We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spring rolls in Hanoi”

Red Bean Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 2,673 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Vietnamese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Red Bean our vision is to become one of Vietnam's leading restaurant brands serving modern Vietnamese cuisine with high quality and innovative ideas but never forgetting the roots and value of true and authentic Vietnamese cooking. Our aim is to build a great reputation in the hospitality and restaurant trade. To help lead the way in creating inspirational dishes which keep true to Vietnamese
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Big call but I'm making it. After trying the amazing ones from the street we went back to Red Bean just for the Spring rolls. The service was fantastic too, our waiter Viet made sure we had everything we needed and with a big smile and sense of humour. I can also recommend the crab vermicelli soup - taste sensation.

Thank F00dSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear F00dsavvy


Wow, thank you so much for your amazing comments and we are delighted to hear how much you loved it at Red Bean. Although we are a fine dining restaurant at the higher end of the market, and this is reflected in our prices, we know we are great value for money. We believe we give a great dining experience in a warm ambient setting, where diners can take their time and not feel rushed. In addition to the importance placed on food quality and menu choice we know that equally important is attention to detail, the thought that goes into the presentation of each dish, and great service. Our restaurant team genuinely love working at Red Bean and being part of the operation. And we will pass on your comments to Viet and the rest of the team. Our Vietnamese dishes follow the traditions of authentic Vietnamese cuisine and our menu features many of our nation's iconic dishes. And we have worked hard to ensure each dish is authentically prepared and cooked with equally authentic flavours. Thank you so much for the high praise you gave to the dishes you chose and we hope you will have a chance to return to Red Bean in the future.

With kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,171 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2015

Came to Hanoi after 8 nights in Saigon and 10 in Quy Nhon. Frankly food wise we had been underwhelmed. In HCMC we had eaten some very good dishes but never complete meals. In QN the restaurants people had commented on were closed.
Fifth trip to Vietnam and the food always has been a standout and Red Bean restored our faith. We had been to Hanoi once before in 2004 and the old quarter where we stayed was fantastic but incredibly crowded. We walked out from the GK Central and perused a few restaurants and decided on the Red Bean

3  Thank kymm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear kymm32

Wow thank you so much for your amazing review of Red Bean and we are delighted to hear that we have restored your faith in Vietnamese food and dining out. We are based in La Siesta Hotel & Spa but are not exclusive to the hotel. Everyone is welcome to dine here from Hanoian locals, visitors, tourists, etc. and we are more than a hotel restaurant. We are a fine dining restaurant at the higher end of the market. Whilst this is reflected in our prices we know we are great value for money. We focus not just on food quality and menu choice but also the attention to detail in everything we do, the thought that goes into the presentation of each dish, the ambient setting and great service. Our restaurant team genuinely love working at Red Bean and being part of the operation. For our Vietnamese menu all our dishes follow the traditions of great authentic cuisine and cooking, and our menu features most of our nation's iconic dishes so we hope by dining at Red Bean you know you are dining in true Vietnam style.
Thank you so much again for your superb comments and we hope you will continue to have chances to return to Vietnam and you will be very welcome again at Red Bean.

With kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This classy restaurant in the centre of the old quarter has excellent Traditional Hanoi food, as well as a wider menu. The spring rolls and seafood fried rice we ordered were delicious, but the highlight was Cha Ca, the famous fried fish dish from Hanoi. It was succulent and redolent with turmeric and served on a hot stone. The restaurant is very clean and tastefully furnished, though not cheap. We paid about $60 Australian for three dishes, two glasses of a wine and a small water.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank apricotgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear apricotgeorge


Thank you so much for your superb comments about Red Bean, we are delighted to hear how much you loved dining at our restaurant.
We are a fine dining restaurant at the higher end of the market. This is reflected in our prices as we know we are more expensive than your average restaurant but at the same time we are great value for money. We believe we give a great dining experience in a warm ambient setting, where diners can take their time and not feel rushed. In addition to the importance placed on food quality and menu choice we know that equally important is attention to detail, the thought that goes into the presentation of each dish, and great service. Our restaurant team genuinely love working at Red Bean and being part of the operation. Our Vietnamese dishes follow the traditions of authentic Vietnamese cuisine and our menu features many of our nation's iconic dishes. Thank you so much for the high praise you gave to the dishes you chose and we hope you will have a chance to return to Red Bean in the future.

With kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Our party invluded 2 carnivores and one vegetarian.Every thing we ordered was very good ,the service was very good.
A bit pricey but definetely worth it.

Thank litena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear litena2014


Thank you so much for your very kind feedback about Red Bean, we are delighted to hear how much you and your party enjoyed dining at our restaurant.
We are a fine dining restaurant at the higher end of the market. This is reflected in our prices as we know we are more expensive than your average restaurant but on a par with other establishments similar to Red Bean. We are great value for money as we aim to give an all round dining experience allowing diners to relax and take their time over their meals. We focus not just on food quality and menu choice but also the attention to detail in everything we do, the thought that goes into the presentation of each dish, the ambient setting and great service. Our restaurant team genuinely love working at Red Bean and being part of the operation. Our Vietnamese dishes follow the traditions of authentic Vietnamese cuisine, we have enhanced our vegetarian offering and also have an international menu for those who prefer a taste of home.

Thank you so much again for your great feedback and we hope you will have a chance to return to Red Bean in the future.
With kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

What a pleasant surprise! One of our best dining experiences in Hanoi was in the lobby of our hotel! Excellent service combined with some authentic Vietnamese cuisine as well as some Western dishes. Order the fresh fish and you will not be disappointed. The wine list was not very stellar but it was good enough to pair with the multi course meal. Reasonable prices considering it was gourmet.

1  Thank Sambachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear sambachica

Thank you so much for your fantastically kind words about and when one of Tripadvisor’s top contributors with as many restaurant reviews gives us top marks, it’s a great accolade for us.
A note for other prospective diners - although we are based in La Siesta Hotel & Spa we are not exclusive to the hotel. Everyone is welcome to dine here from Hanoian locals, visitors, tourists, etc. We just happen to base ourselves at the hotel. We are centrally located in the heart of the old quarter making it very easy to find us. We are a fine dining restaurant at the higher end of the market. Whilst this is reflected in our prices we know we are great value for money. We focus not just on food quality and menu choice but also the attention to detail in everything we do, the thought that goes into the presentation of each dish, the ambient setting and great service. Our restaurant team genuinely love working at Red Bean and being part of the operation. We also have an extensive beverage menu to compliment that food and we think we have a good choice to suit all tastes.
Thank you so much again for your great feedback and we hope you will have a chance to return to Red Bean in the future.

With kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Bean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing