We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$85
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
US$107
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sun Suites Hotel(Hanoi)
US$46
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$179
US$104
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$227
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
936
295
63
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
295
63
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterno windowbudget hotelinternet connectionmini barstayed here for nightssister hotelairport pickbreakfast was includedlaundry servicestreetpctaxitoursluggagejenny
Filter
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and then subsequently another night on our return from a 2 night/3day trip to Halong bay. I cannot think of a more friendly welcome anywhere else. It was some 'Womans Day' and I got welcomed with a flower and card. the room we paid for overlooking the street was just spacious enough and had a kettle for the necessary coiffee.Do not be put off by it being on a side street, it is safe. The girls at the desk were great in helping us choose the right trip for Halong bay. Downside is that you need a bit of a walk to the old quarter to find places to eat. If you have time go to the water puppet theatre it was fun and only lasted 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Pay for one at the front ending with 01
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valRossOnWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I praise this hotel highly.All the staff is beautiful women and are friendly.
Because English is not possible, much comment is not possible.But I was the best in a conventional hotel.ありがとう

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoshiakiyoshikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Visited North & Central Vietnam for just over two weeks and after an initial 4 night stay here to explore Hanoi returned twice more for 2 nights each time after trips to Halong Bay and Hue/Hoi-An. The most wonderful staff who were so helpful with everything I asked for and the location of the hotel is perfect for the Old Quarter. Room quite small but perfectly adequate for my needs and always clean. Computer in the room with free internet access was a bonus. Superb value for money and I will always remember those three wonderful receptionists.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked a suite at Charming through Agoda, which is the room in the lead picture here on TA (the one with the nice wallpaper). Turns out this room doesn't exist. At Charming, a 'Suite' is simply the city view room with a bottle of Dalat wine ($3) and some fruit thrown in. At first, we thought it was a simple mistake - we would let them know we had been given the wrong room, they would move us to the correct room; easy. We took our laptop down with us to have this discussion because we wanted to show the reception staff the picture of the room we had booked. This turned into a conversation about how the picture we were showing them was from Agoda, not their own website, therefore beyond their control.Then we looked at their website, and exactly the same picture was showing. At one stage they asked us why we needed more than one bed when we were a couple. (We wanted a room with two beds for the extra space). If you read the back reviews of this hotel, you will see that this same issue has arisen many times in the past. No doubt they will have a comeback as to why this mix up was not their fault, but again, read the back reviews to get the full picture. In the end they 'fixed' the problem by refunding us the price difference between the 'suite' and the 'superior' room. I agreed to this because I believe that the price after the refund was a fair price for the room we had. The problem is that I wanted to pay more for a better room, and such a room did not exist in this hotel. Had I had a more accurate idea of the rooms available at this hotel, I would have stayed elsewhere and paid more for a better room.

I am not saying there is anything particulary bad about this hotel, just that the room descriptions are either inaccurate (at best) or deliberately misleading (at worst).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clairemynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charminghanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear travelers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make our self better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
Concerning to this review,We want to have small explanation that the room we gave you is exactly the room in the photos but We have renewed it by changing a little bit in decoration,so you will not see the picture in the advertised photos.That is the only difference.
We do apology this review s author if you felt something not comfortable .,And next time ,when you come to Hanoi,We hope to have a chance to serve you with our at most effort
We believe that with an effort of our entire staff ,We will bring our
guests the most comfortable stay.
Your Best Regards,
Manager
Mr Duc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Paid $23 for a double room on the 7th floor (advisable; it`s quieter, and there is an elevator), soap etc. all provided free. Free coffee & tea sachets daily. Breakfast (also free) is a little average, but it`s OK.

This hotel is on a side street in the super busy and scooter-congested Old Quarter, but as it was a side street and we were 7 floors up, we slept well each night.

Staff are super friendly and not pushy about tours.

But there are 2 stand-out features to this hotel: there is a computer in your room for free internet use. Also, you are picked up from the airport by their taxi driver (this went smoothly)
for free.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor -- next to the toilets and the elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamski926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews