We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$85
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
US$107
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$90
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sun Suites Hotel(Hanoi)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$46
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$179
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$111
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
936
295
63
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
295
63
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterno windowbudget hotelinternet connectionmini barstayed here for nightssister hotelairport pickbreakfast was includedlaundry servicestreetpctaxitoursluggagejenny
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed here 5 nights at two occasions. The hotel gives a nice first impression, that is, after picking you up for free at the airport. The staff tries very hard to keep you happy, so you shouldn't take advantage of that.

We stayed there on two occasions. When we came with the morning train from Sapa, they even let us use a room to sleep in from 6 in the morning until our room was read at no extra cost (it wasn't our suggestion, but they sort of insisted and said we looked very tired).

I would like to personally thank you very much for your hospitality. You made our stay in Hanoi memorable, and even though we hear people have different opinions about the city, we loved it and you played a big part in that. Thank you and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I'd booked this hotel online not knowing what to expect. I stayed here 4nights and this hotel certainly felt like a home away from home...............clean,cômfortable and secure with all mod cons to meet one's needs including free in room internet/wi fi and with staff happy to see the guests no matter what time of the day or night, always helpful and interested in how your day/trips went! For a small hotel, the services shown by all the staff were well beyond what I had expected, always striving to please from the duty manager, Mr. Dủc to staff at the front office, room service, bellhop,and catering service! I was so surprised when arriving back from Sapa overnight this morning at 5.30am to the hotel, Hưi the night receptionist greeted me warmly with a big smile, offered me a drink of coffee and a room to have a shower and take a rest before my room was ready for check in at 12pm...............how is that for service!! I was stoked. In addition,this little gem of a hotel is ideally located to all attractions within easy walking distance and yet is in the heart of the old quarter, tucked away less than 20m from the hustle and bustle of traffic down a side well lit lane. This Hotel is highly recommended and one worth considering when in Hanoi!!

Room Tip: because of where this hotel is sited down a quiet side lane, the rooms are well presented away from the hustle and bustle of the traffic on the main road.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank international_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at the charming hotel. We found it offered brilliant service with tidy, reasonably sized rooms. The staff were very obliging, especially after we were given a hard time by a taxi driver. Our only small qualm would be that the breakfast selection wasn't the best

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brosi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Charming Hotel has one of the most friendly staff that I met in all my past holiday trips. :-D Though just a very simple and small hotel, Charming has managed to pack 20+ rooms, dining area, 2 lifts, luggage corner, reception and an overflowing warmth of friendliness in the chilly winter of 9 degC!

For $26usd/room/night, this is definitely one of the top choice for a good, clean, reliable budget hotel, with wifi at all floors, desktop in the room, hot water for shower and tap, complimentary breakfast, lots of channels on TV, supermarket-valued bottled water, soft drinks and hanoi beer, luggage holding service, and reasonably priced tours to various areas such as Sapa, Halong Bay, Mai Chau and Hanoi City.

Breakfast choice includes either a Vietnamese pho noodle (beef/chicken), american toast + egg, classic bread + jam spread. Might not be very filling but its good enough for a light breakfast before starting the day! Comes with vietnamese coffee/ tea, juice/ cordial and fruits.

Hotel is situated in a nice and quiet alley perpendicular to one of the most busy roads in Old Quarters, close walking distance to Dong Xuan Night Market (must go for all shoppers! opens on fri, sat, sun night), Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theatre, Dinh Tien Hoang street, Hoa Lo Prison, loads of shopping/walking streets. There's an extremely nice dining restaurant recommended by the Hotel, which is the Bun Bo Nam Bo, some dried rice noodle with condiments that are absolutely mouth-watering. Just right over the corner of Yen Thai street, walk and you'll reach there in 1 minute.

You can easily book your stay through email on their website and Mr Duc, the manager, replies very promptly (almost on the same day or next day). Most of the staff can speak English so no worries on communication issues!

Recommend to take the airport transfer which is reasonably priced and reliable. No worries for arriving at the airport late and do note that a minimum of 2 hours is needed prior to check-in as the queue can be quite long.

Some less positive points (though minor) are towels that did not look the usual hotel-perfect-white which means it could be rather dated but is still clean. The air-con warmer had a max of 31degC setpoint but still feels kinda cold in the middle of the night, no warmer on the floor. There isn't a dustbin in the room and no face towel and face tissues so do prepare your own if needed. There was only 1 power point in the room which was rather limited when you have cameras, phones from both guests to charge. There are 2 power points in the toilet which we had to use in the end (I kept my phone in a waterproof bag while charging). There is an electric kettle but again, not enough power points.

The bed is rather soft but still acceptable for the price. I slept very soundly each night which was rather surprising as its the Old Quarters anyway! :-P

Room Tip: Choose executive room if you want a larger room for more luggage. Note that this is windowless. City view room has almost no view since Yen Thai (the road which the hotel is along) is a small alley and you just get to see the opposite building being very close to you. Rooms have twin beds and also single double bed configuration.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for four nights - two nights either side of trips to Sapa and Ha Long Bay. Our room was very small, but immaculately clean, with a nice bathroom and a comfy bed. There was even a desktop computer which came in very handy. A decent breakfast was included in the package.

At the time there was a deal on for a free airport transfer for a 3-night stay. Considering we payed for our transfer, and we were staying four nights, we thought we might ask if we could get our return transfer complimentary instead. The first receptionist we spoke to flatly rejected the idea, but when we spoke to the night desk manager, Huy, he said he would take it up with the hotel's manager. Hey presto! Huy and Mr Duc (manager), saw to it that we got our return airport transfer covered. Common sense prevailed.

We had a brief morning stopover between Sapa and Ha Long, and Huy organised breakfast and showers for us while we waited, even though we weren't staying at Charming that night! And when we left, Huy even refused to take a tip. He is a customer service gem! He made the Hanoi Charming experience a good one. So if you need help while in Hanoi, Huy is your man.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews