We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”
Review of Gondola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gondola Hotel
Ranked #102 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Booked Deluxe room, City view (Free upgrade). No view due to building next door, ha this building is not new in fact it's rather few years old so why advertise what you cannot supply, as for the upgrade...Dream On. We are here for 5 nights so would expect something better than what we have. Was also sucked in by the Italian bedding story they sell on their internet site, my fault not knowing what Italian bedding is really like.
The beds and pillows are firm, I was hoping for something a bit softer but that is just my preference. Nice hot shower over a deep bath. The breakfast is ok with an egg station making fresh omelettes etc and a toaster, I would say it caters to most nationalities.
The best thing about the Gondola is the location though there are quite a few others within a very short walk. Next time I will try one of the others.

Room Tip: Rooms above are noisy though bar on top floor may also be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

The hotel is very comfortable and location is very central (just some steps to Hoan Kiem lake). Hotel’s staff was very friendly with great care of customers. Breakfast was great with many type of local food. I really love Pho and tried it all days when I was here. I do not hesitate to recommend Gondola. You surely will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Great little hotel in Hanoi's Old Quarter. Centrally located and a 5 minute walk from the lake. Quiet room and good service - staff were always happy to help. Breakfasts were good with quite a variety to choose from.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The hotel is centrally located in the city and is a close walk to nearby sights like the Hoan Kiem lake and the theatre for the "water puppet show" which about 2 blocks away. We stayed here for 3 nights in total and used the hotel as a central point for our tours outside the city (to Halong bay). Good service at the reception and we also received 2 room upgrades. Both rooms were nice and neat with all amenities, one with a Juliette balcony and the other with a larger balcony. Breakfast was also good with English breakfast provided as well.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndianJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

OK hotel on a good location. Hotel looks like it could use a good update. We got a room without windows. Normally not my choice, but we decided to go with it, since we stayed only for one night. The room was small and we could not walk around the bed without bumping into furniture or our bags. The bathroom however was of a decent size, with a fairly good shower. Breakfast is what you expect from this hotel: OK.
The (deserted) "bar" on the topfloor is laughable. A lot of chairs and tables under fluorescent light, not my kind of atmosphere to spend any time...
We cancelled our second reservation later that week (returning from 3 day trip to Ha Long Bay) and went for another hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to get a room without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 km away
Hanoi Morning Hotel
Hanoi Morning Hotel
#185 of 603 in Hanoi
148 reviews
0.1 km away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#60 of 603 in Hanoi
595 reviews
0.1 km away
Lakeside Palace Hotel
Lakeside Palace Hotel
#231 of 603 in Hanoi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 603 in Hanoi
1,175 reviews
0.1 km away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#68 of 603 in Hanoi
660 reviews
0 km away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#110 of 603 in Hanoi
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondola Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Hanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84 4, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $48 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gondola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondola Hotel in Hanoi is exquisite merging between Italian spirit and Hanoi culture. Right in the heart of Hanoi Ancient Quarters, steps away from Hoan Kiem Lake and all other major sights of the city, this romantic boutique hotel is perfect for leisure and business guests. At Gondola Hotel we provide 40 glamour & elegant rooms where you can retreat into the peace and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Full fill your enjoyment by dining on delicious Vietnamese and European cuisine at our Gondola Restaurant or relaxing in the stylist roof-top bar while admiring the picturesque panorama of Hanoi. Welcome to Gondola Hotel and allow us serve you with all of our professionalism and enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gondola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing