We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel that could be good: But NOT a "fine boutique hotel"!”
Review of Hanoi Zen Hotel

Hanoi Zen Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Zen Hotel
Ranked #413 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Zen is a budget hotel with a number of problems to resolve.

Good: Budget priced, friendly lobby staff (but who don't make up for the problems), rooms relatively stylish & comfy for a budget hotel-- flat-screen TVs, aircon works, electric kettle, small fridge

Bad: "No smoking" rooms are NOT smokefree: mine smelled of cigarettes and had an ashtray. No Smoking means No Smoking! Wifi was not accessible in upper floors. Rooms ending '-01' face noisy Quan Thanh street

Ugly: Arrghh...bait & switch! From the street, the clean trendy lobby is quickly exposed as a facade: boxes stacked in back, the stairwell is crowded with all sorts of crap and the whole place seems in disarray. Hallway carpets are heavily soiled and smell of solvent. Carpets in the room are not properly vacuumed. The 2nd floor breakfast cafe is dirty, the Zen wall print is peeling off the wall, and looks like it's under construction. Not a pleasant place to eat. Breakfast is disappointed and served with apathy. The pho (soup) that they get from the food stall down the street is good and generous, but every morning I had to beg for chilis and lime. Stale wonderbread is served instead of the great crusty airy French loaf that is sold on every corner. Eggs, bacon and toast? Cooked with carelessness on-site. And no bacon ( "not available" Yeah, right. Bacon is available every square block in Hanoi. Could not be bothered I guess.) Bathrooms in the "Deluxe" rooms have stall-less showers, with cheap showerheads that soak everything in the bathroom except you. Final insult: free airport transfers for 5+ day stays advertised on the website turned into 1-way only. My last day there, the website notice had disappeared. Plus instead of providing a private car for the return transfer, as promised, they simply called Noi Bai Taxi, which costs $14/15, and charged me $20 for it. Small amount of money, but not cool and not a good last impression.

Zen could be a very good budget hotel with some clean-up, better management, 1000% improvement in the breakfast, and commitment to truth in advertising. It needs a complete overhaul and a good dose of ethics to be considered a "fine, boutique" hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

Originally booked a hotel around the corner that cancelled my booking- for 5am after the overnight train from sapa. So very tired, grumpy and dirty I knocked on the door to zen hotel. They were so lovely- not only was my room nicer than the hotel I had booked (la belle vie) but cheaper too and they let me check in immediately- soft bed and shower were bliss. And the staff recommended a great Vietnamese restaurant around the corner for dinner. Good airport transfer, very early room service breakfast (crepes-very nice)included in the room tariff.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fireswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed at the Zen Hotel fro a total of 5 days, and overall, it was great. If making a booking, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the front rooms get a lot of Hanoi street noise.

The room was adequate and breakfast, although simple, was pretty good. In fact, the Pho served was about the best I tasted while in Vietnam. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.

The location is excellent and within walking distance of downtown and the lakes.

Perhaps the hotel is basic, but for the price it offers great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed 2 night at Hanoi Zen Hotel and had a good time. The hotel has a good location, the hotel has a good location, The room was nice and quiet. Great hot shower. The staff were kind and helpful. They arranged a car for us to Hai Phong and airport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The staff is very friendly. The hôtel has a good emplacement but it is not in the heart of Hanoi. The room could be better. The bathroom was old. The breakfast was very bad. I think it could be a nice hôtel but there are many efforts to do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.3 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.6 km away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
2.2 km away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.1 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Zen Hotel

Address: 43 Quan Thanh | Ba Dinh, Hanoi +844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $40 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in centre of the capital, the newly built Zen Hotel is a stylish example of this standard tube style. A modernized classic, the hotel references Art Deco. Inside, the mix of French colonial and Asian accents continues, with colors and decorations evoking Hanoi's long history.Zen Hotel offers tastefully decorated and high standard rooms, tour desk and lounge. All rooms are comfortable and modern equipment plus our well – trained and friendly staff guarantee to bring you an unforgettable stay in our hotel. The days in Vietnam, it'll be an unforgettable moment for you at Zen Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing