wonder Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Ian B

Thank you very much for your booking with Wonderbay Cruises Halong, It is great to hear that you enjoyed the trip especially with the cruises and the cave. Our staff on the boat had served you with the best services such as fabulous lunch with spring rolls, shrimps, curry...It took the chef a long time to prepare such the delicious dishes like those. For 5 hours, you must have taken a lot of photos. I am happy to hear that Hung had done a great job.
Good bye and take care
From all of our team.
Email: info@wonderbaycruises.com
WhatsApp +84 0912536382

Trân trọng! (Best regards,)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

27 Feb 2018
Thank you Mr. Hung as our Tour Guide for good communication in English for our trip in Halong Bay
Also very nice boat design and facility ,with helpful service crew and good seafood.
We enjoy the rowing boat with the boat rower
And very nice limousine car with free Wi-Fi on the board make us comfortable
See you next time Guys
Cheers
Hendrik Pratama WONGSO & Hengkie Seizures WONGSO

Thank Hendrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonygoasia, Manager at Halong Wonder Bay Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Hendrik P

Thank you for a quick comment on our Halong Bay One Day Tour with WonderBay Cruises, I highly appreciate your contribution to our service evaluation, this review help us to be more confident to serve travelers worldwide in the future. Mr Hung knows that you has praised him to encourage him to work better. At the floating village, you had enjoyed kayaking through the caves and I am sure that you must have taken a lot of beautiful photos with spectacular scenery of Halong Bay. I hope that you will recommend your friends or family to come back to vietnam soon with Go Asia Travel to board Wonderbay Cruises.
Good bye and take care
From all of our team.
Email:info@wonderbaycruises.com
WhatsApp +84 0912536382

Trân trọng! (Best regards,)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halong Wonder Bay Cruises also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay
 

Been to Halong Wonder Bay Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing