We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find opposite literature temple”

KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes
Ranked #81 of 2,950 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: KOTO stands for "Know one, teach one." KOTO is one of the most unique experiences in Vietnam for travelers who can enjoy a meal at a real working vocational training restaurant operated by one of the leading non-profit social enterprises in Vietnam. KOTO is a unique not-for-profit social enterprise that started in 1999 in Hanoi. The program targets at-risk and disadvantaged youth—aged 16 to 22—with a 24-month-long training program in vocational hospitality, life skills and English. KOTO’s Vision Positive permanent change for at-risk and disadvantaged youth through the transformative power of social enterprise. KOTO’s Mission We believe at-risk and disadvantaged youth should have access to a holistic program that provides career training and life skills in a nurturing environment, where each builds self confidence and exercises their right to live a life of dignity.
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Food was fresh and Vietnamese for a western palette. Staff are from disadvantaged background getting training in hospitality so what they lack in experience they make up with enthusiasm.

Thank Mgpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant.
We hope to see you again very soon.

KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Our travel agent suggested we visit Koto training restaurant and we are so glad we did.
We arrived to a warm friendly welcome.
Our beautifully presented meals were served with such care and they tasted as good as they looked.
I ordered the set menu and it was divine.
Thank you team we had a fabulous meal and
recommend to all.

Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant.
We hope to see you again very soon.

KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Worth visiting for the great service and extremely good value for money food. A restaurant with a cause and definitely worth supporting

Thank Ribbets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant.
We hope to see you again very soon.
KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Glad that Nova Luxury Hotel staff recommended this establishment to us for a choice of both local and international dishes. Understood that it’s a social enterprise helping young Vietnamese pick up cooking and restaurant skills while getting the experience to work right away in the restaurant.

With regard to the modern take on Vietnamese cuisine, the dishes were very aesthetically pleasing. Our party ordered bun cha, plain spaghetti, chicken satay and chicken with lemongrass and chili. The latter two dishes ordered were rather disappointing. There was nothing spectacular about the flavours, in fact the chicken in both dishes were a bit bland. The peanut sauce that accompanied the satay was pale and lacking flavour. I have seen the chicken with lemongrass in other restaurants’ menu but stay cleared of it thinking - it’s not really something special. In the other hand, when I asked the server what are highly recommended, the chicken with lemongrass was the one suggested.

Desserts on the other hand were very good. My husband enjoyed the coconut-infused crème brûlée while I enjoyed the passion fruit panna cotta.

Thank Sinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hi,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our KOTO Hanoi Restaurant.

We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have shared your feedback with our team as we are always looking to provide the best possible experience for our guests.


Best Regards,
KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

A warm welcome and friendly service throughout our visit. After visiting Temple of Literature we went back because there were no taxi’s available, they welcomed us back in and called one. Good food, beautifully presented. Not-for-profit, contributes to career opportunities of kids

Thank IlsePUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your great review for KOTO Hanoi Restaurant!
We are very grateful to have received these positive comments. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the quality of our food and service. Receiving comments like yours keeps us motivated and striving to exceed the expectations of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon and trust that you will enjoy trying other dishes on the menu.
Best regards.
KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes also viewed

 

Been to KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant & Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing